Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Creamy Parmesan Leeks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Parmesan Leeks

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2002

      This is an excellent prepartion for one of my favorite "veggies". Next time I will cut back on the cream and parmesan since it was a little too rich for my taste. Better yet, I'll had more leeks and have MORE! Well Done Jan S!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      A truly fabulous leeks recipe and, once you've thoroughly washed your leeks, so easy to prepare! I added one brown onion and 3 cloves of garlic - both chopped - to the leeks, as we love the flavour of the three together. When I checked on the liquid after about 10 minutes, it needed just a tiny bit more so I added about half a tablespoon of white wine. The cooking aromas were already divine but after that tiny bit of wine, we could hardly wait till the leeks were ready to eat! I used sour cream. We immensely enjoyed these leeks as a main course over steamed rice, and I'm SO looking forward to making them again soon. Made for the Aussie Forum's MAKE MY RECIPE. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      What an easy and delicious way to prepare leeks! I simmered them in quite a bit of water as I usually do, then drained them. I followed Jen T's suggestion and used sour cream (reduced fat version). I used just enough to coat the leeks nicely, then sprinkled on parmesan cheese. This is so much easier than making a cheese sauce to go with leeks, and healthier, I think. I will definitely make leeks this way again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      I used a whole "bunch" of leeks for this (about 5 slender leeks) and used nearly all of each (I discarded only the well-separated leaves). The sauce was just the perfect amount. I though they were just delicious, but discovered that my family really doesn't like leeks! I ate the whole batch myself. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      I used 1/2 cup of sour cream as Jen T suggested. THANKS! It was fantastic, the flavors came together perfectly. I also doubled the amount of leeks and kept all the other measurements the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      Hi Jan, I didn't have any cream on hand so used sour cream and it was great. The flavours blended really well. I will certainly be using this recipe a lot. Thanks for posting, Cheers JenT :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2014

      Absolutely Delicious! Excellent over rice with Mahi. We'll definitely be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      Leeks are fantastic and so underrated! I love recipes like this where the leeks are the main event. I made this just as written, just didn't cook them quite as long as written. This was so quick and easy to make and it makes a nice side dish when you need something a little different. Thanx for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2013

      Mmmmm! Those were good! I made them exactly as written, but next time I may follow the lead of another reviewer and add a bit of garlic. I've never had creamed leeks before, but this is a nice and easy way to prepare, and it's tasty to boot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      Delicious! Made as directed apart from I didn't have any cream so subbed in some home-made yoghurt which worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      YUM! Be sure to keep a close eye on the leeks in the pan, had a near miss but end result was yummy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2012

      I was looking for a recipe to use up a bunch of leeks from my garden, and this was perfect! It was so easy and delicious. I added a couple cloves of garlic and didn't use the water to steam the leeks because I had so many, they gave off enough liquid to steam themselves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      Yum! We really enjoyed this over steamed broccoli as a side dish. I used half sour cream and half cream as suggested by others and a little extra cheese. Very creamy and easy to make. I will definatley make this again! Thanks JustJansS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2010

      It was my first time eating creamy leeks. I used half and half cream. I loved the taste and I will do this recipe very often. I'm used to do leek soup so that's a nice change of what to do with leeks. Thanks JustJanS :) Made for Aus/NZ Recipe Swap October 2010 Group Aussie Rum Balls

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      These were okay. I had to drain water out of the pan, otherwise the sauce would've been non-existent. I did end up adding a good amount of salt and a healthy splash of hot sauce, as the dish was a bit bland. Serving this on rice really helped. I love onion, but this was really like a big bowl of onion. Glad I tried it, but probably won't make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      This was a first for me cooking leeks, too! I followed the recipe exactly, except I added extra parmesan cheese. It was good~~hubby gave it a 7/10

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2009

      Such a wonderful recipe! My husband and I love this over rice. There is never any leftovers!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      Yum. :) I used 3 leek, another tbsp of water & based on other people's suggestion (and love) of sour cream, I used 1/4 cup each of cream & sour cream. It served the 2 of us perfectly as a main dish over fusilli pasta and we think It'd be really nice made with some sliced mushies in there too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2007

      I loved them, although I am the only one in my family who did. I will be making these again and I won't have to share!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Actually this was really nice but even though I'd changed the quantities there wasn't quite enough for 5 people. I served this with macaroni so next time I make it I'd probably do the amount for 6 or 7. Thanks for the nice meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Parmesan Leeks

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.7
     
    Calories from Fat 126
    75%
    Total Fat 14.0 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.7 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 46.2 mg
    15%
    Sodium 140.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.4 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites