18 Reviews

You're right! This is absolutely delicious and I have been making it for years. It is from a cookbook I have called Betty Crockers Recipes for Today (1988). When I make this, I don't change a thing (and it IS a good way to sneak in the spinach - I love it but DH does not!). Thanks for posting - now I can add this to my shopping list right off of the Zaar!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee July 11, 2003

This was pretty good, and pretty easy to make. I made it around noon and refrigerated it, then we baked it around 5:30 p.m. I followed the ingredients exactly, and it tasted great. I used Barilla no-boil noodles, and there were no issues with them being too undercooked or anything. I gave it 4 stars because my lasagna turned out quite runny, even after letting it rest (after baking) for a bit - so I couldn't take a good picture to post! I think if I make this again I might try to reduce the liquid in it somehow. Also, I agree that sliced mushrooms would be a good addition, and maybe fresh spinach. Made for Fall PAC 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 October 15, 2012

Very nice. I had ricotta to use up, so substituted it for the cottage cheese, and because of a helpful review I reduced the milk to 1 1/2 cups. The texture was perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Baboo October 28, 2009

Very nice tasting casserole, & one that I'd be happy to make again! I usually shy away from recipes that include cooked spinach, but this turned out to be A GREAT LASAGNA! With a little tweaking, I could also make this into a veggie lasagna (to please my son & his wife ~ Me, I like it with the chicken)! Thanks for posting the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Went to the Market tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike August 20, 2009

I really enjoyed the taste of this dish. It did take me longer to prepare then noted but I had to cook the chicken and the noodles(my preference). The sauce was a bit runny so did let it sit out on the counter for a good 5min and was much better the next day warmed up. Unfortunately my picky family did not care for it, think it was the spinach. UPDATE I tried it with broccoli tonight and the only thing I forgot to buy at the store was the cottage cheese. I made it without and it turned out great, not running at all and the whole family loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiggrr January 02, 2009

My family just loved this recipe! I did make a few changes. I used a large onion that I sauted in the butter before adding the garlic. I had 2 pounds of boneless chicken breast that I cubed and sauted in a little olive oil until lightly browned. I used 2 pounds of cottage cheese and 2 (10 oz.) packages of spinach. I mixed the spinach and the cottage cheese together. I used 1 (9 oz.) box of Barilla No Boil Lasagna Noodles. I was out of parmesan cheese so I used romano. I also added about 9 oz. of sliced provolone cheese between the layers I layered this in a 14 x 9 x 3 casserole dish and baked it at 350 for 1 hour and 30 minutes. I let it sit for 45 minutes so it wasn't runny. Thanks ~Nimz~ for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Elizabeth August 13, 2008

I hate to give a recipe with such great flavors a low rating, but I followed the recipe closely and my dish came out so runny that it didn't hold together at all when dishing it out. I think there was just too much sauce. I did cut the recipe in half, but I used a 8x8 pan, so that should have worked. I did sub homemade veggie broth for chicken, fresh herbs and used fresh spinach that had been blanched, but all of the proportions were exactly half of what was listed except for going a little heavy on the herbs. I thought the flavors worked great, but next time I would use half the sauce and skip the layer under the bottom row of noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 July 07, 2007

We really did enjoy this dish. I normally don't like white sauce but this was special. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 21, 2007

Very good. I added sauted mushrooms and used regular pre-cooked lasagne noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KayBeeOakdale February 27, 2006

The sauce for this recipe is to die for. I will make it and use it for other pasta but not for lasagna. I made it with no-boil noodles and although I cooked it as long as the time in this recipe, the noodles were still tough and chewy. I threw it back in the oven for another 10 minutes or so until the bottom was starting to brown and the noodles were still too tough. I think there was just not enough liquid in this thick creamy sauce to soften the noodles so next time I think I will just add the chicken and spinach to the sauce and serve it over regular linguini noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MandyMershon November 20, 2005
Chicken Cheese Lasagna