11 Reviews

Yum! This is a keeper. We only needed 2 chicken breasts, and we used 2 oz of goat cheese & half a granny smith apple. I followed another reviewer's advice to brown the chicken the skillet, then bake in the oven at 350. After 25-30 min, our chicken was cooked to perfection.Next time, I'll spoon all the extra goat cheese and apples into the baking dish. We even made this a gluten free recipe by using GF flour & breadcrumbs. Thanks, Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish January 06, 2013

I love this recipe! I made a few changes based on what I had on hand in my pantry. Instead of breadcrumbs I used Ritz crackers, and used a garlic olive oil as well. Added a great extra punch of flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dustywaters November 14, 2012

Very tasty, easy chicken recipe. We used 5 oz of goat cheese, otherwise we followed the directions as posted. I used a Granny Smith apple. Had the leftovers today for lunch and did not have the problem with soggy breadcrumbs that another reviewer mentioned. We browned the chicken on the stovetop and finished in the oven at 350F for about 15-20 minutes. This worked really well. Thanks for a nice recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny February 19, 2011

Good. We'll use Granny Smith apples next time. We used some red apple this time and you couldn't even taste it. These don't make good leftovers because the breadcrumbs get soggy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D November 20, 2010

Very good. Creamy and filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burgundy Damsel July 02, 2010

Great recipe! I cut the carbs by foregoing the breadcrumb coating, and it was still delicious. I just used a little salt and pepper on the outside. Will definitely make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HealthyChef April 29, 2008

This was really good and I used pork instead of chicken because that was what I had defrosted. Next time I think I will bake after browning because of long it takes to cook in the pan, but again that is due to the thickness of the chops I had. Wonderful contrasting taste with the lemon. My 2 year old, who has not been eating anything, kept asking me for more, so you know it is flavorful and yummy.Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillybean in Catskills, NY January 23, 2008

This is very delicious,very moist,and a great dish for company as well as family!I prepared it exactly as printed and it was perfect!Everyone loved it, even the children.Barb Gertz, you certainly cook up wonderful dishes!Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Be January 07, 2008

This was a very delicious combination! I only eat Fuji apples so that is what I had on hand. I prepared this for one, so I kind of eyeballed all the amounts. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brwneyedgrl October 08, 2007

Excellent recipe! Tastes go supremely well together! I finely chopped and pre-cooked the apple before mixing w/ the goat cheese. Added basil and bk pepper. My coating mixture was higher in parmesan than bread crumbs, and added bk pepper, dried parsley and garlic. Cook on very low heat as the coating will burn otherwise. And I stuffed the breasts quite fully, so placed a lid on the pan to fully cook the insides. Added some Calvados to the pan to deglaze -- bring pan away from heat or turn off gas when you do this. Next time will pound the chicken even further to enjoy a better ratio of delicious stuffing to chicken; and will try adding a couple blueberries to the goat cheese for added sweetness, flavor, and color -- fruit, goat cheese and chicken go so well together! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kxt37 January 22, 2006
Chicken Breast Stuffed With Apple and Goat Cheese