Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Cheese and Potato Pancakes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheese and Potato Pancakes

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 24, 2011

      I made these very last minute so I had to use red onion and a mixture of grated cheeses - cheddar, mozzarella, asiago and parmesan. Very good and very easy to make, we enjoyed these with meatloaf and fresh veggies! Made for Went to the Market tag game. Thanks Sydney Mike! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2011

      Great little lunch, and definately can taste the onion flavor. Also like the fact that combined with the cheese made for some real flavorful Potato Pancakes. Other than adding a dash of perrer made recipe down the line. Also no problem with the cakes falling apart either. Made for New Zaar tag (24 hour rule).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      These were really good! I like that you can taste the onion which I like, but it was not too overpowering like DH likes. I made with cheddar cheese, but otherwise made as is. Will be making these again! Made for AUS/NZ Make My Recipe Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Oh my stars, these were delicious. Is there a ten star option on here? I did take some shortcuts...I used a bag of refrigerated shredded potatoes that was in the back of my freezer, and since they had some southwestern seasoning on them I used sharp cheddar instead of gouda. DH was worried; I never ever fry anything and when I do it doesn't usually go well, but he was thrilled with the result and sends his thanks to you, Syd :). I was concerned about them holding together as they sort of fell apart when dropped in the oil, but the cheese really held them together just fine. This is absolutely a keeper, thanks for sharing! Made for Veg*n Swap #14.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Sydney Mike, these are very tasty potato pancakes! I like the addition of cheese; it gives them a different flavour than youd normally have. The dough was very easy to work with and I had no issues with the pancakes falling apart whatsoever. I also liked their crispy outside yet moist inside. Just the way I wanted them to be. For me this recipe didnt yield 12 but only 6 pancakes. So next time Ill double up. Thanks for sharing this! Made for Veg'n Swap # 7 February 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      These were lovely. I wasn't sure that they would hold together during the cooking process and was tempted to add an egg as I would usually do with potato cakes but they really didn't need an it after all. I did add some salt and pepper and served with a dollop of sour cream. The whole family enjoyed these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      Totally loved this recipe. Made about 12 pancakes which were eaten by three people. So delicious!!! This was a very welcome recipe after making the potato pancakes in a box. I had to substitute pepper jack for gouda since that was all I had on hand. I used my kitchen aid mixer attachment for very finely shreded pototoes. This was a good way to use up some remaining shriveled up potatoes. I also squeezed the moisture out of the potates for less sogginess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      I had my sister and niece here visiting and made these along with a fruit salad and they couldn't get enough of these and asked for the recipe. So simple and quick to make, especially since I used refrigerated hash browns. I also forgot to get gouda cheese, so I subbed cheddar cheese. Will definitely be making again, but use the correct cheese. Thanks Sydney for a great recipe. Made for Zaar Stars tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      Gorgeous!!! Served these with your Belgian Meatloaf what a perfect combo. I said on the other review that my 14 yr old had just played his first footy match with his team and won 8-2. This was a the perfect meal for a champ. We all agreed for the first time in ages that both recipes were 5 star worthy. Great posts on both and will look forward to making them again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Yummo!!! These were a big hit here. Loved the cheese. I added a sprinkling of salt and a good grinding of black pepper. These are great with a dab of sour cream!!! Served with Steak Diane and a salad made with Sun-Dried Tomato Vinaigrette. Thanks Sydney Mike for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2008

      Buddha and the kids really enjoyed this as a side dish to your Belgian Meatloaf recipe. I made them using frozen hash browns which made preparation easier. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was my 1st time making potato pancakes. These were easy & yummy. I left out the onion but added 1/2 tsp onion powder. I also added salt & pepper to the mix. I substituted Italian cheese blend for the gouda. Made for 123 Hits

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      First time I managed to make good potato pancaked (done without being burnt :) ). The cheese gives that little extra. Another keeper. Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      I just have to say "right on" to whoever thought of putting cheese in potato pancakes. Delish! FYI, I grated my potatoes and onion REALLY small. Made for a Challenge during ZWT4. Will definitely make these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2008

      I tagged this in Zaar tag and went right to the kitchen to make it. I was in the mood for something crispy! Well, it didn't disapoint! Nice and crispy and yummy too! Thanks! Also made for ZWT4!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheese and Potato Pancakes

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.9
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    34%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.1 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    gouda cheese

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites