15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these very last minute so I had to use red onion and a mixture of grated cheeses - cheddar, mozzarella, asiago and parmesan. Very good and very easy to make, we enjoyed these with meatloaf and fresh veggies! Made for Went to the Market tag game. Thanks Sydney Mike! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif July 24, 2011

Great little lunch, and definately can taste the onion flavor. Also like the fact that combined with the cheese made for some real flavorful Potato Pancakes. Other than adding a dash of perrer made recipe down the line. Also no problem with the cakes falling apart either. Made for New Zaar tag (24 hour rule).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker June 20, 2011

These were really good! I like that you can taste the onion which I like, but it was not too overpowering like DH likes. I made with cheddar cheese, but otherwise made as is. Will be making these again! Made for AUS/NZ Make My Recipe Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH November 20, 2010

Oh my stars, these were delicious. Is there a ten star option on here? I did take some shortcuts...I used a bag of refrigerated shredded potatoes that was in the back of my freezer, and since they had some southwestern seasoning on them I used sharp cheddar instead of gouda. DH was worried; I never ever fry anything and when I do it doesn't usually go well, but he was thrilled with the result and sends his thanks to you, Syd :). I was concerned about them holding together as they sort of fell apart when dropped in the oil, but the cheese really held them together just fine. This is absolutely a keeper, thanks for sharing! Made for Veg*n Swap #14.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian September 12, 2009

Sydney Mike, these are very tasty potato pancakes! I like the addition of cheese; it gives them a different flavour than youd normally have. The dough was very easy to work with and I had no issues with the pancakes falling apart whatsoever. I also liked their crispy outside yet moist inside. Just the way I wanted them to be. For me this recipe didnt yield 12 but only 6 pancakes. So next time Ill double up. Thanks for sharing this! Made for Veg'n Swap # 7 February 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 03, 2009

These were lovely. I wasn't sure that they would hold together during the cooking process and was tempted to add an egg as I would usually do with potato cakes but they really didn't need an it after all. I did add some salt and pepper and served with a dollop of sour cream. The whole family enjoyed these.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busyozmum October 19, 2008

Totally loved this recipe. Made about 12 pancakes which were eaten by three people. So delicious!!! This was a very welcome recipe after making the potato pancakes in a box. I had to substitute pepper jack for gouda since that was all I had on hand. I used my kitchen aid mixer attachment for very finely shreded pototoes. This was a good way to use up some remaining shriveled up potatoes. I also squeezed the moisture out of the potates for less sogginess.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Johnsonville September 16, 2008

I had my sister and niece here visiting and made these along with a fruit salad and they couldn't get enough of these and asked for the recipe. So simple and quick to make, especially since I used refrigerated hash browns. I also forgot to get gouda cheese, so I subbed cheddar cheese. Will definitely be making again, but use the correct cheese. Thanks Sydney for a great recipe. Made for Zaar Stars tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 August 29, 2008

Gorgeous!!! Served these with your Belgian Meatloaf what a perfect combo. I said on the other review that my 14 yr old had just played his first footy match with his team and won 8-2. This was a the perfect meal for a champ. We all agreed for the first time in ages that both recipes were 5 star worthy. Great posts on both and will look forward to making them again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef August 20, 2008

Yummo!!! These were a big hit here. Loved the cheese. I added a sprinkling of salt and a good grinding of black pepper. These are great with a dab of sour cream!!! Served with Steak Diane and a salad made with Sun-Dried Tomato Vinaigrette. Thanks Sydney Mike for the recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fairy Nuff August 17, 2008
Cheese and Potato Pancakes