Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / A Really Good Tomato Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    A Really Good Tomato Recipe

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      So I changed this recipe and instead of using croutons I used bacon as my base! The vinegar made the bacon soft (I like my bacon firm, but the other person eating this with me likes their bacon soft). But it was still tasty and I would definitely make it again perhaps with less vinegar. It was quite easy to make and I'll add this to my recipe list. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2012

      This was great! The flavors really came together nicely. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I couldn't find garlic and cheese flavored croutons so I made this recipe with garlic flavored croutons. I used low-fat mozzarella cheese. I'm sure it would have been better with fresh mozzarella. At the last minute, I decided to use balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. And I used fresh basil and put it in the oven until melted. Thanks Lainey. This is so tasty. A great appetizer :) Made for PRMR tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Delicious! All those crunchy yummy little croutons topped with tomatoes and melted cheese Yumm. Made as written using shredded mozzarella as that was what we had. Love Provolone and am looking forward to trying again with provolone. Will be making a lot this summer. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      How can you go wrong with croutons, cheese and garden fresh tomatoes. Great side dish. Fast and easy. I too stuck mine in the oven just until the cheese melted. It's a great way to use up your tomatoes. I'll definately be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      What a discovery. My entire family raved about this dish and has requested that I make it again. We tend to prefer our croutons less crisp, so next time I will drizzle the vinegar directly on the croutons to soften them just a bit. But other than that, I would not deviate from this recipe at all. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Lainey. It is a definite "keeper"!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      I took some advice and put the dish in the oven at 325 for 10 minutes. The croutons did get soggy which is a no no with me. Next time I will crumble the croutons on top of the dish and bake for 10 minutes. This way you still have the flavor but not the sogginess of the croutons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      This is a REALLY GOOD TOMATO RECIPE!!!!! This was perfectly quick and easy for someone without a lot of time. I have made this a few times now and the only thing differnt I've done is add some ricotta cheese to it. Other than that it's perfecto as is! Served up nicely the next day too, had eveyone in the breakroom asking what it was and how to make it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      Garden tomatoes are truly pushing the need to find "something new"! Had the reddest, ripest tomatoes and fresh mozzeralla, layered in a small baking dish, over croutons - sprinkled with extra garlic/pepper seasoning. Followed another reviewer's suggestion of using balsamic in place of red wine vinegar, with pleasing results. Topped with chiffonaded fresh basil and nuked for 1 minute periods, 4 times. was a tasty side to left-over chicken pot-pie. Thanks for posting, Lainy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      Excellent! I scaled this down to make two servings and we both wished I had made more. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2008

      This is a lovely recipe. I scaled it down to suit one person, me. DH isn't big on cheese, must be a defect in the gene pool. But this had two of my all time favorites, cheese and tomatoes. I used one store bought vine ripened tomatoe over a small plate with one layer of Mrs Callender's seasoned croutons, fresh sliced mozarella went on top with the basil and RWvinegar sprinkled . Heated in the microwave for a minute and a half, came out really well. The flavor is amazing. I'll make this again, as soon as the garden starts doing it's thing. (Hope the garden starts doing it's thing.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This was out of this world!! My husband loved this so much he offered to skip dinner and just eat this!! I followed the recipe exactly and used fresh buffalo mozzarella. The red wine vinegar was a wonderful addition and gave a lot of flavor. I only microwaved for about 5 minutes and it was definitely "melty" at that point. Will DEFINITELY make this one again! True crowd pleaser! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I think I made my tomato slices too thick because the cheese was not able to make it down to the croutons. This still had a very good flavor. Only took 5 minutes in my microwave. We enjoyed it. Served with spaghetti and Kittencals Green Beans With Garlic Butter and Almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Not bad at all! Kind of unique. Let's see, I used garlic and onion croutons, part skim mozzarella and fresh basil (I can't resist fresh basil). I microwaved it for 6 minutes. The cheese melted nicely into the croutons so they stuck together. I used red wine vinegar, but next time I'll try balsamic. Thank you Lainey!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! Only change I made was to use balsamic vinegar because I was out of red wine vinegar. Soooo simple. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      DELICIOUS, so tasty. Made it just like the recipe stated making my own croutons and fresh basil from my garden. I am going to make this again using Balsamic vinegar & some EVOO. Thanks again, for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      My husband, the tomato eater in our house, loved this recipe. I strayed a little from your exact recipe, using fresh mozarella and adding 1 tablespoon virgin olive oil drizzled over the mix, before I added the RWvinegar. I also used an italian seasoning mix instead of the basil. However, it was a great dish for DH, who suggested I add a little thinly sliced onion next time, and maybe some bread crumbs or something crispy on top. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      Wow! What a delicious really good tomato recipe (love the title for your recipe!). My partner and I could not get enough of this. It's like the breaded tomatoes my Mom and G'Ma used to make, only much better! In fact, it's a bit like a pizza. I had a pint of red and yellow cherry tomatoes from my garden that I quartered and scattered over the top of the croutons. Also threw a small diced onion over all and salt and pepper, with some fresh basil from the garden. I only used 2 tablespoons of vinegar. I took someone else's suggestion to bake in a 325F oven for 10 minutes. This allowed the cherry tomatoes to collapse a bit and the croutons soaked up the fabulous juice, but they weren't soggy. Now my partner and I can't wait for more cherry tomatoes!! Served this with a delicious main course French Chicken in Vinegar Sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Really good. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2008

      Saw this today-decided to make for lunch for me and the girls-since I have lots of homegrown veggies to use. I also used fresh mozzarella, basil, and my homemade croutons. Served over a bed of baby spinach w/ Okra Patties and a spicy remoulade. Everyone loved this dish-fast, easy, and lots of flavor! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for A Really Good Tomato Recipe

    Serving Size: 1 (117 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.8
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    54%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 5.4 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 30.5 mg
    10%
    Sodium 333.3 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes