17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Blue cheese plus mushrooms, heaven.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julong January 30, 2013

Thankyou for posting this delicious burger. I had some leftover blue cheese that I wasn't quite sure what to do with and I am so glad that I tried your recipe. I hope you get many more reviews this is a keeper! I served it with parmesan zucchini sticks...so good. I added a little bit of steak seasoning to the burgers and on my buns I used butter lettuce, tomato slices and thousand island dressing....thanks again!!!!!:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Decadent1 November 14, 2010

I added fresh garlic to the beef mixture and also the cream cheese mixture, I have made something similar to this in the past but without horseradish, I loved that addition, we really enjoyed these tonight with your grilled zucchini recipe, thanks Breezer!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen July 24, 2010

These were amazing!! I halved the recipe and because I couldn't find bleu cheese, I used Gorgonzola. The cheese mixture alone could be a great veggie dip! I also used Portabella mushrooms to top them off. Thanks for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding June 26, 2010

Really yummy burgers! I have to confess, I didn't measure all of the ingredients exactly, and likely ended up with more horseradish and cheese than called for, but we really enjoyed these burgers. The only significant change I made was not to included onion in my filling. Instead, I sliced a whole onion and added it to the mushrooms, so we had the onion on the outside instead of the inside. We also opted to serve these open faces on half slices of artisan bread instead of buns. I'll definitely make these again. Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH May 31, 2010

This was a delicious burger! We really enjoyed the cream cheese/blue cheese (we used gorgonzola) stuffing and the horseradish sauce gave it the perfect zing. DH claims he is not a fan of blue cheese and he even enjoyed these burgers. We used shiitakes for the mushrooms. We easily halved all ingredients to suit for 4. Thanks for posting! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr. Jenny May 28, 2010

This was a great burger. I loved the mushrooms and added more than called for. The only thing that we adjusted was we like our blue cheese strong, so I orginally had doubled the amount in the cheese mix and in the end we still landed up adding more. Made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morgainegeiser May 23, 2010

Awesome burgers! I dcleidn't have horseradish sauce (or this recipe in front of me while preparing dinner) so I left it out. I mixed minced onion and garlic into the beef with some hamburger seasoning and mixed cream cheese and blue cheese for the filling. Steak sauce topped off our burgers and they were scrumptious... Thanks breezermom :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee July 23, 2009

This was quite the conversation piece. I made them so big that my husband wondered if I had asked him to grill meatloaves. We cut them in half and throughout the entire meal we couldn't express enough good words. I'm hoping in years to come my kids will talk fondly of the day we ate those most delectable mammoth hamburgers.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng July 09, 2009

Fabulous Burgers! I loved the filling combo and may even up the horseradish next time. The blue cheese gave it just the right tang. I also fried up a few slices of bacon that was delicious added to the burger. Made for Family Picks ZWT5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda. June 14, 2009
Grilled Blue Cheese Burgers