8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good recipe. It could use a bit of oil though. Seems like that is not enough butter to be moist enough. It was very cheesey and we added half a small onion too. I am definitely saving this recipe. Goes GREAT with chili!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davemanbme August 21, 2014

Excellent! Made a double batch, using only one can of corn,,,ratio seemed perfect. This recipe is a keeper for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BEBBY14 November 29, 2012

This is delicious. I added a bit of cayenne pepper to give it a little spark.

@AnnieS321: I can only think that you used too much of a certain ingredient.

PLEASE NOTE: The METRIC quantities are really wrong. I'm from the UK so am used to measuring in Grams, etc. Luckily, I have electronic scales that weigh in g, ml, oz. However after using my CUP measuring bowls on my electronic scales I notice the error. If you're from the UK invest in measuring cups

Right now it's time for some more cornbread yum! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dimples9t8 February 29, 2012

What did I do wrong??? I followed the directions and unlike all the other reviews, mine came out greasy, heavy and tasteless. Any ideas?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnieS321 March 16, 2011

Wow, evelyn, this truly is a yummy cornbread! It is so moist and cheesy with just the right amount of sweetness coming from the corn kernels! Mmm, it was gobbled up in my house! :) I decided to add in some onion and used a herb infused butter, which added a nice touch, but Im sure the bread would have been just as lovely with out it. As you can see I used a bundt cake pan for the bread, which worked out nicely and didnt change the baking temp at all. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing this lovely keeper of a recipe with us! Itll surely be made again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula November 28, 2009

This cornbread has a fluffy cake-like texture, I would have to say that this is one of the better recipes for cornbread, it is really good I also added in some fine chopped jalapeno pepper, thanks Ev!....Kitten :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen November 26, 2006

Delicious! Instead of fresh corn, I used a can of Mexican Corn with red and green peppers. The sharp cheddar adds a nice flavor to the cornbread. We enjoyed this very much. Thanks for posting. Nick's Mom

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. August 06, 2006

Very nice cornbread recipe! The texture was light and moist and the flavor was delicious. It was the perfect compliment to the potato casserole I served. Thanks Evelyn for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess August 05, 2006
Cheddar Cheese Cornbread