Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Australian Cheese, Garlic and Chive Damper Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Australian Cheese, Garlic and Chive Damper

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2012

      Delicious! Similar, but better than the cheese biscuits at Red Lobster. I had to bake for 35 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2012

      This recipe will be made and enjoyed time and again, as Rita's recipes always are! Who would guess that a concoction of ready ingredients with such simplicity to prepare could be so yummy?! This loaf, as another reviewer said, is reminiscent of those biscuits at Red Lobster Restaurant. I used about 1 1/2 cups cheddar and 1/3 cup total parmesan, counting the parmesn on top, and extra garlic. A definite keeper. Thanks Rita~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

      i HAVE to give this recipe a 5 star rating however I had messed up by not reading the SELF raising flour! ;( but it was still soooo yummy! (and a little doughy/crunchy). cant wait to make it again and use the proper ingredient! used about 5 cloves of garlic. YAYYY! thanks Rita!

      made again 3-4-2012: well used the right flour this time and accidentally used 2 cups of shredded cheddar... YUMMY!!!!! such a quick, easy meal that i usually have everything on hand. thanks again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      Really really tasty bread and quick to make! Went over well with the husband, too. Will make again! Made for PARTY tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2013

      I cut the recipe in half and the bread was cooked on the stove top. It turned out really good and was well received by ~Tasty Dish~~! Fresh chives from our garden, too! We tried a variety of cheese including Welsh cheddar and romano-basically a bunch of different cheese to use up a surplus in the fridge. Made for Best of 2012 and Veg Tag/February.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2012

      Delicious! We loved the cheese, chive, and garlic combination in these dampers. I took a hint from the introduction and baked these in my cast iron skillet instead of on a baking sheet. The cast iron gave it a nice crunchy crust which we loved. I used sharp cheddar for my cheese. Thank you for sharing this quick and easy recipe.
      **Made for ZWT 8 Australia**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      Yum! I really enjoyed this delicious cheesey/garlic biscuit-like bread. Made for ZWT 8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2012

      YUM, YUM, YUM! This was super quick and easy and so very tasty ::): I used one green onion in addition to the chives because mine were getting skimpy and in addition to the fresh I used a little onion and garlic powder as my garlics have been a bit wimpy. I like crispy edges and bread that's not to doughy so I cut this into wedges before baking - the edges were especially yummy all crispy cheesey. I can't wait to make these for our next family gathering. Thanks Rita for sharing a great recipe. Made for ZWT 8 by one of The Wild Bunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      I've made this a few times for dinner parties. As an ex-pat Australian I can assure you that this tastes as good as anything you can buy at the bakeries/cafe's back home. It's a fabulous accompaniment to any meal, and very easy to make! I use extra chives, extra garlic and extra cheese. The end result is much like a larger form of 'Red Lobster' biscuits. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Delicious bread. Very easy to put together. Flavor and texture were just right. Moist and cheesy. I made this in the afternoon to take to an evening BBQ to serve alongside some Baked Gigantes Beans. They went very well together. I cut the bread into smaller servings and it kept very well until dinner. The bread was a big hit at the party. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Outstanding flavour!! I think I made a mistake somewhere along the way, though. The dough was the consistency of a very thick muffin batter, and I wondered if it was too wet. I'm almost certain that I measured everything correctly, but I may have added too much liquid. It never really cooked properly all the way through, and I left it in for 45 minutes. I had to take it out because I was afraid it would burn. Next time I'll try using a little less liquid and see how that goes. But this is an awesome recipe! EDITED TO ADD: This bread was a hit!! The 45 minute cooking time ended up being perfect and it was gobbled up at a dinner party. I also added about 5x the amount of chives and garlic called for, and it wasn't too strong at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Really delicious! My mom made this last time I was visiting and sent me home with the recipe and a bag of the flour; I wasn't sure I could make it because I'm not the world's best cook but it was extremely easy! I've made it twice in the past week! The second time I added just a little bit more garlic out of personal preference. Will definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      Rita, this is one FABULOUS DAMPER! So cheesy and full of chives flavour! Mmmm! It has a very moist and soft inside with a crunchy cheesy crust on top and the taste is OUTSTANDING! The dough was easy to work with and it all went together in nearly no time. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this winner with us, Rita! Ill surely make it again! Made and reviewed for Veg'n'Swap #13 August 09 as a recipenap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Bonza this was a tasty bread! For some reason, me and hand made bread don't usually go together very well. If I don't use a bread machine I usually mess it up somehow. So, I went into making this bread thinking I may have gotten myself into a bit of a sticky wicket. I really didn't need to worry because this was super easy to make and it came out tasting great. I probably cooked it for about 10 minutes longer than suggested but I have a gas oven which may have been the cause for that. I used skim milk and reduced fat tasty cheese and had no problem at all. Next time, I might make them into rolls for sandwiches. I bet they would go great with ham. Made for Chow Hounds on ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2009

      This was a great bread! Easy to make, and very yummy. I shared it with my coworkers, who all gave it a big thumbs-up. The flavor of the garlic was perfect, just enough to know it was there, but not so much that it overpowered the other flavors. I baked this for close to 30 minutes, until the crust was a nice golden brown, and a toothpick came out clean. I'll definately make this one again. Made for ZWT by one of the Cooks with Dirty Faces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      The family loves it when I suprise them with this recipe b/c it is such a favorite. I usually have all of these ingredients on hand. Easy + great flavor and texture ->keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      With a whole pile of chives and cheese in the fridge, it seemed like a good time to try this recipe, and I'm so glad that I did! With every faith in Rita, I doubled the recipe and formed a dozen scone/rolls, I mixed them up in my Kenwood Chef in a jiffy, and baked them off in my convection oven/microwave .... perfection, beautifully browned, full of flavour, moist and totally delicious. I split a warm one, spread it with butter that melted in, added more grated cheese and served it to DH as a light supper, he just loved it!! I sent half a dozen with DD1, when she went back to varsity after the weekend, so that I know she has something substantial and nutritious to eat for the next few days! I'll definitely be making these again before too long! Thanks Rita!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      Quite yummy! Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      I really liked this little biscuit. I made pigs in a blankets and used this as the blanket part and kelbasa as the piggy. It worked perfect. Baked for about 18 minutes for pig in the blanket perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2007

      Rita, this was my first time trying Damper, and my whole family raved about this recipe. The flavor was delicious and we really loved the texture of the bread. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Australian Cheese, Garlic and Chive Damper

    Serving Size: 1 (169 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 442.3
     
    Calories from Fat 175
    39%
    Total Fat 19.5 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 12.0 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 57.4 mg
    19%
    Sodium 1267.9 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites