Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Feta Cheese, Kale & Red Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Feta Cheese, Kale & Red Onions

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 19, 2011

      This was amazing. I bought some kale produced locally and decided to make this. I did blanch the kale and found it easy to do. I just used my metal colander and put the colander in the kale in the hot water and then pulled out the colander and cooled it. Feta cheese was a nice foil for this vegetable but really all of the flavors together were wonderful. A definite do over for this healthy veggie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      Great, versatile recipe. The only reason I didn't give it FIVE stars is because it calls for broth, which seems silly when you have perfectly good cooking water from the kale. As to versatility, it's one where you really don't have to measure anything: I used a small bit of a red onion that I had left over, more garlic, no prepared broth, and about double the feta, just to clear another item out of my refrigerator. It was delicious, and looks appealing. I would make this recipe for a potluck anytime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2012

      I'm giving it 4 stars rather then 3 because I think I made some adjustments I shouldn't have. I had made a kale recipe previously and scorched it because it didn't have enough liquid, so I added more (too much). I also added some red beans like another reviewer suggested for the protein. Next time I will just make hopping john on the side. Love the nutrition and flavor of kale, This is a keeper, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2012

      I, like a few other reviewers, skipped the initial boil and blanch, because we like crunchy veggies. I otherwise made it as is, except to add a little less broth, and I added in some red beans for protein, served it over rice for a complete, healthy vegetarian meal. Thanks for suggesting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Definitely a dish I would do again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This was fabulous! I, too, added kale in step 6. I never bought, tasted or cooked with kale, so it was a treat on all levels. Will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2009

      I hate to be the lone voice of not such rave reviews. I just didn't find this all that tasty. I agree that an increase in feta might have helped. Following the suggestion of others, I put the kale in raw at Step 6 and it cooked just fine. I just didn't care for the taste of this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      This was amazing! I did what other reviewers suggested and just added the kale at step 6 to keep it from getting too limp. It worked perfectly. I love feta so I doubled it. The garlic and onions fuse with the flavor of the kale perfectly! Will definitely make again, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      My first time with kale and what a pleasure. I didn't blanch it first as we do not like soft vegetables here. I also doubled the feta as I was "scared" of the reaction of the non veggie eaters in my house - but it wasn't necessary. I will definitely serve this again - thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      While I found this to be very good, I thought it could use a bit of "tangy"--some freshly squeezed lemon juice perhaps. (I wish I had had some on hand so I could have tried it.) I steamed the kale rather than blanching it. I also added a handful (or two) of toasted pine nuts, which I thought was a nice addition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2008

      Bergy.....true to most of anything you post, this one it right on target. Kale is a fave green of mine, and it's "terribly" nutritious. I think it's a shame that that with this recipe, like so many others 'Zaar just can't "nutrionalize" simple ingredients. But, you can get them from the product, and kinda deduce the appropriate nutrional values. Thanks for posting this, as it's simple, easy to buy for, and truly upscale nutrion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      This is only the second time that I've used Kale. I'm trying to expand our green vegetables intake. I also added the uncooked Kale at step 6. I had some leftover so I froze them and will see how they re-heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      This was my first time to cook with kale and this recipe was a good one to start with. I think I undercooked it slightly, but it still tasted okay. I made this with Hopping John and cornbread for New Years supper. Thanks for sharing this...I'll have to make greens more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      I only had bleu chesse on hand but it still tasted great-- my boys wouldn't even attempt the green stuff so I had the chance to eat half of this myself! Thanks for an easy recipe, my first time making anything with kale

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Yum! We bought a share in an organic farm which resulted in an abundance of veggies that I had never prepared, among them kale. This was a delicious way to use it. Even my 5-year-old daughter loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      This was fabulous Bergy! I followed the recipe to the letter and certainly was not disappointed. It was so easy and fast to make as well. You can bet I will be making this often, low carb and healthy; you can't go wrong with that. Thanks for sharing a new option for kale!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Delish! I almost left the onions out, glad I didn't. The flavors blended wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      What a great idea for a different blend of flavors. I like my the heck cooked out of my greens, so I cooked them for a significantly longer period of time and pressed the excess liquid out of them in a colander.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This is fabulous!! Kale is such a nutritious and beautiful vegetable that I have tried many recipes to find one that is not only edible but delicious, and this is it!! I left out the broth as we prefer our greens dry rather than mushy. Highly recommended.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2006

      Fantastic. Used low fat feta cheese. The whole thing was tasty and it was a quick and easy side for tonight's dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe, we are always looking for yummy ways to prepare kale.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Feta Cheese, Kale & Red Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 110.9
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    32%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 8.3 mg
    2%
    Sodium 155.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 5.6 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    reduced-sodium vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes