30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So I changed this recipe and instead of using croutons I used bacon as my base! The vinegar made the bacon soft (I like my bacon firm, but the other person eating this with me likes their bacon soft). But it was still tasty and I would definitely make it again perhaps with less vinegar. It was quite easy to make and I'll add this to my recipe list. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Efz001 in the Midwest US May 22, 2010

Garden tomatoes are truly pushing the need to find "something new"! Had the reddest, ripest tomatoes and fresh mozzeralla, layered in a small baking dish, over croutons - sprinkled with extra garlic/pepper seasoning. Followed another reviewer's suggestion of using balsamic in place of red wine vinegar, with pleasing results. Topped with chiffonaded fresh basil and nuked for 1 minute periods, 4 times. was a tasty side to left-over chicken pot-pie. Thanks for posting, Lainy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseJaney September 06, 2008

This was great! The flavors really came together nicely. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews August 31, 2012

I couldn't find garlic and cheese flavored croutons so I made this recipe with garlic flavored croutons. I used low-fat mozzarella cheese. I'm sure it would have been better with fresh mozzarella. At the last minute, I decided to use balsamic vinegar instead of red wine vinegar. And I used fresh basil and put it in the oven until melted. Thanks Lainey. This is so tasty. A great appetizer :) Made for PRMR tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 01, 2010

Delicious! All those crunchy yummy little croutons topped with tomatoes and melted cheese Yumm. Made as written using shredded mozzarella as that was what we had. Love Provolone and am looking forward to trying again with provolone. Will be making a lot this summer. Thanks so much for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl May 25, 2010

How can you go wrong with croutons, cheese and garden fresh tomatoes. Great side dish. Fast and easy. I too stuck mine in the oven just until the cheese melted. It's a great way to use up your tomatoes. I'll definately be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KillerTasteBuds August 29, 2009

What a discovery. My entire family raved about this dish and has requested that I make it again. We tend to prefer our croutons less crisp, so next time I will drizzle the vinegar directly on the croutons to soften them just a bit. But other than that, I would not deviate from this recipe at all. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Lainey. It is a definite "keeper"!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NorthwestGal April 24, 2009

I took some advice and put the dish in the oven at 325 for 10 minutes. The croutons did get soggy which is a no no with me. Next time I will crumble the croutons on top of the dish and bake for 10 minutes. This way you still have the flavor but not the sogginess of the croutons.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ck2plz September 21, 2008

This is a REALLY GOOD TOMATO RECIPE!!!!! This was perfectly quick and easy for someone without a lot of time. I have made this a few times now and the only thing differnt I've done is add some ricotta cheese to it. Other than that it's perfecto as is! Served up nicely the next day too, had eveyone in the breakroom asking what it was and how to make it. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrissyVas80 September 11, 2008

Excellent! I scaled this down to make two servings and we both wished I had made more. Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D September 01, 2008
A Really Good Tomato Recipe