Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Cheddar Cheese and Chutney Toasted Doorstep Sandwich! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Cheese and Chutney Toasted Doorstep Sandwich!

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on July 14, 2010

      What a great way to dress up grilled cheese. Made using home made tomato chutney, fat free cheddar cheese, and cut the mayonnaise in half. We liked this so well that the next night when Zaar/Food.com was down we made it again. Thanks so much for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      This is a really nice change from the ordinary. I used a mango chutney and old cheddar cheese. I found it was a little messy, but I didn't mind licking my fingers! :) I'm going to have to find some different chutneys to try with this. I also think I may decrease the mayonnaise, just a little.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      Lovely and without the leathery effect of grilled cheese on its own. And best of all it is so easy and quick using the crisper plate of my Whirlpool microwave. I can use an endless choice of possible chutneys - sundried tomato and olive is great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      Made for DH's lunch. My work is done. Retirement party anyone?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2011

      Very nice cheese sarnie! I used thick-cut sourdough bread, extra sharp cheddar and homemade rhubarb chutney (Gingered Rhubarb Chutney, which I had in the freezer). Because my loaf of bread was quite large, I added an extra 1/2 oz of cheese (left quantities of everything else the same except for skipping the salt). I made in my non-stick skillet with a little butter on the outside to promote browning ;) I did accidentally forget about the chutney until I had the sandwich in the skillet so waited until it was done, opened it up, and mixed the chutney in with the melted cheese. As others said, it was a little messy, but totally worth it! Thanks for sharing FT :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      What a nice little sandwich. I used a 7 grain bread, white cheddar and a mango chutney.
      YUMMY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      Yum! A wonderful lunch today. Thanks! Made for KK's Holiday tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I just made this for lunch...mine was very mustardy as I didn't realise that the mayonnaise already had some in but it still tasted really nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      We loved this sandwich, it is a little different than anything we've tasted with the addition of the mustard and chutney. I made this on my panini maker and that was perfect. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      This was quite a different sandwich for us - I loved it and my dbf liked it... he's not into sweets much!! I loved the mix of different ingredients here!! Grilled it on my George Foreman grill and used whole-wheat bread. Made for Photo Tag. Thanks FT! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2008

      What a wonderful sandwich idea! I doubled the recipe, & used slices of sourdough bread as well as my own recipe for dried fruit chutney! That, with the cheese made for a very tasty sandwich! Thanks for posting this great recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my teammates in the Aus/NZ Recipe Swap #15]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Cheese and Chutney Toasted Doorstep Sandwich!

    Serving Size: 1 (336 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 479.1
     
    Calories from Fat 274
    57%
    Total Fat 30.4 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 13.7 g
    68%
    Cholesterol 67.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 817.3 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 18.3 g
    36%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes