8 Reviews

I really, really wanted to rave about this recipe but I found it fairly bland. I brought one serving to a party and it wasn't in anyway a hit. I did not deviate from the recipe. I couldn't help but think that a little white wine for the lighter colored mushrooms or balsamic vinegar for the darker mushrooms would've really pushed the recipe to the next level. Good basic recipe to build upon. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ibwhooped February 12, 2012

Absolutely loved it!! Thanks so much for sharing! Bread is my chocolate lol. :) Always looking for different ways to dress it up. This was quick, easy and very flavorful. I added drained chopped fire roasted tomatoes that you can now buy canned. (They taste like they came right off the grill) I added them after I toasted the bread and then placed the cooked mushroom mixture on top. Pics added.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Drea13 January 20, 2011

I made this for a black tie New Year's Eve party, it was fantastic and everyone loved it. I followed the recipe closely, except I added a splash of white wine while sauteing the mushrooms. Turned out wonderfully. So easy, yet so elegant and delicious. I will definitely be making these again and again. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaytie Did January 01, 2011

This is a very good appetizer. Tasty a lot. Thanks 2Bleu :) Made for Holiday tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 18, 2009

This was excellent and full of flavor. I made it exactly as stated and it made a wonderful lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 September 19, 2008

I wish I could give this recipe 6 stars. It is so good. Everyone loved it. Update: I gave this recipe to a friend who now makes this appie all the time. She gets rave reviews whenever she serves it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 25, 2008

We have just finished devouring this as a light dinner (had a heavy lunch) sided with a tossed green salad. For dietary needs I had to omit the capsicum (bell pepper) and sub spring onion (scallion) for the shallots; used slices of toasted bruschetta, italian herb mix (will cut this in half in future though) and slices of swiss cheese (too lazy to grate/shred). Did use closer to 5 cups of sliced mushroom (had the 4 cup measuring jug overflowing a little) but between the DS, DM and myself it fed us and was thoroughly enjoyed. Thank you 2Bleu (Bird&Buddha) for a delicious mushroom recipe. Made for Please Review My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat March 19, 2008

So yummy! I really enjoyed this for lunch today! I love all the herbs. In place of shallots, I used green onions. Thanks! Made for Photo tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 02, 2008
2bleu's Mushroom and Swiss on Crostini Toast Appetizers