Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Hobo Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hobo Casserole

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2004

      If Hobo's eat like this, I'll gladly join their ranks !! This is wonderful !! Hearty but not heavy, this recipe is a 5 star winner. Simple to make and delicious to eat--I'll be hanging on to this recipe for a long time to come! I made the recipe as written, using the optional onions (I love onions!)--the dish turned out perfectly!! Next time I make this, I think it might be neat to add some spices to the hamburger, like dry onion soup mix, meatloaf seasoning, etc..just to switch it up so it can be different every time! Thank you so much for a very satisfying and tasty supper! Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This is great!! Other than using shredded cheese instead of slices I pretty much followed the recipe as written. My one other little adjustment was to top each individual serving with the french-fried onions instead of the whole casserole--this is only for leftover purposes so the french-fried onions wouldn't get mushy when re-heated. Love this recipe, can't wait to make it again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2009

      A real winner! My husband and I both loved it. It also appealed to me because of not having to brown the meat first, a great plus! I freeze 1 lb packages of hamburger in freezer bags so it was already flat and fit the pan perfectly. I followed your recipe exactly. My husband just kept going on about how good it was and to definitely make it again, which I will.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2008

      This is very good! I did brown the meat lightly first to drain off some of the saturated fat. Next time I think I will also add some frozen peas and carrots on top of the onions and before the potatoes. Another time I may try tomato sauce instead of cream of mushroom. So versatile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I made this because it sounded easy and I was being lazy. Next time I made it, it was because it is good. LOL I used cream of chicken soup because that is what I had on hand. I added Lawry's season salt to each layer because some have said it was a bit bland. I diced the onions and cube the potatoes. I sauted the onions before adding them. The second time I made it, I did everything up to step 7. Then refrigerated it overnight. Took it out and warmed it, topping with the fried onions the last five minutes to brown. It gets the full five stars for the easy prep and being so great for a make ahead dish. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2012

      I simply loved this casserole, I put the hamburger in a cast iron skillet and the rest of the
      ingredients, didn't have the onions, but since there was onion inside...it turned out just fine.
      The meat ended up like I had precooked it, nicely browned.

      By the way I cook everything in my two cast iron skillets, from this casserole to Irish Soda Bread...I hardly use all my other pans..since I realized that these skillets are soooo versatile. ( I love all in one, from the top of the stove to the oven ) OK...sorry...I got off track.

      I will be making this casserole often, its too easy and tasty for words. Next time I will put
      mushrooms and some other veggies...like celery and carrots, and Greek seasonings. There
      is no end in what you can do, to make it taste different.

      Thanks Teresa

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2012

      A delicious and versatile recipe. I made a few changes to lower the fat content. I used ground turkey instead of ground beef, reduced-fat Swiss cheese slices instead of the American cheese, and 98% fat free mushroom soup. I did "splurge" with the French's fried onions. The turkey was moist and flavorful, and no one believed it was a lower fat dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      We really loved this dish and there were no leftovers. I didnt have lean ground beef (or ground turkey) so I browned the beef slightly first, breaking it up in large chunks to get the grease out. I also seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic & onion powder. I also only had low fat cream of mushroom soup so I doctored it up with 3 cloves garlic, salt, pepper, 1tb soy, splash of Worcestershire sauce. I sprinkled on shredded cheese (instead of using american cheese) in the last half hour of cooking and didnt try the fried onions this time. Thanks for a yummy meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      Got this recipe from Aunt NeNe. Great cook! I have only made this a couple of times, but it is simple to put together, and I always have these ingredients on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2012

      Vegetarian Hobo - made this substituting the beef with 1/2 TVP (textured vegetable protein) and 1/2 bulgar wheat and it was very tasty - also very easy to put together for a quick and hearty meal. I'll be keeping this recipe - Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2012

      Hubby and son loved it! Easy to make and tasty, made as written except using extra sharp cheddar(what we had) and a good sprinkle of garlic powder. Husband asked to make again soon. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2013

      This is so bad for you but so good! My family liked it! I think an hour and half is a little bit too long. The ground beef was a little dark on the bottom but then I don't know if the potatoes would of cooked all the way. I had to spoon the top layer of grease off the top before I put the french onions on. Thats probably because I used shredded cheddar cheese. Couldn't imagine using american slices. Yuck! That was the only change I made. Ate with green beans on the side. This will be a once in awhile go to recipe for me. Only because I know its not the healthiest. But it was good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2013

      I didn't have potatoes (???) so used some instant mashed potatoes. Also seasoned the meat a little with onion powder and adobo seasoning. Fingers crossed! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      Super easy and yummy. I can't believe how fast this goes together. I used salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder on the meat and potato layers. I used Campbell's Cream of Mushroom Soup with Roasted Garlic and it was a good choice. Will make again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2013

      How have I lived this long and not heard of this casserole? Like some others I cooked the meat first and drained off the grease. Followed the recipe other than adding some fresh green beans and fresh mushrooms on top of the sliced onions. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2013

      This was good but seemed to be lacking seasoning even with the salt and pepper added to meat. If I make again will definetly add more seasoning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      Oh my! This casserole is so good. Not sure if I was just really hungry or it was really good. Very easy to make. I eyeballed the milk and intentionally put in at least a third of a cup. I also did not have French fried onions, but the onion I put in was plenty. Not a big fan of empty calories anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2013

      Made this last night for the whole family. Everyone loved it, all the way down to my grandbaby! I did dice the potatoes instead of slicing (didn't read the recipe correctly), and added a can of diced green chilis and a can of french onion soup also. Ended up delicious!! Easy and popular recipe, will make again and again I'm sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I made this dish tonight. My Husband gave it two thumbs up...which is saying a lot because he is hard to please! I can not remember the last meal he had that sort of reaction to. I tweaked the recipe a bit. I made it with ground turkey, precooked it a bit and added minced garlic & onion to the meat, I also seasoned the meat with Sazon, I also used shredded cheese (velvetta & two kinds of cheddar). Lastly, I used Cream Of Potato Soup, because neither of us like mushrooms.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2013

      Great dish, goes on the menu rotation, I love comfort food. Even SO loved and wants it again. I did have a little trouble with the potatoes not getting soft, I had taken some out of the pan and realized the potaoes were not done. Tried to microwave, didn't work. Moved the potatoes into the sauce where I had taken out the meat and back into the oven for another 30 min. Finally soft. Will parboil potatoes next time I make it, I did add peas on top of the onions and meat. Was great. Nice one pan meal. Thank you ms_bold for some delicious comfort food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hobo Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (223 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.2
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    43%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 83.8 mg
    27%
    Sodium 757.6 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.9 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.6 g
    10%
    Protein 29.2 g
    58%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    French-fried onions

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites