14 Reviews

You are NOT kidding.. this is a "killer" recipe! My favorite type of dressing and this is the best I have ever tried!!!! Thanks for posting.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb k December 30, 2002

I tried this out yesterday and we all loved it- even the kids. After studying the recipe further I realized that I had left out the Worcestershire sauce and the Tabasco and decided we should try it again made correctly and see if it needs that extra star!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW January 02, 2003

My husband says this is the best he has ever had. He tried it straight and said "it's alright but then he put it on a salad and said this is awesome. Just a little overpowering I guess. "Not a blue cheese person myself" I will cut down the vinegar by a tsp next time he said the vinegar was a little prominent to him.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma535 November 03, 2003

This dressing is divine. I followed the directions to a T, used Whitestone blue cheese (my favourite) and now have the best blue cheese dressing I have ever tried, thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* September 12, 2003

This is the BEST.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mike McGrew July 20, 2003

Absolutely the best homemade blue cheese dressing recipe I have tried! Omitted the white pepper, used 2 cloves garlic and 4 oz. blue cheese. Terrific!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orca June 24, 2003

This dressing is awesome! It should be called "Serial Killer" Blue cheese dressing. I can't wait to make this with the blue cheese I get from the Wisconsin cheese-maker at my local farmer's market in June. Thanks so much for the recipe, it's already my favorite!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude March 30, 2003

Delicious. I loved this dressing. I ended up using 1 % milk rather than buttermilk, b/c that's what I had on hand. I can only imagine how awesome it would have been with the buttermilk. Delicious!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly January 09, 2013

Update: I discovered I didn't put stars for this recipe. My mistake! I found adding less mayo from the start avoids all the other adjustments I had to make. I cut the mayo in half and then added more to taste rather than adjusting everything else.
===============
This is EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe to a T (normally I don't measure spices, but I did for this) and had to do a little adjusting before adding the blue cheese because it tasted a bit too mayonnaisy for our tastes. It could have been the brand of Mayo I used as I didn't have Kraft on hand (dh's fault - he bought generic mayo , so that could be the reason.) I added more worschestshire, RW vinegar, dry mustard, tobasco and butter milk to douse the strong taste of mayonnaise and used 4 oz of blue cheese. We like a kick or a bite flavor so I added quite a bit more mustard and tobasco, but that is our personal preference. It was FABULOUS on a plain tossed salad. I recco to let in chill in the fridge for several hours to let the flavors blend. It definitely absorbed the blue cheese flavor moreso than if I served it immediately after making it. I have no choice to make this again as dh has already asked for more! As is, we will have enough for salad tonight as well, so for us, it covered 4 bowls of salad.
GREAT! AWESOME! FABULOUS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 August 23, 2011

Should have more stars than%. What fantastic recipe.Like ladyfingers, I could not keep from tasting it.I did use more buttermilk and a little more vinegar. My husband LOVES you for sharing this. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Koechin (Chef) June 19, 2010
Killer Blue Cheese Dressing