15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

February 20, 2004...I made this recipe after it was recommended in the "talk" threads because I was searching for ways to use up mushrooms. I think I had the same problem as CoolMonday, as my roll started to come apart during baking. Next time I will make sure it is thicker. After I made this and baked it, I froze it in a ziploc bag for a later date (I Love Once A Month Cooking) but I think next time I will serve it thae day it was made as it seemed to dry out a bit after being reheated. My parents, who were over for dinner, really enjoyed this! *Update* I made this again, this time I froze it unbaked and it worked perfectly. I also made a thicker roll this time and I did not have the same problems as last time. I baked it from frozen at 200 degrees for 3 hours and it was ready when we got home from church. Next time I will cover the top with foil as it got a bit dark. Thanks again Evelyn, your recipes are great!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
* Pamela * September 13, 2005

We loved this meatloaf! Did not change or add anything. It was also very good cold with some mustard on a sandwich the next day!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us August 27, 2003

Excellent!! 5 Stars for sure. It was easier to make than I thought it would be. I followed the recipe exactly, except for maybe cooking the onions and mushrooms a little longer. Taste is great and this is the first meatloaf I've ever made. Thanks Evelyn!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 August 25, 2003

this was yummy delicious... I had a few problems that I'm sure will be ok next time (and there will be a next time).. It broke up a little when I put it into the pan.. also it stuck to the pan and kinda fell apart a little but I fixed it up. I think I just flattened it out too much and it was too thin ... the flavor was wonderful

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoolMonday October 24, 2003

My son loves this and requests it yearly for his birthday. It looks like you worked really hard and it tastes great, but really is easier than it seems. We leave off the ketchup and add a bit of blue cheese to suit his tastes - otherwise perfect the way it is!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisarenea January 04, 2015

This meatloaf is full of flavor. It was my first time to roll a meatloaf. I was not too good with that. So next time I'll put half the meat mixture in the pan. Then put the mushrooms and cheese. And top with the remaining meat. Thanks evelyn :) Made for All you can cook buffet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette February 29, 2012

Wow! A meatloaf that really taste good! Love the combo of cheese and mushrooms. I still need to perfect my rolling technique, some of my filling leaked out but still tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky.Wife August 20, 2009

I was looking for something different than our usual ketchup and brown sugar topped meatloaf. I wasn't too sure about trying a meatloaf without a topping, since I was worried it would be bland. Oh my goodness, was I ever wrong. This meatloaf was so delicious. It was juicy and bursting with lots of flavor. Plus, it was fun to roll up. This is my new favorite meatloaf. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ July 25, 2009

I tried this out and thought it was delicious, and a nicely explained recipe too, had no trouble with making the roll of meatloaf fit in the pan using the clingfilm. My husband is no big fan of meatloaf, but he wolfed this one down. I did spice it just up a little, as we both like it hot. I served it with new potatoes and some salsa. It looked good too, with the mushrooms in the middle. Thanks a lot for this easy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruth June 04, 2008
Cheese and Mushroom-Stuffed Meatloaf