14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really enjoyed this tasty grilled cheese sandwich Lori Mama. It was very satisfying. The sweet red onion and fresh cracked black pepper gives it a nice bite. I used old cheddar but had to use white bread as I am allergic to different grains. This was perfect served with sweet pickles and ketchup. Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato January 16, 2013

Made for I Recommend Tag Game and wowwwwww I am glad I did. I used whole wheat bread and sharp cheddar cheese and what a simple recipe for a delicious sandwich. Next time I am going to saute some onions and then add them to the sandwich....thank you for submitting a great and delicious recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 26, 2010

I had it for breakfast this morning. I used whole-wheat bread. Instead of cheddar cheese, I used emmenthal cheese. I grilled it in my panini pan. So yummy. Thanks Lori :) Made for Holiday tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette July 01, 2010

Lori, what a winning sammie!!!! Mmm, it tastes sooooooo good! Luv the combination of red onion with cheddar and hearty bread! So filling and satisfying! Mmmm! I used this bread Yeast Free Wholemeal Bread for the sammies and it turned out fabulous. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper with us, Lori! I will make it often again, thats for sure. Made and reviewed for Everyday Is A Holiday Tag Game May 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 29, 2010

Great quick sandwich which I made in about 5 minutes! Yummy! Thanks! Made for Everyday is a Holiday!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 18, 2009

I'm a sucker for grilled cheese and this one certainly didn't let me down! I had it for breakfast this morning (I know, I'm weird...) and loved it! I used Dave's Killer 21 Whole Grains Bread, extra sharp cheddar cheese and, because it's hard to break childhood memories, dipped it in ketchup. :) Thanks Kristen and Lori for sharing this great recipe! **Made for Fall PAC 2009**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 September 12, 2009

This was a great sandwich made on wheat toast; I think it would have been even better on the suggested rye! I love grilled cheese and this was an easy, yummy variation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply June 22, 2009

Another perfect recipe that brings all the work of preparing a meal to a screeching halt. A great, warm you to the bone easy treat to prepare for one and all. I used some homemade country bread - sharp cheddar, and sliced red onion that made this wonderful sandwich for everyone to enjoy. Slathered with unsalted butter and away we went. Right into our stomach! Made for Flower Power June 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm June 03, 2009

Delicious! I love the addition of red onions with grilled cheese. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 24, 2009
Kristen's Grilled Cheese and Red Onion Sandwich