Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Cheesy Crab Appetizer Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cheesy Crab Appetizer

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2002

      This was super easy, and tasted wonderful. I LOVE the fact that you can them make up, and then stash them in the freezer for later use. Really great little appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      These were a hit and easy to make. They froze and reheated very well, a bonus in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2010

      Very nice, easy and quick. I did add some scallions for a little green, but made as is. Just a light lunch for me with a cup of soup. But a party food, game night, would be perfect. Old classic back again, I for one really enjoyed them. I often have soup and sandwich and I had a friend stop over and we had these, soup and some fruit for dessert which made the perfect light dinner. Thx for sharing! Will definitely make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Fast and tasty. Had this at a Christmas gathering then came here to look for the recipe. Will definitely make for Super Bowl Sunday as it's so easy but impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Really good and easy! My husband loved them and so did I! I refrigerated the left over spread and used it over the next day or two...very yummy! Next time I will not use so much butter....I think that is "old school"...and I will fold in the crab meat at the end because I like the crab to be a bit chunky. Overall....I give it an A++!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      We have enjoyed this recipe for years. Now I have Celiac and cannot use english muffins. So I substitue Whole Foods sandwich bread or use Grainless Baker bread and it is still pretty good. After covering each bread slice, I quarter the bread slices and follow the recipe. Also, I still freeze some of them. I have yet to find anyone who doesn't like these appetizers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      This was great! Followed recipe pretty closely, except, being a horseradish lover, I added about a half teaspoon of it as well as a couple dashes of hot sauce. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      I have been using this recipe for years and we just love it. I use seasoned salt instead of the salt and pepper and I broil my appetizers instead of baking them. You can also freeze them before baking/broiling. Just freeze them on a baking sheet and when frozen put them in a freezer bag. Then take out when you want one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Excellent appetizer. Note, I am not a fan of warming them in a microwave. I did freeze them as I was taking these as appetizers for a long weekend we had with friends. The first night I warmed them in the microwave, they were okay, but since I had tested them straight from the oven I knew my friends did not get a fair taste test. The next night I thawed them in the microwave, 2 minutes on 50% power, but then warmed them in the oven. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2011

      I love this recipe! These are a must every Christmas Eve. We call these Crab Quiche Triangles as we like to cut the English Muffins into 4 pieces (like a pie). These are always available in my freezer and sometimes, even without company I will dig a few out for a snack. 5 stars are not enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I love these! I have slightly different proportions of ingredients in my recipe, but basically the same. I always freeze them in quarters and save them to cook and serve later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      My family has been making these for years and years. We do not use the mayonaisse and instead of salt and pepper we use seasoned salt. Can't make enough of them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      I made them for the first time on Easter. Everyone seem to enjoy them, I forgot to try it. I went ahead a frozed, and still have some in the freeze. Very simple easy recipe. Would make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      These are so good! My family also makes them with tuna. I usually add some dried onions seasoning salt and a dash of Frank's Red Hot for a little more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      Thanks you. I have been looking for this recipe. I enjoyed this when I was a kid, my Mom would makes for guests or special occassions. My husband has never had. They are in the freezer now- look to pop out and cook in a hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I've been making the actual Maryland version of this recipe for decades. Use a lb. of fresh crabmeat, 24 English muffins, 2 jars of Old English, one clove garlic, and a dash of Old Bay. Also, we use one more step. You do all but the cooking the day before, then freeze the quarters, and bake the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      My SIL made these and boy, are they ever great! She took them right from the freezer, popped them in the oven and a short time later they were all devoured. We all agreed that they were much too salty, even for the salt lovers. Will halve the amount of salts next time. Can't get over how easy, but yet very tasty. A great make-ahead appetizer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      These have been a big favorite in my family for ages.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2006

      I have been making these for years. One of our grandchildren, he is five, wants these for lunch when ever he is at our house. I keep some in the freezer all the time. They are great for unexpected company. We also make them on our beach vacations to have with our afternoon wine, beer etc.!! Thanks Janeydoe for posting for everyone to enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      my Aunt Mary made these "Crab Hors D'oeuvres". she would cut them into 4ths. it was always something we looked forward to at her family reunions. to this day i still make them. NOTE: make ahead & freeze (uncooked). when needed, just take out what you need & toast/broil til golden brown. these are a staple in our freezer. they are great to just pop 1/2 an english muffin in while making soup. the two go great together. they keep in the freezer 2-3 months before freezer burn gets to them.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cheesy Crab Appetizer

    Serving Size: 1 (79 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.4
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    51%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 52.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 587.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 10.4 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Kraft Old English cheese spread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites