Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Crusty Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Crusty Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 06, 2004

      My husband and I enjoyed these wonderful sandwiches today for lunch. Very tasty and I loved the flavor of the Parmesan/butter mixture. I forgot to put the basil in but I did use it as a garnish. I constructed ours a little differently....I buttered the first slices of bread, laid them in a cold skillet, then assembled the rest of the sandwich right in the pan. Saved the hassle of trying to butter both sides of a fully constructed sandwich. Thanks Mimi, I will for sure make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      Super sandwich! Second time I made it I got even more creative. I used all of your ingredients and also added 1/2 cup (packed) grated whole-milk mozzarella cheese, reducing the jack cheese. Also added about 5 tablespoons chopped and drained roasted red peppers from the jar. I love this with a good sour dough bread. Thanks for posting Mimi.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2012

      FABULOUS! That sums it up. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I'll never make a plain ham and cheese sandwich again! This was wonderful, especially the crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      What a fabulous idea! I loved the nutty flavor from the parmesan in the butter as it grilled up. I followed your recipe exactly and it was fab. Thank you for a great summer meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This is very good! Love the crusty outside of sandwich. Will definitely do this again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Hi Mimi, what a recipe! It was delish! However, I pushed the envelope one step further! We added a poached egg on top of the sandwich! It was awesome! :) I didn't use the basil (personal preference) but used some flat leaf parsley. We used rye bread, montery jack and serrano ham. Thank you so much for sharing - I should have written sooner but forgot, sorry :( Diane :) BTW - we also had a potato soup (one of my throw together recipes)! Again, thanks for sharing, Diane :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2008

      I followed the directions to the letter and this turned out great! I used a deli sour dough bread. This also makes a great grilled cheese if you don't have the meat or other ingredients. I served it with Super Simple, but Oh so Tasty Tomato Soup. This sandwich is so good I've made it several times! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      Made these on thick slices of sour dough bread and had along with a garlic dill pickle for lunch. Excellent! Thanks Mimi! Mike

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Oh. Wow. Seriously such amazing comfort food. I made mine using a smoked Virginia ham, fresh sourdough and served it with Roasted Tomato Soup. This was enjoyed by DH and I, which is a rare treat. Thanks MiMI!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I used Havarti cheese instead of montery jack, and used honey ham. LOVED the dijon mustard!!!! Served this with Crusty Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Great lunch treat! Very nice way to dress up grilled ham and cheese. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I served this with Restaurant-style Cream of Tomato Soup #101719 and we had the comfort-food dinner to end all comfort-food dinners! Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      I never would have thought to do this, I would have been afraid of burning the parm, but I decreased this recipe to 1 serving, and had it today for lunch. Wonderful!! I am dreaming of all the possible fillings I can use with this now! Thank you so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2005

      Excellent grilled sandwich. I used sour dough bread and added the garlic to the butter/parm mixture. I was generous with the Dijon mustard and was very happy with the tangy bite it provided for the flavor of the sandwich. I love grilled cheese, and this variation was tops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      This was an excellent sandwich! Easy to put together and great flavor combination. We used whole wheat (low carb) bread, virginia ham and spicy brown mustard along with dried basil..the more ham the better and the parmesan butter gives it a nice nutty flavor. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Crusty Grilled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (219 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 543.6
     
    Calories from Fat 305
    56%
    Total Fat 33.9 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 19.2 g
    96%
    Cholesterol 110.1 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1459.5 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 29.6 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites