15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would give this 5 stars just because it taught me that you CAN cook spaghetti squash in the microwave! Much easier to cook it that way than boiling it or baking it. I used half a squash, as I'm the only one in the house who eats it. I added some colby/jack cheese along with the mozzarella, and added a little Tony Chachere's Creole seasoning for extra zip. This was an easy, tasty, comfort-foody recipe, and I'll definitely make it again. Thanks for sharing, Paula!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 August 31, 2004

cant really go wrong with spaghetti squash, in my book- but this was lacking a little flavor. Next time I'll add some sauteed onions and garlic- this time I added some Cyan pepper, gave it a great kick. Thanks for the share!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FullyClothedChef November 23, 2011

Lovely, lite, tasty dinner that I was surprised to find even DH (who is a committed carnivore) liked. I did prepare the squash differently following Properly Prepared Spaghetti Squash and I think that gave a nice flavor to the squash - but when it came to putting this together - followed the directions and was very happy with the results for this lite, healthy dinner. It does make a lot, but that's OK - I have leftovers for dinner tonight. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 06, 2012

I love Spaghetti Squash so this recipe was right up my alley. I never used pimientos before. After reading the discription on Zaar I assumed they would have a flavor similar to a red pepper. The small red pepper that I purchased (which was in a basket marked "mixed hot peppers-pimientos") did not taste anything like a red pepper! There was definitely some heat, similar to that of a jalapeno, in the dish I prepared. Fortunately, I love jalapenos, so this dish was perfect for me. I ate the entire squash! I would love to know how a pimiento should taste from any knowlegable Zaar members :) Thanks for the recipe. I loved it! 5 stars all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wind in the Canyon April 08, 2010

I have never eaten spaghetti squash. It was on sale at the grocery store so thought I would give it a try. Made it as a dish dish with sausage. I followed the recipe as written other then I didn't have pimientos and I used dried parsley instead of fresh. This was good but I think it needed some onion or garlic (or maybe both). I loved that I could cook this in the microwave. The rest of the family wasn't crazy about this but I enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 20, 2009

I baked my squash in the oven after removing seeds and strings. Baked at 350 for 1 hour. I used Crystal Farms 3 Pepper shredded cheese. This is really a good recipe. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird September 27, 2009

I hadn't had spaghetti squash for years because other than butternut squash there isn't a wide variety of winter squashes available in the UK. So, last week when I saw a spaghetti squash in my supermarket I bought it and then thought 'now, what?' because I had forgotten what to do with it. So, this recipe gets stars alone for teaching me how to do it in the microwave. The cheese was a nice taste combination for sure. Mine was also a bit runny but once I drained the juices a bit all was fine. Mae for Aus/Nz Swap October 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah_Jayne October 06, 2008

We had this for tonight's dinner. It's a very easy dish to make and very tasty, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario February 02, 2008

We really liked this. It was very fast & easy, too. The taste was delicious. Mine was kind of runny, though, when I went back for seconds. Should I have drained the squash for a while before mixing with the other ingredients?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaramelPie February 16, 2007

Lovely flavor and easy to make. I had to cook it much longer to get it to the right texture, but maybe it was just a great, huge squash. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paula5 October 09, 2005
Cheesy Spaghetti Squash