13 Reviews

This recipe is so yummy. I like that there are carrots in it. It makes it healthier. I omitted the nutmeg. Thanks Vicki :) Made for Cookbook tag game

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 29, 2012

Great recipe,thanks for posting it!

I was trying to come up with something different to do with ground sirloin.We were all getting tired of the usual things to use it for chili,tacos,spaghetti sauce,burgers etc.It was very cold here today and this was warm, filling comfort food.I really loved the fact that it was low in calories per serving.(I didn't tell my husband or little one that though;)I left out the carrots because as one other reviewer said,I have a couple of hawk eyes here.LOL! I only used 1/4 tsp of pepper(I figured we could add more when serving)and it was perfect.My daughter gobbled hers up without a complaint and believe me thats 5 stars right there because she's VERY fussy!Thanks again for this recipe I will definitely make it again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delish #2 January 18, 2012

Great casserole! I love Cooking Light recipes and they did a great job with this one. Using a cheese sauce makes this rich without being fatty. Prepared the night before and baked at dinner time which worked well. Leftovers were good, too. All I had was 85/15 ground beef, so I cooked it, drained thoroughly on paper towels, then added in the onions, garlic, and finely shredded carrots to cook for a few minutes. Definitely a repeat at my house, the whole family enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama April 03, 2011

Wow! This was a really surprising hit. I did not like grating the carrots, but if you use a really fine grater, you neither taste nor see the carrots when it's done. So, if your kids have hawk eyes about veggies, use a superfine grater. It takes forever to do this by hand, but it's worth it. The roux mixed with the cheese was a genius maneuver. It made it taste much more cheesy than it actually was. I also grated the garlic just to save myself the sticky fingers. I added in a bit of basil, oregano and parsley, and the spice level was perfect for us. With my gestational diabetes, I was able to have 1 1/2 cups of this with a side salad, and it filled me up without blowing my carb limit. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burned Toast January 24, 2011

So much better than Hamburger Helper!! I also love sneaking in the carrots. We did add some green pepper. My only comment is that I would not add as much black pepper next time. It just seemed too much. Thanks so much! Definitely a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rnmommy02 May 16, 2010

5 Shinning stars! I make this yesterday for lunch and I came back for seconds. Yes. it was that good. I use celery and green peppers and it was delicous. A must try recipe. Thank you Vicki.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BHENG D. April 09, 2010

Well, this is another 5 stars. Not only is this easy to prepare but very tasty for a light dish. I cut the recipe in half and it made enough for DH and I for dinner and some leftover for his lunch at work. I made notes to add Worcestershire sauce and some mushrooms, :( but forgot. Not sure if it would improve the flavor. Overall a wonderful light recipe that I plan to make often. Thanks for posting. :) Made for Spring PAC 2010

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teresas April 06, 2010

We enjoyed this recipe. I halved the recipe but kept the beef the same for my boyfriend. I did not have carrots so I mixed in some corn for the crunch. I also used whole grain shell pasta and pasta sauce instead of tomato sauce just because of what I had in the cupboard. So much better than hamburger helper and I actually know what I'm putting in the pan, thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julia Lynn March 21, 2010

Simple but good. Everyone enjoyed this. I followed the recipe as written other then I used 2 8 ounce cans of tomato sauce. I also just used sharp cheddar cheese and I didn't add the nutmeg as I didn't have any. This made for a greak weeknight meal. I also liked that it is made with ingredients I normally have on hand.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 27, 2009

This was tasty and light. We used dreamfields low carb pasta and one serving (about 2/3 cup) was good with veggies for my husband, who is diabetic. It's very filling. I agree it might be aided with a little bit of extra spice/worcestershire sauce since light cheddar is mild.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Demandy April 22, 2008
Beef, Cheese, and Noodle Bake