9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yum, just don't overcook sausage which I've done. It makes it less flavorful. My kids love it!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo-nana May 06, 2010

Very delicous and loved by all. Very easy to put together and not a ton of ingredients. Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolynn D's March 25, 2009

I made this for a small crowd and settled on 4 stars and it was the mid point in what everyone was saying. We had 6 for dinner some thought it couldn't be improved on and some thought it was bland and needed more seasoning. I used mild Italian sausage (to suite DH) and followed the recipe. It came out with a perfect consistency, that creamy but firm spot that is soft and moist but the cheese sauce isn't running. One person said that it was the Gouda that was flat and that it would have been perfect with old chedar. Personally I enjoyed the Gouda as a change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia February 15, 2012

I also discovered this recipe on the RR magazine. I make it all of the time. It is very rich, creamy, and filling. I haven't tried adding any veggies yet...As another viewer suggested, I'm thinking spinach would be a good match.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
20XCRunner12 January 25, 2009

This is great! I made it just as stated. I love gouda cheese so I thought this was wonderful. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 30, 2008

Very nice change from regular mac and cheese. Love the caramelized onions in this. I only made half a recipe, which worked out fine. The only changes I made were to keep the same amount of onions and I added some fresh chopped spinach. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama February 04, 2008

My hubby said that this was the best mac n cheese he's ever had. My daughter and I both loved it. I did add a little mustard and garlic powder like the other poster suggested.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sillyjodes December 26, 2007

I made this as written, then tasted the sauce before baking. Since Gouda is such a mild cheese, I thought it needed some more flavor. I stirred in some garlic powder and about 1 tbsp of Dijon mustard. That really did the trick! Thanx for posting. With my little adjustments, I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 19, 2007

We had comfort food for dinner last night. I substitued smoked sausage for the italian sausage and also added raw spinach. Since there is only two of us I cut the recipe in half. It made a creamy sauce, however we felt that the flavor could have used a little more 'edge' to it -- a bit bland. Next time think I'll cut back on the gouda and add some parmesan or swiss cheese. Instead of adding more cheese to the top I sprinkled with italian bread crumbs which helped soak up some of the cheese. It's a great basic recipe and will definitely make again with a few adjustments.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Galley Wench September 05, 2007
Baked Macaroni and Gouda Cheese With Italian Sausage