Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Macaroni & Cheese Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Macaroni & Cheese Casserole

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 12, 2002

      I was given a link from someone before I found Zaar and Maybe it was your recipe because it is the exact same recipe. I have made many recipes for mac and cheese, complicated ones, sauces etc... This one is the BEST and easiest recipe I have tried, it amazes me how the eggs make a creamy sauce type texture. The only difference is I grate the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2002

      I was intrigued by this recipe since it was not the traditional white sauce/melted cheese poured over noodles. I will say I was a little unsure when I started putting everything together thinking I didn't have enough noodles to go with all the cheese and the milk/egg mixture. The final results were a nice surprise as there were plenty of noodles, nice cheese layers and an egg type custard holding everything together. My husband loved having the separate cheese layers! Figured I could serve this with a salad next time and I'd have my meal - lots of protien and carbohydrates in the macaroni and cheese. Only thing to note is upon reheating there was a little weeping of the custard mixture but I just poured off the liquid - reheats nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2002

      This was not what I expected. The texture was more like a souffle or custard. The only change I made was to use two different kinds of cheddar cheese (half white and half yellow) and 1/8 teasp. dry mustard. Took 55 min. to cook. Flavor was very good but hubby asked me not to make it again because he didn't like the texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2002

      Joanne I am sorry you did not like it. I should have mentioned that this is different than most macaroni and cheese recipes. It is suppose to have a custard type texture, not the creamy cheesy texture most are familiar with. Thanks for trying it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Used colby jack cheese topped with panko bread crumbs and pecorino romano cheese YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Great recipe. First time trying real mac and cheese. I like the eggs in it. It keeps it together. I grated the cheese. Next time I'll add bacon bits. I'll keep this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      I made this with 24 ozs (3 cups) of grated cheese layered with the macaroni. It was very good this way. Next time I will try it layered with the sliced cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      My kids actually liked it!!! They never like anything! Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      I love this one...I put butter in 2 corning ware pans, dice some onion and microwave it before I add the macaroni - I also use a few types of cheese both grated and sliced...whatever I have in the fridge - and add a few sprinkles of "greek seasoning" to the milk/egg mix before pouring it over the macaroni. YUMMY!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2008

      This was a great recipe. It was very good and the family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      This was really good. I added ham to it and a bit of celery and onion ( I feed dayhome children and need to use the 4 food groups). Even hubby liked it and he is not a baked macaroni and cheese fan. He sliced it cold and fried it a bit instead of the microwave. Definate keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2004

      I made this tonight for dinner, using shredded cheddar and diced ham. Also, I used panko crumbs for the topping. My family loved it, as did our guest, who had several helpings. This is definitely going to be made again at my house. Thanks Taryane for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2004

      This is a delicious recipe! It was so easy to make and best of all, I had everything on hand to make it! It was such a nice change from the usual "creamy type" versions... my husband said he would like to try it with diced ham next time, so it will definitely be a keeper here. We both loved it! Thanks for sharing such a good "comfort food" recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      This recipe is great. I didn't have to go shopping for the ingredients - I had them in stock already! I cubed the cheese and gave it a wonderful texture along with the custard. It is also great warmed up for breakfast. ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2003

      I have been looking for this recipe online for ages. I believe it is from the "Joy of Cooking", if not, it's very similar. My mom made it while I was growing up and while conducting searches online, all I could find was the typical cheese sauce mac and cheese. I'm glad to find the recipe. For me, this is a winner and whenever I made it years ago, I was always asked to make it again. I'm making it tonight for the first time in ages. The only think I will do differently is shred the cheese and I usually double the requested amount to make it even cheesier. Tarynne is right - it's not your typical mac and cheese - I think it's better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Macaroni & Cheese Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 802.3
     
    Calories from Fat 407
    50%
    Total Fat 45.3 g
    69%
    Saturated Fat 26.8 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 312.0 mg
    104%
    Sodium 1020.7 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 2.1 g
    8%
    Protein 40.6 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites