Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Avocado Basil Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Avocado Basil Pasta

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on September 12, 2012

      This was fantastic! DH asked why we had never used avocado in pasta before since it was so delicious. I made sauce as written and added a diced red bell pepper and cherry tomatoes for color and to make it a main course. Fresh, flavorful, and easy. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      Good and easy. I added a little red pepper flakes for kick, and used the pasta water to thin it a little.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      This was great, and very easy to make. <br/><br/>I pureed the avocados in the blender along with some salt and freshly cracked black pepper, the juice of one lemon and 2/3 cup of grated parmesan, adding several big slurps of evoo infused with chilli. My avocados were quite small and, thinking the lemon may be overpowering, I mixed in some thickened cooking cream. Forgot to put in the garlic, but the semi dried tomatoes I used had been marinated in it, so there was plenty of flavour. <br/><br/>After tossing the farfalle with the avocado mixture, I threw in the basil chiffonnade and chopped semi dried tomatoes. Served it with extra parmesan, seal salt and freshly cracked black pepper and a fresh onion and parmesan batard.<br/><br/>We loved it and I plan to make it again soon. Thanks, Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2012

      I left out the bacon because I am a vegetarian, but this was still so good!! I think I will make this more than red sauce pasta for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      I used an extra avocado (they were on sale). I also ended up using dried basil (good, but fresh would have been better). I added mushrooms, onions, and grape tomatoes, and used a different kind of noodles (don't know what, exactly. Short ridgy tube-shaped noodles.)

      Was completely awesome. There was barely any left over, and that was just because everyone was so full they couldn't eat any more. Great, simple recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Fast and flavorful. I sauteed my garlic over low heat and then added the (pre-cooked) bacon and other ingredients over low heat. I did this in a large pan. Once my pasta was cooked (I always cook the whole box because the leftovers are handy), I just spooned a reasonable amount into my pan with the sauce and stirred everything together over low heat, so the heating through was not an issue. I think I used more than 2 T lemon juice (just to use the whole lemon) and we couldn't actually taste lemon but I have a feeling it is providing just the right contrast that allows the avocado and bacon flavors to really shine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Really like the light lemon flavor with the avocdo and bacon. I added an orange pepper for color and crunch. We ate this as an entree, so it fed two of us. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      This is a fantastic, quick, and easy meal for the week night. It has always been a favorite in our house! The way the avocado melts onto the hot pasta, it makes it very creamy. We typically add a little more cheese on our plates, but this is a truly wonderful dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

      Quick and easy, and DELICIOUS!!! For the bacon, I used precooked & crumbled bacon from the salad dressing section of the store. (I always have some on-hand, in the fridge, and it keeps far longer than cook-it-yourself bacon.) I used Trader Joe's grated Peccorino Romano cheese, and mixed it in, at the end, rather than just sprinkling it on top. Also, provided a bowl of toasted pignolias (pine nuts), for sprinkling on top of each portion. It added a nice little crunch and bit of sweetness. The whole family loved it -- even my picky ten-year-old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I used shells, worked fine. I also put in 1/2 a roma tomato diced I liked the texture this gave the dish. I only had dried basil but I let it soak w/ the lemon for a bit and it worked fine. I'm vegan so I added soy bacon bits & rice "Parmesan" cheese. This dish was fast, delicious & very creamy. What a great way to use avocados

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      i used only half the avocado and added tomato in its place. also didnt use the bacon. perhaps it was b/c i left these things out, but i thought the lemon was a bit too strong. i would make this again, adding more tomato and subtracting some lemon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      I doubled this recipe for thanksgiving dinner. It was delicious! I was a little worried at first because I couldn't find any really ripe avocados. It turned out just fine. I used rotini pasta. I added a bit of six pepper blend seasoning to spice it up and a bit more olive oil than called for because it seemed too dry. I made the night before Thanksgiving and served it cold. It is also really yummy heated up with extra grated romano on top! Perfection!! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      My husband and I really enjoyed this. So simple and tasty. Served it to our 3-year-old without the bacon and basil (picky little thing she is) and she enjoyed it too. Once pasta was cooked I drained and returned to the pot, where I added all ingredients (except cheese) to the pot to ensure the meal was hot to serve. Also, I didn't add salt (I think it's a generational thing - I never add the pinch of salt that my mum does to cooking). Thanks for a quick, delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      MMMMM! Barb you always amaze me! I used chicken instead of bacon (lower fat), and for me less cheese! I recommend 1 min in the microwave before eating so everything heats up a bit and blends the flavors. Claudia you may want to try a hot sauce or red chili flakes for that something missing! I though it was great without, will be a regular now. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2004

      I used penne regate, and this was delicious! I added an extra 1/2 T of lemon juice, and of course extra cheese. I would definitely sere this one to guests!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      I felt that something was missing but can't put my finger on it. I used mostaccioli instead of the bow-tie pasta but followed the rest of the recipe to a T. I'd be interested in what suggestions others have to jazz it up. I felt it was so-so but my son loved it so I'm giving it 4 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Avocado Basil Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.5
     
    Calories from Fat 235
    49%
    Total Fat 26.1 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 56.0 mg
    18%
    Sodium 192.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.8 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.8 g
    35%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pecorino romano cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites