14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made the regular onion soup dip a million times and thought it was the best. I was wrong this was better. I only used one package of light cream cheese and ate some before it was refrigerated and some after, it was good both times. I also crushed the onion as much as possible while it was still in the envelope because my Dh doesn't like the pieces of onion. We will make this again. YUM.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margie99 May 31, 2010

The addition of the cream cheese really improves a dip that is pretty perfect to begin with!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissMarla March 20, 2010

I've made this quite a few times since I've found this recipe and everyone who tries absolutely loves it! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunzie March 04, 2010

I made this for my daughter the other night as she adores Lipton's onion dip. Well this was a bigger hit! I only used 1 pkg of cream cheese as I read the recipe incorrectly, but it was a hit nonetheless. This has a lighter fresher flavor than the original dip and a much more desirable consistancy. My daughter is thrilled and it looks as if now I must make sure there is cream cheese in the house also for when her cravings hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. April 12, 2009

Excellent homemade dip.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Deb April 04, 2009

This is an outstanding dip. I plan to use this recipe for an easy, quick and delicious dish for potlucks and get togethers. I served it with baby carrots. Yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starlita November 30, 2007

I have got to rate this 5 stars...would rate it 10 if I could. I took this to a family picnic gathering at my parents house. My dad, the pickiest eater of all in the world, dug into this like he was digging to China...couldn't help but leave him his own container of whatever was leftover, when I left for the day. He finished it off by the next night and asked for the recipe; which my mom got from me and whipped him up another batch for his nightly chip-dipping escapade in front of the tv. The man can't get enough of this dip and both my mom and I agree.... you win the blue ribbon on this one....I love to cook, my mom is a career caterer.....though it's very rare to find a recipe that my dad will enjoy and further more, ask for the recipe. Along with the flavor, he loves the fact that the dip is on the thicker side. As simple as a chip dip...who knew?? I originally saved and printed this off, thinking it was a copy cat recipe of a philly cream cheese style chip dip that was made in the 80's and sold in an 8 oz tin can with a pull off tab...not so. But "Thumbs Up" all around...the whole family at the picnic enjoyed, as well. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheDancingCook July 11, 2007

Made this last night to snack on during a football game. Halved it, and used low fat sour cream, and cream cheese. Thicker than the usual onion dip. Really good! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loves2Teach January 07, 2007

I made this today. It is an excellent dip.But because I like a little more heat I divided it and added 2 tablespoons horseradish to my half and it was even more wonderful. Jim

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JimB427 February 04, 2006
Onion Chip Dip