Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Emaw's Pepper Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Emaw's Pepper Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2003

      This is one of my favorite things that my Emaw makes!! Thanks mom for posting it :) It is sooooo flavorful and moist! I like it best with banana peppers because I do not like it too hot. I have also made it and added chopped onion and topped it with sliced cheese. You have to try it! Thanks mom!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      Riff thanks for hooking me up with this one. I was lucky enough to find a fresh crop of hatch chilies at the market. I used two hatch chilies, 2 banana peppers and 1/2 a hot red pepper for heat. The colors were beautiful. I did have to add a little chicken broth while it was baking but maybe only a few tablespoons. This is really delish! I served it along side grilled pork chops. Tell mama see is famous at my house! We love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      DD and DH really like this. I used low fat cream of mushroom, 1% milk and brown rice. I had a large fresh banana pepper and also part of a red bell pepper and part of a green bell pepper. So I just diced them all and threw them in. The directions didn't saw if I should cover it or not when baking, so I put the cover on. It wasn't near finished after 40 minutes so I took the cover off and put it back in the oven until it was done. Not sure what the total cooking time was, but it worked out ok as my main dish finished about the same time. Next time I'll know not to cover it. Served with Broccoli and Meat Loaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2007

      I had a little bit of trouble getting the rice to cook it took about an hour and 15 minutes, I ended up covering it the last 30 minutes, but once it cooked it was really very good. I used a blend of sweet peppers and threw in a half of a habanero and it was very tasty. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Potentially a great recipe for me, but I was disappointed to discover that it was NOT possible to use brown rice. It would not become tender- I ended up having the casserole in the oven for over an hour and a half, often adding more milk. Very frustrating, and it never did cook completely. I gave up and served it when it was just edible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This was a very creamy, comforting dish, that I will be sure to make again! It used up some of the banana peppers I have growing and the DBF said that this was very good for rice (he is a rice hater:)). I have already passed this recipe along to my mom with some peppers, of course!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      I just made this for dinner and it was very yummy! I made a few changes. I used a can of chedder cheese soup, only 4 slices of cheese and red and yellow bell pepper. I also added a shake or two of ranch powder in stead of salt. I couln't stop eating it. Boy I am on carb overload, but soooo worth it! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2004

      This is a simple and delicious side dish we have begin making often. With Hatch chilies in season, we have had it most recently with a mix of Hatch and banana peppers. Thanks to you and Emaw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2004

      riffraff,I Have many loves in food,but I believe that Rice is probably my favorite of all,I can make so many dishes with rice.This is a real good recipe,Sometimes I just cook rice and add a can of mushroom soup for lunch,but this is really a great dressed up version of that.I really liked this,Thanks,Darlene

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Emaw's Pepper Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 380.2
     
    Calories from Fat 120
    31%
    Total Fat 13.4 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 6.4 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 26.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 933.1 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites