8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a nice, quick alternative to Ziti! So easy to put together and has a very nice flavor! If you have no Monterey Jack Cheese on hand, Mozzarella or Provolone, I'm sure would work wonderfully with this! Serve it with a tossed green salad and crispy bread. Thanks, Barb, we certainly did enjoy our supper this evening!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev March 22, 2003

The family liked it well enough but felt that the amounts of stewed tomatoes and tomato sauce were overkill, drowning the small amount of pasta and keilbasa the recipe called for...Or perhaps we simply prefer our pasta dishes a little less overwhelmed with it's sauce...UPDATE: This 'casserole' is an excellent candidate for OAMC use...We adjusted the recipe to our taste, doubled the recipe, ate one and froze one...The following week the frozen batch was thawed in the fridge 24 hours in advance and then baked per the recipe's instructions...It survived the freezing process and reheated well...Thank you for showing us a new variation of a Ziti Bake!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas September 26, 2007

I made this for a church potluck and it disappeared! Next time I might try doubling the sausage. Great recipe, thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HMS June 29, 2003

This was very good, although my family wanted more sausage! They are major meat-eaters however. A very enjoyable meal!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Talbot May 21, 2003

great..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mona Hardy December 09, 2012

Made this today for a church social and it was a success. Had to make a few modifications in my dish though. I used penne pasta instead of zita and I didn't have any tomato sauce so I used a 28 oz can of spaghetti sauce instead. Everyone enjoyed it and there were NO left overs. Will have to make this again for the family at home.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maryland Jim April 02, 2011

Hi Barb! Thank you for such an easy, but delicious casserole. My dh was RAVING over it. It was just what the doctor ordered after a very hectic couple of weeks. I did take other reviewers advice and doubled the kielbasa. However, for those of you who double, this makes 2 large trays of casserole. (Leftovers ~ YAY!). Thanks again for a lovely dish Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A la Carte July 09, 2007

Yum! This was really great for a throw-together after work type of meal... very quick and easy. I made a few substitutions for what I had on hand. I used one jar of spaghetti sauce in place of the 3 8oz cans of tomato sauce, and I used a 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes in place of the stewed tomatoes. Even with these changes, this was delicious. I served it with a ceasar salad, garlic bread, and of course, Red Wine!!! Thanks for a great recipe Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shiraz October 25, 2003
Kielbasa Pasta Casserole