Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Grilled Tomato & Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Grilled Tomato & Cheese

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on August 03, 2009

      just about my favorite thing ever.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I don't think I've ever made a recipe as quickly after finding it as I did this one - and I was not disappointed! This was an excellent sandwich! I had to improvise just a bit to use what I had (yellow cheddar & slices of small tomatoes not large ones). I used spicy globe basil that I grew from seed :) I will be doing this one again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      oh oh so good! I even went to the market to get a perfect tomato :) The sharp cheddar basil combo was ideal and i loved my lunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Yum, the white sharp white cheddar cheese really upped the cheesey flavor! Thanks! Made for Zaar Stars!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      We made this based on Chef #383346's review and really enjoyed it. We used fresh mozzerella, basil, and roma tomatoes on rye bread. Buddha felt it was perfect. Bird added salt and black pepper to spice it up a bit. Using fresh basil makes a world of difference. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      A wonderfully flavoursome brunch. I halved the recipe for two of us and made these yummy sandwiches on crusty ciabatta. I always love cheese and tomato sandwiches and the chopped basil - and having really flavoursome tomatoes - is just SO essential if you want to get the best from this recipe. I also added some garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper. A delicious sandwich which we'll certainly be enjoying another time. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Delicious change of pace from a traditional grilled cheese. I loved the bright flavor of the basil mingling with the sharp cheddar (I had to use a blend of white and yellow as the mix was all that was available at the market I went to). The fresh sweetness of the tomatoes completed the melody perfectly! Thank you for posting. **Made for Aussie Tag 2008**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This was part of a delicious Saturday Afternoon lunch. Used potato bread, american cheese, garden tomatoes and garden basil. I shredded the basil and toasted them on a griddle. These were delicious and satisfying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2008

      I made just the one sandwich and with the fresh sweet basil freshly picked from the garden, the sharp vintage cheddar cheese and juicy tomatoe slices and crunchy wholemeal sliced bread from toasting - perfection. Thank you Lainey6605, made for Edition 5 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      I too chopped the basil and made as directed otherwise. Good sandwich with juicey tomatoes and gooey cheese. Thanks Lainey. Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2008

      This was so yummy. I had only mozzarella. But it was great and melted to perfection. But a sharp cheese would be great also. I chopped the basil leaves like Lori suggested. I brushed the bread (white) with butter. That gave the grilled cheese a nice taste. I used roma tomatoes from my garden. Thanks Lainey. Made for Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Took Lori's tip & chopped the basil but otherwise followed the recipe & had a VERY NICE SANDWICH! I did use a heavy winter wheat bread ~ The seeds in such bread gives it an additional boost! Thanks for sharing! [Tagged, made & reviewed in Please Review My Recipe]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      What a tasty sandwich! Except for the bread (I only had 8 grain) I had everything on hand. The thing I'll change next time, is to coarsely chop the basil. I found when biting into the sammie, the whole basil leaves came with the bite and then there wasn't any left for the rest of it. Does that make sense? LoL! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Grilled Tomato & Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (252 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 491.2
     
    Calories from Fat 279
    56%
    Total Fat 31.0 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 18.9 g
    94%
    Cholesterol 89.4 mg
    29%
    Sodium 786.0 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites