22 Reviews

Delicious! Similar, but better than the cheese biscuits at Red Lobster. I had to bake for 35 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLKeysJen August 05, 2012

This recipe will be made and enjoyed time and again, as Rita's recipes always are! Who would guess that a concoction of ready ingredients with such simplicity to prepare could be so yummy?! This loaf, as another reviewer said, is reminiscent of those biscuits at Red Lobster Restaurant. I used about 1 1/2 cups cheddar and 1/3 cup total parmesan, counting the parmesn on top, and extra garlic. A definite keeper. Thanks Rita~

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef PotPie August 04, 2012

i HAVE to give this recipe a 5 star rating however I had messed up by not reading the SELF raising flour! ;( but it was still soooo yummy! (and a little doughy/crunchy). cant wait to make it again and use the proper ingredient! used about 5 cloves of garlic. YAYYY! thanks Rita!

made again 3-4-2012: well used the right flour this time and accidentally used 2 cups of shredded cheddar... YUMMY!!!!! such a quick, easy meal that i usually have everything on hand. thanks again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes March 04, 2012

Really really tasty bread and quick to make! Went over well with the husband, too. Will make again! Made for PARTY tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 December 23, 2010

I cut the recipe in half and the bread was cooked on the stove top. It turned out really good and was well received by ~Tasty Dish~~! Fresh chives from our garden, too! We tried a variety of cheese including Welsh cheddar and romano-basically a bunch of different cheese to use up a surplus in the fridge. Made for Best of 2012 and Veg Tag/February.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl March 16, 2013

Delicious! We loved the cheese, chive, and garlic combination in these dampers. I took a hint from the introduction and baked these in my cast iron skillet instead of on a baking sheet. The cast iron gave it a nice crunchy crust which we loved. I used sharp cheddar for my cheese. Thank you for sharing this quick and easy recipe.
**Made for ZWT 8 Australia**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill August 12, 2012

Yum! I really enjoyed this delicious cheesey/garlic biscuit-like bread. Made for ZWT 8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan August 11, 2012

YUM, YUM, YUM! This was super quick and easy and so very tasty ::): I used one green onion in addition to the chives because mine were getting skimpy and in addition to the fresh I used a little onion and garlic powder as my garlics have been a bit wimpy. I like crispy edges and bread that's not to doughy so I cut this into wedges before baking - the edges were especially yummy all crispy cheesey. I can't wait to make these for our next family gathering. Thanks Rita for sharing a great recipe. Made for ZWT 8 by one of The Wild Bunch

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet August 10, 2012

I've made this a few times for dinner parties. As an ex-pat Australian I can assure you that this tastes as good as anything you can buy at the bakeries/cafe's back home. It's a fabulous accompaniment to any meal, and very easy to make! I use extra chives, extra garlic and extra cheese. The end result is much like a larger form of 'Red Lobster' biscuits. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GlamAtomic July 12, 2011

Delicious bread. Very easy to put together. Flavor and texture were just right. Moist and cheesy. I made this in the afternoon to take to an evening BBQ to serve alongside some Baked Gigantes Beans. They went very well together. I cut the bread into smaller servings and it kept very well until dinner. The bread was a big hit at the party. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilarys_1332 June 18, 2010
Australian Cheese, Garlic and Chive Damper