Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Kristen's Grilled Cheese and Red Onion Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kristen's Grilled Cheese and Red Onion Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2013

      I really enjoyed this tasty grilled cheese sandwich Lori Mama. It was very satisfying. The sweet red onion and fresh cracked black pepper gives it a nice bite. I used old cheddar but had to use white bread as I am allergic to different grains. This was perfect served with sweet pickles and ketchup. Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Made for I Recommend Tag Game and wowwwwww I am glad I did. I used whole wheat bread and sharp cheddar cheese and what a simple recipe for a delicious sandwich. Next time I am going to saute some onions and then add them to the sandwich....thank you for submitting a great and delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2010

      I had it for breakfast this morning. I used whole-wheat bread. Instead of cheddar cheese, I used emmenthal cheese. I grilled it in my panini pan. So yummy. Thanks Lori :) Made for Holiday tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      Lori, what a winning sammie!!!! Mmm, it tastes sooooooo good! Luv the combination of red onion with cheddar and hearty bread! So filling and satisfying! Mmmm! I used this bread Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread for the sammies and it turned out fabulous. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Lori! I will make it often again, thats for sure. Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game May 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      Great quick sandwich which I made in about 5 minutes! Yummy! Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      I'm a sucker for grilled cheese and this one certainly didn't let me down! I had it for breakfast this morning (I know, I'm weird...) and loved it! I used Dave's Killer 21 Whole Grains Bread, extra sharp cheddar cheese and, because it's hard to break childhood memories, dipped it in ketchup. :) Thanks Kristen and Lori for sharing this great recipe! **Made for Fall PAC 2009**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      wonderful wonderful sandwich! Made a great lunch along with Lemon-Basil Potato Salad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      This was a great sandwich made on wheat toast; I think it would have been even better on the suggested rye! I love grilled cheese and this was an easy, yummy variation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2009

      Another perfect recipe that brings all the work of preparing a meal to a screeching halt. A great, warm you to the bone easy treat to prepare for one and all. I used some homemade country bread - sharp cheddar, and sliced red onion that made this wonderful sandwich for everyone to enjoy. Slathered with unsalted butter and away we went. Right into our stomach! Made for Flower Power June 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2009

      Delicious! I love the addition of red onions with grilled cheese. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Wow- what a surprisingly easy treat! Grilled cheese was on the menu tonight, but I wanted something just a touch different. I did toss my sliced onion rings into the pan as it heated up just to make them a bit tender and boy was that sandwich tasty! I loved the contrast between the salty cheese and the sweet onion..this will be my standard grilled cheese from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      This was very good! Am not a fan of the grilled cheese sandwich but this sandwich won me back over. One change was made thought we had Cheddar cheese (No), so I used smoked provolone yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Great sandwich, I used a wholegrain bread and toasted in the panini press. I used a sharp vintage cheddar and just absolutely loved the taste of the sharp melted cheese with the sweetness of the onion. Thank you Lori Mama, made for Everyday A Holiday.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      This is a very nice twist to the usual grilled cheese! I used rye bread & followed the recipe for A GREAT SANDWICH TREAT! Would also like to try this with a hearty wheat bread! {Tagged, made & reviewed in Everyday Is a Holiday!]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kristen's Grilled Cheese and Red Onion Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.6
     
    Calories from Fat 220
    50%
    Total Fat 24.5 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 68.8 mg
    22%
    Sodium 804.7 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 19.7 g
    39%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes