9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of my favorite things that my Emaw makes!! Thanks mom for posting it :) It is sooooo flavorful and moist! I like it best with banana peppers because I do not like it too hot. I have also made it and added chopped onion and topped it with sliced cheese. You have to try it! Thanks mom!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach July 04, 2003

Riff thanks for hooking me up with this one. I was lucky enough to find a fresh crop of hatch chilies at the market. I used two hatch chilies, 2 banana peppers and 1/2 a hot red pepper for heat. The colors were beautiful. I did have to add a little chicken broth while it was baking but maybe only a few tablespoons. This is really delish! I served it along side grilled pork chops. Tell mama see is famous at my house! We love it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Just Cher September 02, 2003

DD and DH really like this. I used low fat cream of mushroom, 1% milk and brown rice. I had a large fresh banana pepper and also part of a red bell pepper and part of a green bell pepper. So I just diced them all and threw them in. The directions didn't saw if I should cover it or not when baking, so I put the cover on. It wasn't near finished after 40 minutes so I took the cover off and put it back in the oven until it was done. Not sure what the total cooking time was, but it worked out ok as my main dish finished about the same time. Next time I'll know not to cover it. Served with Broccoli and Meat Loaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 05, 2012

I had a little bit of trouble getting the rice to cook it took about an hour and 15 minutes, I ended up covering it the last 30 minutes, but once it cooked it was really very good. I used a blend of sweet peppers and threw in a half of a habanero and it was very tasty. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chad's_gurl January 29, 2007

Potentially a great recipe for me, but I was disappointed to discover that it was NOT possible to use brown rice. It would not become tender- I ended up having the casserole in the oven for over an hour and a half, often adding more milk. Very frustrating, and it never did cook completely. I gave up and served it when it was just edible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn August 27, 2006

This was a very creamy, comforting dish, that I will be sure to make again! It used up some of the banana peppers I have growing and the DBF said that this was very good for rice (he is a rice hater:)). I have already passed this recipe along to my mom with some peppers, of course!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beverly292 July 24, 2006

I just made this for dinner and it was very yummy! I made a few changes. I used a can of chedder cheese soup, only 4 slices of cheese and red and yellow bell pepper. I also added a shake or two of ranch powder in stead of salt. I couln't stop eating it. Boy I am on carb overload, but soooo worth it! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hcdspot74 May 28, 2006

This is a simple and delicious side dish we have begin making often. With Hatch chilies in season, we have had it most recently with a mix of Hatch and banana peppers. Thanks to you and Emaw.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
moxie August 18, 2004

riffraff,I Have many loves in food,but I believe that Rice is probably my favorite of all,I can make so many dishes with rice.This is a real good recipe,Sometimes I just cook rice and add a can of mushroom soup for lunch,but this is really a great dressed up version of that.I really liked this,Thanks,Darlene

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers August 04, 2004
Emaw's Pepper Rice