Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Creamy Cheddar Fondue Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Cheddar Fondue

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on April 03, 2010

      I made this for a get together with some friends from church. I picked this recipe because it didn't contain alcohol. It was a huge hit! I doubled the recipe, sauteed the onion with a little garlic in a pat of butter and drizzle of olive oil, then used part milk, part 1/2 and 1/2, and used only 12 ounces of cream cheese adding in 4 ounces of velveeta, and adding a dash of Franks hot sauce. It was very thin when I took it out of the saucepan and put it in the slow cooker on low, but it was perfect within 30 minutes. For my first attempt at fondue, I was very pleased. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      I had trouble with this recipe but maybe it was my cheese? It was very thick and really stringy. I added some milk to smooth it out. The taste was very rich. If I make this again I would definitely add a bit of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      This is delicious, and so easy. I made mine in the Vita Mix blender. I added a small amount of cornstarch to help with thickening. Instead of fresh onions, I used 1 tablespoon of dried. My family really enjoyed this. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      This was foolproof! Turned out delicious and creamy. I used onion powder instead of diced onion. We dipped smoked sausages, veggies, and bread in it.

      There were only two of us so we had a ton left over. I mixed the leftover sauce with diced onions and frozen shredded hashbrowns the next morning and baked it up at 375. It was also delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2012

      We could NOT stop eating this!!! SOOOOO yummy. We dipped pieces of baguettes in it. I used regular cream cheese, skim milk, and medium cheddar. I WILL be making this again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2011

      What a super simple, delicious Cheese fondue. Just fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      I had to whip up another batch in the middle of our party, this fondue was so popular. Luckily- that's not too hard to do! Excellent, excellent recipe. Also- the cold leftovers were a nice cracker spread the next day- the onion flavor came out a lot more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      This is ABSOLUTE Heaven to eat!!!! I made it last night, and it was amazing!! No one could keeps their hands out of it! haha I was not able to use onion, but I did substitute onion powder. I just am amazed at how simple and easy something like this is! Thank you! I will be using it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2011

      Three stars because I didn't quite follow as posted (added a squeeze of mustard & a few dashes of nutmeg)... LOW FAT was the name of the game, so this recipe fit the bill! However, it was verrrrry cream cheesey. If low fat content wasn't my goal, I would have picked another recipe. But! That said! It was very tasty with cubed bread and chicken jalapeno sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      I made this for dinner tonight using my new fondue pot. I bought a block medium cheddar because I thought mild wouldn't stand up against the cream cheese. But I was running late and didn't have time to shred it. I ended up using low fat mild cheddar. DD and I did a quick taste test and I ended up slicing some of the medium and adding a bit more milk. We really liked it after that. Next time I will use medium from the start. We dipped crisp cooked brocolli, boiled potatoes, plain bagels, apples and smoked sausage. This was a great kick off for using our fondue pot. The kids are already planning on fondue being a regular event.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      This was a bit different than I expected. I used 1/3 less fat cream cheese and 2% milk. I would like to try it with more cheddar cheese and maybe some hot sauce because it was a bit bland. We will make this again because we love fondue, we will tweak it to make it perfect for us. How funny, I just made this again and thought it was 5 star and last time I only gave it 4 stars. Go figure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      This was fabulous! I searched high and low for a recipe that didn't use alcohol. I was a little worried about using fat free cream cheese and thought that it might to runny....I was wrong! It was still thick and creamy and just as rich as I would like it to be. I doubled the recipe, sauteed my onions, and also added two cloves of fresh minced garlic. I served it with warm crusty bread. It was a big hit! I will, without question ,be using this recipe again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Well, this was my second attempt at fondue and the first try was disastrous. I'm impressed! This was so easy to prepare and tasted great. I didn't have quite 8oz of cream cheese (someone's been munching) but it was still very creamy. I added some red pepper flakes and cayenne for a bit of heat. Love the onion in there. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      This was fabulous!! It's my new favorite fondue! My whole family loved it even the kids. Love the onion in it. I'm gonna be making this all the time! Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2007

      This was so very easy! I did go with the full-fat cream cheese and also added in a can of lump crab, a dash of hot sauce and a splash of beer (initially an accident then, after stirring, doubled because it tasted so great). Was yummy! My husband pronounced this a "definite keeper". Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      I don't know why I never rated this recipe. This was my first time making fondue, and I chose this recipe because it seemed easy, and required ingredients that I usually have on hand. Well, my husband LOVED it! It's been about 2 months since that first time, and he keeps asking me when I'm gonna make it again. I may add a touch more milk next time, because it turned out just a tad too thick. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      We tried this recipe out last night and it turned out really great. I did saute the onions in some butter first before adding them to the fondue, and I added a clove of garlic as well. Oh, and I didn't use the low-fat stuff...it was whole milk and regular cream cheese. It was really creamy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      This was certainly creamy, but very thick and didn't have much cheddar flavor (even though I used extra-sharp cheese). I didn't much like how bland and thick it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2005

      This was a great recipe! To have a more nacho cheese flavor, I added 2 jalapenos and 1/4 to 1/2 cup salsa and it was great. Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      This was delicious, and the onions added just the right kick. I've made this several times for fondue parties and it is always a hit. Very creamy. I wouldn't consider using the fat-free cream cheese, however. It needs the real stuff. Favorite "dippers" are bread, pretzels, mini-sausages, and apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Cheddar Fondue

    Serving Size: 1 (627 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 471.7
     
    Calories from Fat 224
    47%
    Total Fat 24.9 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 15.8 g
    79%
    Cholesterol 92.9 mg
    30%
    Sodium 1425.3 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 14.5 g
    58%
    Protein 42.1 g
    84%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites