15 Reviews

Terrific!!! We can't wait to have this dish again. My changes were: only 1/2 lb pasta, 12oz of chicken breast, and 1/4 cup or so of butter. I wasn't sure on the balsamic vinegar with the 1/2 cup and 2T measurements, so I reduced the 1/2 cup and then put the 2T on the dish in the final mixing. The fresh rosemary cooking with the asparagus left the most awesome flavor. We will make this a lot during peak asparagus season. My 8 year olds both gave this a 5 star rating. Thanks for sharing Barb!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW March 24, 2003

Wow, surprisingly good! My expectations weren't real high but I thought I'd try something new. Glad I did. Not bitter at all. Will make again. THANKS Barb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sherrirod April 30, 2014

I made this using bow ties inseead of penne - it was wonderful. Also I added fresh tomatoes (skinned and chopped) and basil. The balsamic reduction was a little tricky. Maybe i overcooked it. But, after I removed it from the stove and added the brown sugar, it got quite hard. So, I added a little warm water and heated it a bit sirring constantly and it was just fine. I really enjoyed this easy to make dish. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz June 03, 2011

Good recipe, pretty easy to make too!! My baby even liked it! A bit sweet for my taste, which is the only reason it got 4 instead of 5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riflchik June 06, 2010

I thought this was GREAT! And a wonderful way to use that fresh, spring asparagus. I halved it and it made a perfect amount for 3. I used about 1 1/2 cups of dry penne (I think about 3 cups dry penne = 1 lb). I didn't use that much butter/oil--just trying to be healthy. I burnt my first try at the balsamic reduction, so I just started over and it was great. I thought this was a very pretty dish. I posted a picture--but the flash brighted it out a little--sorry!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim S. May 15, 2010

Loved this dish! I only used 1/2 cup of vinegar, and olive oil instead of the 1/2 cup butter, and it still turned out great. I also did half whole wheat penne and half regular, to make it a little healthier... i don't much care for the texture of whole wheat pasta, but pairing it with regular seemed to help a lot.... overall, delicious!! I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poppy_cooks January 18, 2010

I had a hard time getting anyone to try this because of the appearance! It wasn't very pretty. The taste was okay, but there were a lot of leftovers and there was nothing exceptional about the dish. So sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melvin'sWifey September 24, 2008

This was a pleaser. I made it for Mother's Day dinner and the adults really liked it. The kids were so-so on their reviews. I took it to work today for lunch, and it was just as tasty cold as it was hot. I'll be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonnie4Two May 12, 2008

OUTSTANDING RECIPE!! My husband asked I make it once/month or more.I used 1 T brown sugar,used healthier margarine opposed to butter.I also added sauted fresh mushrooms and garlic along with couple dashes of cayenne pepper.I also used penne that is protein and fiber enriched.Wheat would be healthier as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
askangela1 April 22, 2008

I really liked it but my husband and son thought it was to vinegary. I might make it again for friend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lupigirl April 13, 2007
Penne With Chicken and Roasted Asparagus