16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really yummy!! I used California Blend veggies instead of broccoli as that is what I had - I used 2 - 12 oz bags (because 1 bag wasn't enough broccoli)- I pulled the frozen carrots out and diced them like I did the potato. I mashed it a little with a potato masher when it was cooked before adding the cheese mixture. I used skim milk and only 1/2 of an onion.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixiesmom February 27, 2010

I did change a few things. The white/cheese sauce didn't taste cheesy enough with just 4 ounces of Velveeta...so I added 8 ounces AND a cup of shredded sharp Cheddar. It was also a little thin for our taste. The flavor was awesome with the above changes, however. Next time, I'll use less water to cook the vegetables or less milk in the white sauce (or a combination of both).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie April 25, 2010

I made some minor changes, instead of velveeta cheese, I used 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, left out the salt, and used fresh broccoli florets. With that being said, a very weel-rounded soup this ended up to be. Loved the potatoes in this, and made for a delightful soup, that was flavored and ingredient friendly. Served this along with Broccoli and Cheese Calzones#456649, and Spicy Chile and Garlic Broccoli#464282 for a well rounded out dinner. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker June 17, 2012

Doubled this for family and for a carry-in at work. Everyone loved it!! I'll confess that I added extra sharp Cheddar (we're cheese lovers). I'll use just the Cheddar next time rather than the Velveeta because the method of making a white sauce really helps it to melt smoothly. This will be a regular in our home. Thanks Life is Good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy R. April 19, 2011

LifeIsGood I can see why your kids request this soup often, it is so good! I used matchstick carrots, cut the potato into small cubes, and used chicken stock instead of bouillon cubes. The whole milk made a lovely white sauce and I used extra Velveeta cheese. Think I might like this soup better than one of my favorite restaurants broccoli cheese soup. YUMMY!! Made and reviewed for KK's Chef's Pick Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 December 29, 2009

Fabulous! I made this two days ago before I went to stay with a friend, and took the big pot with me for a casual lunch! I used cheddar cheese instead of velveeta as I cannot get velveeta in France. We all enjoyed it with French bread and the scores were 5's all round! Made for the Aussie Recipe Swap #34 and a real keeper, thanks LifeIsGood! FT:-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart December 04, 2009

This is an exceptional soup. I made it as written except I did not have velveta. The first time I made this, I used cheddar and the second time I used marble cheese. My family liked it both ways, but cheddar was the best. Thanks for a winning recipe in my house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada November 25, 2009

WOW! Delicious tasting soup! I used "vegetable stock" instead of the chicken bouillon to keep with the theme of the Veg 'N Swap Vegetarian tag game as I didn't notice when I tagged the recipe that it had chicken in it. LOL!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AcadiaTwo November 23, 2009

Fantastic soup! I did use chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes otherwise made as directed. Just delicious! Thank you LIG! I will be making this soup often! Made for KK Fall Cookathon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom October 31, 2009

Simplistic Goodness. Because I don't keep whole milk in the house I chose to use 2 cups skim and 2 cups 1/2 and 1/2 - FF. Everything else was perfectly spot on. A wonderful heart warming comfort type soup so perfect for this time of year. Made for KK's Mini-Cook-a-Thon.~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoffeeB October 24, 2009
Broccoli Cheese Soup