Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Mom's Italian "Hamburger Helper" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Italian "Hamburger Helper"

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      Very tasty and easy to make. I added some fresh chopped fresh basil and a pinch of dried oregano at the end of the heating, just before mixing with the pasta and cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      For how easy this was, it was pretty darn good. The kids thought it tasted like pizza. I used mini farfalle pasta for this. The only thing I added was a little bit of chopped onion when I brown the beef. Thanx for a nice quick meal that kids and adults love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Loved this recipe, thank you very much. My kids really enjoyed it - will definitely make this again soon. I used Morningstar Grillers vegetarian hamburger instead of hamburger - very healthy and you cannot tell the difference between hamburger and the grillers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      This was quite good, especially considering how easy it was to make. As other reviews suggested, I added an onion to the ground beef, and used fresh garlic instead of powdered. I also cut back on the pasta and used 1/2 lb. Kids loved it too so I might have to try and sneak some extra veggies in next time. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      This was OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I used fresh garlic instead of powder, My family found this a bit bland but it was a quick weeknight meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2012

      Tasty and quick. The family liked this, I liked it more because it didn't take forever. I used frozen all purpose ground beef mix. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2012

    • on May 13, 2010

      This was a great quick and easy dinner! Perfect for lunch the next day too! I left out the Italian seasoning and just added some basil and instead of just mozzarella I used a preshredded mix of mozzarella, parmesan, asiago and provolone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      I needed a quick dinner last night, my 7 yr old asked for hamburger helper style dinner. So of course I turned to Zaar. This was wonderful. The only change I will make next time is to use 1 c. of dry pasta. I made a 1lb. box and it was way too much pasta. Great meal, fast to fix. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      I used 16 ounces no salt tomato sauce and 1/2 cap of Garlic Herb Mrs. Dash in place of bottled sauce, italian seasoning, and garlic. Also used cheddar/jack in place of mozzarella. Kids (5 & 8) and I topped it with a bit of salt and cheddar/jack while DH, who is on a low-salt diet, didn't add anything. Picky kids proclaimed it "delicious" and DH had seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Easy and tasty and quick. I will make it again. My picky 6 year old liked it. I was looking for hamburger helper type recipes without the additives like partially hydrogenated oils. So this one is healthier too. As tasty or tastier than Hamburger Helper Italian mixes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      We were craving hamburger helper and I found this recipe. It was a huge hit with myself, my hubby and my 15 month old son. My 4 year old didn't care for it, but she's not a big pasta fan. I used a bit less pasta and a bit more beef (approx 25%). I used 1 cup cheddar cheese and 1/3 cup of cottage cheese to make it creamy at the end. It was twice as yummy the next day for lunch. I will denitely make it again. It was exactly what we were looking for. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2006

      It was ok. The dried Italian seasoning is a little much. Might need to reduce slightly. Kids weren't thrilled with it. It did taste a better the next day when the seasonings blended a bit better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2004

      This was a quick, easy recipe that I will be working into my OAMC routine. Today, I added garlic and chopped onion to the hamburg, like always. Next time, I will use half the pasta called for and will use my usual mix of basil and oregano in place of the italian seasonings. Thanks, Hokiegal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2003

      We really enjoyed this recipe. I used macaroni(the only pasta the kids will eat).It was so simple to make & easy on the wallet too. Can't beat that. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Italian "Hamburger Helper"

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 595.4
     
    Calories from Fat 198
    33%
    Total Fat 22.0 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 82.1 mg
    27%
    Sodium 460.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 6.0 g
    24%
    Protein 33.1 g
    66%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites