Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Low Carb Green Bean Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Carb Green Bean Casserole

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2009

      The whole family loved these beans! I used half cheddar and half mozzarella. This recipe fits into our low carb lifestyle perfectly....thanks! update...this has quickly become our favorite way to eat veggies! My entire family loves them - including extended family that we've had over for dinner. I always double the recipe and bake it in a 9x13 pan. I never use the mushrooms as I don't like them) and often add about 1/2-1 pound bacon that has been baked til crispy then crumbled. I am making this for both of our Thanksgivings this year. Make sure you cook the celery until it is VERY soft and dice as small as possible so the flavor blends best. I have also added a red/green bell pepper to the dish for extra veggies and it lends a great flavor enhancement. Just dice it small too and saute with the celery and onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      My husband and I love green bean casserole however; the traditional recipe isn't really low in carbs. This recipe was terrific! I chose not to use celery in this dish (the onion were still a tad crunchy so it was an ideal texture), and instead of adding salt I used a teaspoon of soy sauce like my Cambells' green bean casserole calls for. This was rich however; I really liked it this way!!! Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will definately be making often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      The best!! Puts the "dump the cans and heat" version to shame! This is seriously delicious! The second time I made it I used frozen french style green beans and it was even better. Thanks for sharing this I'll make it often. I use the food processor to get the celery and onion chopped very small and they soften up quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2009

      This was a wonderful and tasty side dish!!! Thanks for sharing. It's nice to have options when you are trying to live a low carb lifestyle!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2008

      Sorry, we really didn't like this recipe....very rich and it didn't seem as though the mayo mixture went well with the beans. We'll stick to the traditional cream of mushroom soup method and won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      Nice alternative to the canned soup recipe. This is VERY rich; I think next time I will use half-and-half instead of heavy cream, and light mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2007

      Aweside side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      This recipe is one of the best I have tried on Recipezaar! It was so easy to make, and tasted lovely, and was inexpensive... nothing to change here. My picky son even liked it, and ate some of the mushrooms. Don't fear the fat!!! (After some time on a certain near-starvation diet, this was just what the doctor ordered.) We used pepper jack cheese this time, but I am looking forward to trying all varieties. A great weeknight side dish. For my purposes, this was more like 4 servings than 6 (I typically serve a meat and one veggie - if you serve a starch or second veggie, this might serve 6).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I browned some boneless skinless chicken breast tendeloin strips and added them, it was a complete meal and very good, a good low carb supper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I'm switching to this recipe for green beans. Is everybody on a diet now? Do we all have to be? This is so good, but I did leave out the mushrooms (personal preference). However, I wouldn't suggest that everyone needs to do that. I used cheddar, it's what I had on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2005

      Mercy, I made this for thanksgiving, and it was a huge hit! I loved them - and thank god we had some leftover - yummy! It's not like you claimed they were low calorie - so I could care less! These were delicious, and easy to make, and they are way better than regular green bean casserole! I will totally make my beans this way again! (BTW, the only thing different I did was cook frozen french cut green beans instead of canned.) Thanks for this yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      Why not just call this High Fat Green Beans? I think 12 grams of carbs is a lot! Fresh green beans are only 4 carbs per half cup! Plus, there is a lot of stuff here that no one really needs. Why waste a Snicker's bar's calories on canned veg?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Carb Green Bean Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (253 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 223.8
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    63%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.1 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 38.3 mg
    12%
    Sodium 1127.5 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.3 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    23%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 7.2 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes