Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / John Wayne's Green Chilie Squares Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    John Wayne's Green Chilie Squares

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2010

      This was really yummy. Like breakfast for dinner. I took your suggestion and added the green onions. I also used only about a third of the cheese and salt (this still looked like a ton of cheese to us!). Three people ate this for a meal with sides.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Only made half a recipe but is very good. Quick and easy to make. Served it with Mexican-Style Chicken Kiev and Mexican Rice. Delicious meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Made this for a quick lunch, and wow, this is ever good. Tag - a - long little doggies. Yeeahaa! Easy to throw together, and you can't go wrong. I didn't have green chili's so I diced up some roasted red peppers and used in place. On the red peppers, I put a bit of cayenne pepper and a bit of paprika to give them a little kick. Absolutely divine! Added so grape tomatoes to the top and also some fresh spinach leaves. YUM! Thank you! Made for *I Recommend* tag game February 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2009

      This was such a simple and delicious dish! I omitted the salt and used pepper instead. I served it with two different southwestern style salads (a bean salad and a corn salad) and also shredded some chicken cooked with taco seasoning on the side. It was such a great dinner. I am looking forward to having the leftovers for lunch. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Very tasty! I wanted more of a main dish, so I added about 1/2 pound of ground beef. I fried it up, drained it and added it before the cheese. Also, I had two grilled jalapenos and chopped those up. Add some adobo for a little more flavor. With the ground beef, this was a meal in itself. Serve along with pinto beans or sliced avocado and tomatoes. This is a great recipe. From one Texan to another, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      This is really similar to a recipe my mom has made for years, although hers makes more of a custard topping on the chilies. She uses 2 C. milk, 1/3 C. flour, and 3 eggs...and no tomato. To be honest, I think it's even better the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2005

      We sure enjoyed this dish. I used fresh roasted green chilies(I bought a bag from a guy that roasts Hatch chilies on the corner this time of year). After I sprinkled on the cheese, I did add two chopped green onions. This is a keeper! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      Served this as an appetizer at a party and boy what a hit. Very good. Thank you! Margie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      This will become a regular at my house. yuuuum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for John Wayne's Green Chilie Squares

    Serving Size: 1 (182 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 383.5
     
    Calories from Fat 261
    68%
    Total Fat 29.1 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 189.9 mg
    63%
    Sodium 727.4 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 24.2 g
    48%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites