16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very tasty and easy to make. I added some fresh chopped fresh basil and a pinch of dried oregano at the end of the heating, just before mixing with the pasta and cheese.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tabby September 15, 2002

For how easy this was, it was pretty darn good. The kids thought it tasted like pizza. I used mini farfalle pasta for this. The only thing I added was a little bit of chopped onion when I brown the beef. Thanx for a nice quick meal that kids and adults love!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* April 25, 2010

Loved this recipe, thank you very much. My kids really enjoyed it - will definitely make this again soon. I used Morningstar Grillers vegetarian hamburger instead of hamburger - very healthy and you cannot tell the difference between hamburger and the grillers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ghostwriter November 16, 2004

My kids ate this like crazy, and the husband and I loved it too. I used only 1 tablespoon Italian seasoning, though, as I thought more would be too much. Overall, this was a great recipe we will definitely be using again in the future. So. Easy. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meghan at Food.com September 18, 2014

This was quite good, especially considering how easy it was to make. As other reviews suggested, I added an onion to the ground beef, and used fresh garlic instead of powdered. I also cut back on the pasta and used 1/2 lb. Kids loved it too so I might have to try and sneak some extra veggies in next time. Will definitely make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deepfreeze February 21, 2013

This was OK for us. I followed the recipe as written other then I used fresh garlic instead of powder, My family found this a bit bland but it was a quick weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol November 17, 2012

Tasty and quick. The family liked this, I liked it more because it didn't take forever. I used frozen all purpose ground beef mix. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore March 23, 2012

This was a great quick and easy dinner! Perfect for lunch the next day too! I left out the Italian seasoning and just added some basil and instead of just mozzarella I used a preshredded mix of mozzarella, parmesan, asiago and provolone.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CupcakeAngel May 13, 2010

I needed a quick dinner last night, my 7 yr old asked for hamburger helper style dinner. So of course I turned to Zaar. This was wonderful. The only change I will make next time is to use 1 c. of dry pasta. I made a 1lb. box and it was way too much pasta. Great meal, fast to fix. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z May 11, 2010
Mom's Italian "Hamburger Helper"