Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Hully Gully (Frito Chili Salad) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hully Gully (Frito Chili Salad)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2012

      LOVE this salad! :) I used a can of chili. skipped the onions, and used low fat ranch instead of sour cream. SO YUMMY! Even my toddler ate this salad happily. I think next time I might add jalapenos to the top of mine b/c I like extra spicy! It's a keeper... already put the leftover chili up so I can enjoy this tomorrow! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Thought I had reviewed this, so sorry. I have made this a couple of times with leftover chili & we really enjoy it. Easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Delicious!! I used homemade chili and tortilla chips (not a fan of Fritos). We loved it! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This was a perfect recipe for me to use my leftover homemade chili in. We all loved this no fuss, Saturday night treat for dinner. I used Fritos and followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for posting!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Wow! This is a cross between a taco salad and a chili-cheese frito pie! I really liked it....especially adding the garlic to the sour cream for that little something special. Added to the fact that this is easy to throw together makes for a great recipe. Made for Fall PAC 2009! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Excellent and fast meal for families! My DD had two plates and DH really liked it. We've had Frito pies before but with the addition of the salad ingredients, this is a "guilty" pleasure. Thanks, A Good Thing, my DD was pleased to know what "Hully Gully" meant. Now she's going to show off her "expertise" to all her friends, I'm sure! LOL. Made for my teammate and new friend--A Good Thing--Genies of Gourmet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2009

      We ate this for lunch and it was delicious, kept to the recipe except used a vegetarian chilli. Your right one plate is never enough, I was looking for more but stop myself. Little Miss (DD) really enjoyed making it on her own. Thank you A Good Thing for your contribution to the Australia and New Zealand Food Trail (A)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2007

      My family enjoyed making and eating these. My kids liked that they could "make their own" dinner. I used my own chili recipe but followed the rest of the recipe as written. A nice, quick dinner that was enjoyed by the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2007

      Yippy - I found it!! A neighbor calls her "taco salad" that she makes with chili Hully Gully just like you do - and it is great!! It's a great meal to serve guests with kids because everyone can build their own. Thanks for posting - I couldn't find anyone else that I know calls it this fun name :) Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      Had this for lunch today -fun twist on taco salad!! I used a bagged salad mix I have on hand, Fritos, grape tomatoes, red onion, Tostitos hot salsa and Mexican 4 cheese blend to make it fast. Love the combo of flavors - nice tip to flavor the sour cream! I didn't want to thaw out my chili, so I used a can of chili, but will make this again as a family dinner when I DO thaw it out! Thanks for posting!! **Went to market tag**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      This is a great salad that everyone will love. It's fun and easy, because everyone can build their own salad to their own liking. We particularly liked the fact that the chili melts the cheese nicely. Well done, A Good Thing. This is a winner and I can wait to serve it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      A fun & easy dinner. I used Chili Con Carne With Beans for the chili. We'll definitely have this again, as it was so good. Made for ZWT3. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      This was a great chili salad. I totally was into to making this, the family wanted something really fun, frolicy, and wonderful tasting. This is it. So simple, but what a pleasure to have. I had my own garden salsa, and I added some sliced hot peppers to the top, Wonderful, and I thank you for posting! Made for *ZWT3 07*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      OH WOW - those were the first words that Malcolm said when I served this for supper this evening! This was a great combination of flavours, tastes, textures and spiciness! GORGEOUS!!! We both loved it! I used Gruyere cheese and creme fraiche.....and some home-made salsa I had. MUCH better than nachos - an easy and relaxed supper dish. Thanks PEGGY SUE! FT:-) Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I made this recipe for my family on Sunday. I used one of my own homemade chili recipes and followed this recipe exactly, including how to layer the bowls. My only mistake was to put too much garlic in the sour cream and I overwhelmed the flavor. Luckily my DD tasted her’s before anyone else so I was able to correct the problem by adding more sour cream. I cut this recipe in half for the 4 of us (all adults) but only needed 1 tomato and about a half a bag of Fritos. This one-bowl meal was a HUGE hit with everyone in the family and we all loved it! Next time I make it (probably next week) I think I will try the Chili Cheese Fritos for some extra kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      My kids and I thought WE invented this back in the '70's, we called it "Frito Boats". Used hamburger meat seasoned with taco seasoning, instead of the chili, but rest of the recipe is identical. Thanks for sharing. This recipe is OUTSTANDING. A great crowd pleaser. This is perfect. Rewards from Angelcook, Manvel, Texas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2007

      I loved this - a combination of Frito pie and salad. I only made one serving of this for lunch and can't wait to make it again for my grand kids. Thanks A Good Thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hully Gully (Frito Chili Salad)

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 588.9
     
    Calories from Fat 336
    57%
    Total Fat 37.3 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 20.2 g
    101%
    Cholesterol 109.3 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1850.1 mg
    77%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 13.4 g
    53%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    32%
    Protein 30.9 g
    61%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes