Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Cheddar Cheesy Meat Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheddar Cheesy Meat Pie

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2011

      This was only okay. We ate it, but it was too quichey and liquidey for our tastes. Next time we're going to try it with a LOT less milk and a LOT fewer onions. The onions were just overpowering and we didn't even add them all. Just wasn't a favorite at our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      Okay, after reading reviews I tweeked this a bit .. and a warning-I'm a bit of an unorthodox cook :) I accidentally had the oven at 415 degrees but it worked. I baked the crust for 10 minutes before adding anything in it. I browned the hamburger and garlic in one pan and for some reason put the onions in another, and then decided to add a package of taco seasoning to the onions. I put the hamburger and garlic into the crust and then put a little over a cup of sharp cheddar cheese, as well as some Colby Monterrey jack cheese. Then I realized I hadn't put the onion/taco seasoning mix in so I put that on top of the cheese. Then mixed it up a bit and put more cheddar cheese on top. I used a little less than 1 cup of milk, and 3 tbsp of Worcestershire sauce. I cooked it in the bottom rack of the oven for about 20 minutes! Took it out and it was great! DH loved it, I thought it was yummy but next time I will use a little less taco seasoning. We also topped with sour cream :) Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      I am giving this three stars because the cooking time is more like an hour- the center does not cook unless the pie is on the bottom rack which I did after the 40 minutes. The 400 degrees overcooked the top of the pie. I decreased the amount of milk to 1 cup, added one more tablespoon of worcestershire to make 3 total. Also I would recommend the deep dish crust. I sauteed onion and added extra garlic with the hamburg along with red pepper flakes, sage, paprika, fresh basil, salt and pepper, 1/4 cup of tomato sauce, chopped broccoli, mushroom, and sundried tomato. It tasted great after it finally cooked. I would also recommend beating th milk/egg mix until they become foamy so the texture of the pie is more firm. Next time, I will bake the crust for 10 minutes before filling as it was too soft on the bottom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      I hate to leave a poor review, but this just didn't turn out for us. The middle never actually set up even after almost an hour in the oven. I finally had to take it out because the crust edges were burning. We tried a couple of bites but just couldn't eat it as the center was a milky, floury puddle. We were all disappointed because the recipe sounded great and the pictures looked delicious. I'm not sure what could have gone wrong, but this one just didn't work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2008

      I've been making this recipie for the last 15 years. The recipie came from a book Cooking with a Food Processor by General Electric. I add sliced mushrooms.. however you can also add frozen mixed vegetables for variation. I season my hamburger meat as I would my meat loaf or hamburgers...I do add a little more Worcestershire sauce than called for...it gives a more robust flavor....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      I dont know if I really liked this, or if I was just so hungry, but I scarfed this down! It tastes just like a hamburger to me. Next time I think I will mix the cheese/egg mix in with the meat to make it a little less dense, and to add some more flavor to the meat mix. I didnt have a pie crust, and didnt have time to make one, so I used crescent rolls. I Unrolled them, and stretched a little in the pan. I think I will use those for now on when I make this. The buttery crust was really good with the meat mix. All in all, this will probably be on my meal chart in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      I can't say I loved this meal, hence the 3 star rating. It was a little to "eggie" for me. Surprisingly, although both my kids and my husband rated it a 3, they did eat it, which is a big bonus! If I could figure out a way to lessen the egg taste, and add more flavor to it, I would consider making it again. Doubtfull I will take the time to do either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      My kids and their friends thank you. (DH and I do too...lol) I made this the other night for dinner when the kids had friends overnight. They all ate this and asked for seconds (which to me is the biggest compliment). I made three pies and that was perfect. I served this was oven fries and brussel sprouts. Thank you for posting, I will be making this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      My family gave this 5 stars. DH and the 3 kids (age 2-12) ate it up and wanted more. I think I would like a little more flavor. I only had cheddar (not sharp), so that would help - swiss might be nice too. I had more that 1/2 lb of ground beef, so I probably should have used a little more salt and pepper. Also, my milk/egg mixture overflowed - I think I would cut back to 1.25 c of milk, and maybe use some 1/2 and 1/2 (I used skim).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      Very tasty! I don't care for onion but used onion powder, and added some red pepper flakes. Looking forward to leftovers for breakfast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      This was so good. I ate it until I popped. Thanks Leslie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      We like spicy food at our house, so I added paprika, and used Lawry's seasoned salt. Made the crust with Karen's most incredible no fail crust ( fabulous ) and served my children with a gorgeous and delicious pie which they loved. A new favourite. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      I really hate to give a review less than 3 stars, but we found this to be a little bland. We had to add extra salt and pepper and even then we didn't really find it was anything to write home about. I will be making this again because we could see potential for a great one-dish comfort food. I think next time I'll use extra sharp cheddar and monterey jack cheese and add a bit of cumin for interest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      This was like a pizza pie.....I made a small one, as there were only two of us for lunch - it was easy and tasty! I did find myslef adding sliced tomoatoes for the top.....I just can't help myself - and the colour was lovely with the added red! I used a small pack of frozen pastry and more or less halved all the ingredients....I would normally have made a big one for seconds, but I have got lots of cooking and baking to do at present (ZWT3), so I stuck with a small one - it worked out fine! Thanks for an easy and very tasty recipe Leslie! FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      I had my kids do the rating on this one. My son gave a 3 (I liked it) my daghter says it's a 4 (I loved it). I really loved it too, so the girls outvoted the guy. LoL! It was very easy to prepare and I had everything on hand. A definate plus. Made for ZWT 3.:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      No complaints at dinner tonight! Everyone ate this right up and our guest enjoyed it as well. I added extra garlic and did not find the meat lacking flavor....I did overcook the meat which made the onion caramelized and really good. I would suggest cooking the onion a bit and then adding the ground beef, because the flavor was awesome. Thanks Leslie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      This was very good Leslie!I made it with Egg Creation and only 1 cup of milk. I made it for WT3. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      Easy, quick and extremely tasty!! I will be making this again and again!! Thanks, ~Leslie~!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      Hummm I think I'm going to call this my moodswing recipe as I was at extremes over this one. What's to like?: whooo ohhh cheesy eggy milky topping is Great, what's not to like?: the meat undernieth was really bland even though I took other reviewers advice and doubled the garlic and added red bell peppers. It's definiately a dish that I will have to mess around to get it to suit us. I don't have access to unbaked pie crusts so used some puff pastry to make the outside of the pie.. that cooked fine, so I will stick with that next time I make this. Please see my rating system: it's 3 stars at the moment with potential for more if I can perfect the meat mixture filling. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2006

      Yummy and easy! I added extra garlic. This is a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheddar Cheesy Meat Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (193 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 593.8
     
    Calories from Fat 347
    58%
    Total Fat 38.6 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 15.9 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 174.0 mg
    58%
    Sodium 1151.2 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes