9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so easy and tastes WONDERFUL! My first attempt at this didn't work out... I used a cheap glass bowl for the microwaving part, and it exploded in my hand landing me in the ER. I used a Pyrex bowl this time and it turned out perfectly! I used half whole milk and half 2% milk. And it really did only take about 30 minutes to make. Thanks for sharing!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Not-2-Sweet October 12, 2008

I have made this many times and my guests always love it! One time I made it and added a large clove of crushed garlic while I was kneading the cheese! It was delicious! I've even made it and added chopped kalamata olives. Just heat the chopped olives before adding it to the cheese during the kneading process, to keep the cheese from seizing up. YUM!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LILLIANCOOKS January 02, 2011

This was fun! I made the mistake though of using liquid rennet from the health food store. I found that 20 drops of the liquid is equivalent to 1 tablet so I used 10 drops for the half tablet. The curds for some reason didn't get very big so what I had was more like ricotta cheese. It could also have been due to the amount of citric acid. However, I was able to salvage the batch by sticking it in the microwave for over a minute at a time until it started to melt together. I then rolled it into little balls and have it stored in the fridge in a mixture of olive oil and rosemary. YUM! I've been wanting to do this for so long. Thanks for the easy recipe to get my courage up Bethany!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anna #9 August 22, 2009

I love this recipe. And don't throw out the whey, use this to make ricotta cheese.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindy brickley November 08, 2012

Wow! This is the easiest recipe for mozzarella cheese I've ever made! This came out perfect the very first time! I've tried other recipes only to have ricotta instead of mozzarella cheese. This cheese will be marinated with italian herb olive oil, grape tomatoes, olives and hard salami served on a skewer. Can't wait to impress my guests!
Thank you DaHomeCooker for posting this marvelous recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mitomopa June 15, 2012

Had a ball making this (no pun intended, really!) & it is so wonderfully tasty! At the very beginning, I was a little apprehensive, but your detailed directions led me through the preparation without a hitch! Many thanks ~ Your recipe is a great keeper! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Cookbook Tag]

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 17, 2011

This was an extremely expensive and frustrating mess. Curds were small like ricotta and never became a stretchy ball, just a crumbly mess. So I have a big mess in my kitchen and a hole in my pocketbook from the rennet, citric acid and farm fresh milk. Easier/cheaper to buy the "fresh" moz from the store.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDMama May 08, 2010

Who'd of thought making excellent quality mozzarella was so EASY! I got 1 lb. 1oz. of mozzarella for 1 gallon of whole milk. I followed the "destructions" (as my sons used to call it!) and the end result is a creamy, store-bought quality fresh mozzarella. Many thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rothiii March 02, 2013

Very small yield for 1% milk, about the size of a 2 in ball. Dry and bouncy, tossed it in my dog's dish and it bounced out.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saffron123 July 24, 2013
30 Minute Fresh Mozzarella Cheese Homemade