25 Reviews

This was amazing. I bought some kale produced locally and decided to make this. I did blanch the kale and found it easy to do. I just used my metal colander and put the colander in the kale in the hot water and then pulled out the colander and cooled it. Feta cheese was a nice foil for this vegetable but really all of the flavors together were wonderful. A definite do over for this healthy veggie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ March 19, 2011

Boiling kale seems like a waste of nutritients. I sautée the garlic, then add kale and sautée for another 3 minutes, add chili paste, stir nicely for a minute. And then I add cubed feta. Another stir so it heats up. And this is the yummiest lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blog January 11, 2015

Great, versatile recipe. The only reason I didn't give it FIVE stars is because it calls for broth, which seems silly when you have perfectly good cooking water from the kale. As to versatility, it's one where you really don't have to measure anything: I used a small bit of a red onion that I had left over, more garlic, no prepared broth, and about double the feta, just to clear another item out of my refrigerator. It was delicious, and looks appealing. I would make this recipe for a potluck anytime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polarmailbabe January 04, 2014

I'm giving it 4 stars rather then 3 because I think I made some adjustments I shouldn't have. I had made a kale recipe previously and scorched it because it didn't have enough liquid, so I added more (too much). I also added some red beans like another reviewer suggested for the protein. Next time I will just make hopping john on the side. Love the nutrition and flavor of kale, This is a keeper, thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Mother Earth August 11, 2012

I, like a few other reviewers, skipped the initial boil and blanch, because we like crunchy veggies. I otherwise made it as is, except to add a little less broth, and I added in some red beans for protein, served it over rice for a complete, healthy vegetarian meal. Thanks for suggesting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunana1 April 17, 2012

Definitely a dish I would do again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmericanMag February 09, 2012

This was fabulous! I, too, added kale in step 6. I never bought, tasted or cooked with kale, so it was a treat on all levels. Will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ValFosburgh June 21, 2009

I hate to be the lone voice of not such rave reviews. I just didn't find this all that tasty. I agree that an increase in feta might have helped. Following the suggestion of others, I put the kale in raw at Step 6 and it cooked just fine. I just didn't care for the taste of this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NM Patricia April 13, 2009

This was amazing! I did what other reviewers suggested and just added the kale at step 6 to keep it from getting too limp. It worked perfectly. I love feta so I doubled it. The garlic and onions fuse with the flavor of the kale perfectly! Will definitely make again, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DCKiki March 22, 2009

My first time with kale and what a pleasure. I didn't blanch it first as we do not like soft vegetables here. I also doubled the feta as I was "scared" of the reaction of the non veggie eaters in my house - but it wasn't necessary. I will definitely serve this again - thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree June 05, 2008
Feta Cheese, Kale & Red Onions