Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Broccoli Cheese Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Broccoli Cheese Soup

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on February 27, 2010

      Really yummy!! I used California Blend veggies instead of broccoli as that is what I had - I used 2 - 12 oz bags (because 1 bag wasn't enough broccoli)- I pulled the frozen carrots out and diced them like I did the potato. I mashed it a little with a potato masher when it was cooked before adding the cheese mixture. I used skim milk and only 1/2 of an onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I did change a few things. The white/cheese sauce didn't taste cheesy enough with just 4 ounces of Velveeta...so I added 8 ounces AND a cup of shredded sharp Cheddar. It was also a little thin for our taste. The flavor was awesome with the above changes, however. Next time, I'll use less water to cook the vegetables or less milk in the white sauce (or a combination of both).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2012

      I made some minor changes, instead of velveeta cheese, I used 4 ounces shredded cheddar cheese, left out the salt, and used fresh broccoli florets. With that being said, a very weel-rounded soup this ended up to be. Loved the potatoes in this, and made for a delightful soup, that was flavored and ingredient friendly. Served this along with Broccoli and Cheese Calzones#456649, and Spicy Chile and Garlic Broccoli#464282 for a well rounded out dinner. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Doubled this for family and for a carry-in at work. Everyone loved it!! I'll confess that I added extra sharp Cheddar (we're cheese lovers). I'll use just the Cheddar next time rather than the Velveeta because the method of making a white sauce really helps it to melt smoothly. This will be a regular in our home. Thanks Life is Good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      LifeIsGood I can see why your kids request this soup often, it is so good! I used matchstick carrots, cut the potato into small cubes, and used chicken stock instead of bouillon cubes. The whole milk made a lovely white sauce and I used extra Velveeta cheese. Think I might like this soup better than one of my favorite restaurants broccoli cheese soup. YUMMY!! Made and reviewed for KK's Chef's Pick Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      Fabulous! I made this two days ago before I went to stay with a friend, and took the big pot with me for a casual lunch! I used cheddar cheese instead of velveeta as I cannot get velveeta in France. We all enjoyed it with French bread and the scores were 5's all round! Made for the Aussie Recipe Swap #34 and a real keeper, thanks LifeIsGood! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This is an exceptional soup. I made it as written except I did not have velveta. The first time I made this, I used cheddar and the second time I used marble cheese. My family liked it both ways, but cheddar was the best. Thanks for a winning recipe in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      WOW! Delicious tasting soup! I used "vegetable stock" instead of the chicken bouillon to keep with the theme of the Veg 'N Swap Vegetarian tag game as I didn't notice when I tagged the recipe that it had chicken in it. LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Fantastic soup! I did use chicken broth instead of bouillon cubes otherwise made as directed. Just delicious! Thank you LIG! I will be making this soup often! Made for KK Fall Cookathon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Simplistic Goodness. Because I don't keep whole milk in the house I chose to use 2 cups skim and 2 cups 1/2 and 1/2 - FF. Everything else was perfectly spot on. A wonderful heart warming comfort type soup so perfect for this time of year. Made for KK's Mini-Cook-a-Thon.~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      This recipe rocks!! If it receives a thumbs up from my granddaughter it must be REALLY good. The taste is similar to, but BETTER than Panera's broccoli cheddar soup. Serve it with fresh, warm baguettes and WOW!! I even added a half bag of shredded cheddar cheese to it and it was great. Thanks for the posting. (OOPs forgot to rate it)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This really was a good soup. Used fresh broccoli and cheddar cheese (no Velveeta here in Oz!) and added a little parmesan as well. Yum! Thanks will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I love broccoli cheese soup and this didn't disappoint!!!! I did make things a little quicker for me by using already peeled and shredded potatoes (Simply Potatoes) and bought matchsticks carrots, so this was quick to get together. I used 2 oz. velveeta and about 4 oz. shredded sharp cheddar and then added some pepper. The potatoes really added to the heartiness of this soup. Thanks for sharing LiefeIsGood!!! Made for your win in Tic Tac Toe tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      I love that this recipe uses frozen broccoli because it's something I always have on hand and I don't have to worry about it going bad like fresh broccoli. However, if you have fresh broccoli on hand, I'm sure it would be even better. I also liked the addition of the carrots and the potato. I made it exactly as written and I found the soup to be very flavorful and rich. It made a great lunch for us today, along with "Better Than Red Lobster Cheddar Bay Biscuits".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Thick and rich and worth every calorie! I used fresh broccoli. I had 8 oz of 2% Velveeta, so I just used all of it. ;) I used 2 cups of 2% milk and 2 cups of fat free half and half for the whole milk. Thanx for a very enjoyable soup. I'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      I found this to be a very satisfying soup! I'm not a big fan of Velveeta cheese either, but did use it, although I did substitute a vegetable broth for the salt/bouillon/water combo! I also substituted 2% milk for whole milk & dropped the salt ingredient in the white sauce! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe cooking game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Broccoli Cheese Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 399.1
     
    Calories from Fat 229
    57%
    Total Fat 25.5 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 15.6 g
    78%
    Cholesterol 72.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1741.6 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.5 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 13.2 g
    53%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites