Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Cheese / Blue Cheese Columbine Dip Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Blue Cheese Columbine Dip

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on February 09, 2009

      Definitely 5 Star. Gotta like bleu cheese though. Much better at room temp than cold. Although, if you get the munchies late at night, this is terrific spread on the end piece of plain white homemade bread. Even cold. With a glass of sauvignon blanc. Mmmm. Many thanks for posting. UPDATE: 2/9/09. Soften 4 oz. of goat cheese and add all the other ingredients for a creamier spread with essentially the same flavors. The goat cheese does cut the strong bleu cheese taste though, without changing the basic flavor. Take it out of the fridge an hour before if you want it spreadable. That may or may not be what you're looking for! Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      This recipe is a WINNER!! I made exactly "as is", use a good Danish Blue and everyone raved! Super quick to throw together ahead of time and left it in the fridge until 2 hrs before the party. It's screams for a good glass of red wine. I would recommend this to any blue cheese lover!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      If you love blue cheese and blue cheese dips this is the best. With the Christmas season on top of us this will be the star or the dips. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      Wow! If you like blue cheese, you'll like this. I made it for a family potluck and served it with water crackers as suggested. There wasn't much left and the lucky ones spread it over their steaks. It's an odd combination but it works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      I am a blue cheese lover and this was just a wonderful combination of flavors, predominantly blue cheese. If you don't care for it, you will hate this. DH doesn't care for it, but I knew that before I made it so he doesn't count. Everything went so well together. Served on social crackers as a snack. Thanks Kathy for all the wonderful work you do here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Very interesting flavor served on a plain soda cracker. I chopped the onion quite fine so it had a smoother consistency. Served as my Thanksgiving appetizer Thanks Kathy for all you do and posting neat recipes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      I served this as the appetizer at a family dinner and everyone loved it. My dad and brother even thought it would be tasty on top of a steak. I will definitely make this again...I love blue cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Tasty! I took it to a Christmas gathering and everyone pronounced it wonderful -- well, everyone except the blue cheese haters, but who cares what they think! The hostess pointed out that the dip really does need to be served on water crackers because the dip has such a strong taste that you don't want any other flavors competing with it. I agree, so in the future I'll remember to resist the temptation to substitute a different kind of cracker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      I have had this recipe saved for the longest time... dying to try it with a glass of red wine and I finally go to enjoy this fantastic dip! I only got to let mine stand for about an hour, (Hey.. I was hungry!) but it was absolutely fantastic over peppered water crackers. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2007

      Really good & easy. I mnade it for company and the blue-cheese lovers raved about it. It also looks very nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2007

      This is good. I made this for a potluck/bbq we hosted this weekend. I wanted more of a traditional consistancy, so I added a pint of sour cream to the mix. Served with crackers and raw veggies. Very good. And better after sitting and letting the flavors mingle. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2007

      We were in blue cheese heaven! A great appetizer to take for family get togethers as the dip sits at room temperature for 2 hours. No oven, no fridge, no worries! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      I brought this to a baby shower and it got many compliments. I got a bit carried away and added too much garlic (1 large clove and 1 small clove). Next time, I will just use a bit less garlic and just a tiny, tiny bit less of olive oil. If you love bleu cheese, you'll love this dip. I served them with Pita Chips Pita Chips. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      Its on my top 10 list for favorite dips to serve. It looks gourmet and the taste is SO good for blue cheese lovers. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      This dip is WONDERFUL!! Great flavor and colors. Served it with sesame crisps and the small deli-rye slices. Everyone wanted the recipe. Thanks, Kathy for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      We absolutely loved this dip--one of the best I've ever had! I didn't measure the garlic, but am sure I used more since I added 2 small cloves (minced). Have a feeling I will be making this one often. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2005

      This was great spread over toasted whole wheat French bread! Nice flavor, easy to put together. Thank you Kathy for all you do on Recipezaar!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      My sister gave me this recipe a couple years ago. Although I never liked blue cheese before, I sure like it now. Every party we have we make it and somone always asks for the recipe. I leave out the mustard. I like to serve it on a very plain, flaky cracker like Carr's water crackers, or Carr's Cracked Pepper Crackers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Blue Cheese Columbine Dip

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.7
     
    Calories from Fat 155
    83%
    Total Fat 17.2 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 21.3 mg
    7%
    Sodium 398.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites