Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Mirj's Simple Creamed Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mirj's Simple Creamed Spinach

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2003

      Yes, I "twisted your arm" to post this gem of a recipe! I'm honored to be the first review! I made this when Mirj first described it in the Somersize recipes thread. I used a small tub of whipped cream cheese with garlic and dill. I also added a can of chopped mushroomus and a few healthy splashes of hot sauce. This recipe is fantastic because it's exceptional in it's original form, yet the door is wide open for experimentation! I've made this three times, and the last time I substituted frozen chopped broccoli for the spinach, and it was great! Thanks Mirj for a legal, easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      Fantabulous. Just the thing for a strep-throat sufferer [me]. I took Yooper's hint and used the flavored whipped cream cheese. Thanks Mirj for another winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      This is so GOOD! I cut back on the amounts, as I was only making it for myself, and really regret having done so - - I want more! :) I used fresh spinach and reduced the initial cooking time, and then only zapped for a couple of seconds with the cream cheese. I totally forgot to add the hot pepper sauce, but will add it when I make this again tomorrow. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2004

      This is just what we needed here in this house.Mark loved it. I did not add anything to it. However Mark did add his salt. OH my that I wish he would not add. I did add my pepper. This is very good. I am not changing anything. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      I was looking for an idea to use some leftover cooked swiss chard and used this recipe as my base. Didn't have enuf cream cheese, so added some feta and some velvetta. Then with this leftover I used it in Cream of Spinach Soup 76808. I am the leftover queen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Oh Baby! This is good! I had some fresh spinach from my widdle biddy garden, steamed it and then added some soft creamed cheese, flavored with onions and chives. The only thing is, I should have drained my spinach a little more before adding the creamed cheese. My DH was out of town so it was just me and the kitties for this feast! Lucky me! A definite winner. Does "Mr. Food" know about this one?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      This was a nice quick side. I drained some of the water from the spinach once it was cooked before adding the cream cheese and I think that helped it not be so watery.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      We used fat-free cream cheese, and flavor was awesome beyond reason. Rates five full Popeyes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Surprisingly delicious for such a simple recipe. The red pepper flakes give it the perfect amount of kick. DH, who doesn't even like spinach, ate two servings in no time flat. Took no time at all to make, and tasted like I put a lot of effort into it. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2008

      This was so easy, and really good! I used 16 oz of spinach and 5 oz of cream cheese. Six of us ate from that amount, but I really think I could have eaten more. I was worried about the dish being runny, but really the frozen spinach didn't have as much liquid as I thought. Although this is not as rich as my favorite creamed spinach, it is wonderful when I am tired and hungry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      This is just what I was looking for, a quick, easy, tasty recipe with spinach. I can't believe how good it came out when it was so easy to make! I followed the recipe exactly this time, next time I will play around and add garlic, and maybe some bacon bits. This really is great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I just realized I hadn't yet rated this delicious low-carb delight... I was not a huge fan of spinach but this is a recipe that could convince me to eat spinach every day! My husband loves spinach so he is delighted that I found this. Thank you for this delicious recipe! I also added fresh grated parmesan on top once served.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Excellent, for when you're looking for something quick. I could've eaten the whole bowl myself! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      This was a great last minute way to jazz up frozen spinach. I did end up adding some garlic to round out the flavor a bit. hanks so much for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      I really enjoyed this, Mirj. It was unbelievably quick & easy, & it was really good. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      I needed a leafy vegetable for Thanksgiving and believe in having one dish that's microwaved on that day so as not to compete for the oven and stovetop. I quadrupled this recipe, using 2 8-oz tubs of garlic-and-onion whipped cream cheese and adding a 6 oz bottle of sliced mushrooms. It fit the bill wonderfully and got compliments all round. Then I brought home the leftovers and gobbled up the rest right out of the bowl. A valuable and tasty time-saver that will go in my Standbys cookbook.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      I microwaved my fresh sp inach (no water) in baking dish, covered with plastic wrap for 2 minutes and stir in cream cheese with chives. It couldn't have been easier. I added some on top of plain cooked noodles, too. I loved to but it didn't make the kids like spinach any better. Oh well, it's difficult to please everyone. Roxygirl in Colo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      Mirj, my husband and I absolutely LOVED this spinach preparation! And it is so easy! We love spinach, and we'll be having it alot more often now. : ) Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mirj's Simple Creamed Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 255.9
     
    Calories from Fat 190
    74%
    Total Fat 21.1 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 62.3 mg
    20%
    Sodium 306.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.6 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 11.6 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites