Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Penne With Chicken and Roasted Asparagus Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Penne With Chicken and Roasted Asparagus

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 24, 2003

      Terrific!!! We can't wait to have this dish again. My changes were: only 1/2 lb pasta, 12oz of chicken breast, and 1/4 cup or so of butter. I wasn't sure on the balsamic vinegar with the 1/2 cup and 2T measurements, so I reduced the 1/2 cup and then put the 2T on the dish in the final mixing. The fresh rosemary cooking with the asparagus left the most awesome flavor. We will make this a lot during peak asparagus season. My 8 year olds both gave this a 5 star rating. Thanks for sharing Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

      Wow, surprisingly good! My expectations weren't real high but I thought I'd try something new. Glad I did. Not bitter at all. Will make again. THANKS Barb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      I made this using bow ties inseead of penne - it was wonderful. Also I added fresh tomatoes (skinned and chopped) and basil. The balsamic reduction was a little tricky. Maybe i overcooked it. But, after I removed it from the stove and added the brown sugar, it got quite hard. So, I added a little warm water and heated it a bit sirring constantly and it was just fine. I really enjoyed this easy to make dish. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Good recipe, pretty easy to make too!! My baby even liked it! A bit sweet for my taste, which is the only reason it got 4 instead of 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I thought this was GREAT! And a wonderful way to use that fresh, spring asparagus. I halved it and it made a perfect amount for 3. I used about 1 1/2 cups of dry penne (I think about 3 cups dry penne = 1 lb). I didn't use that much butter/oil--just trying to be healthy. I burnt my first try at the balsamic reduction, so I just started over and it was great. I thought this was a very pretty dish. I posted a picture--but the flash brighted it out a little--sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Loved this dish! I only used 1/2 cup of vinegar, and olive oil instead of the 1/2 cup butter, and it still turned out great. I also did half whole wheat penne and half regular, to make it a little healthier... i don't much care for the texture of whole wheat pasta, but pairing it with regular seemed to help a lot.... overall, delicious!! I will definitely be making this again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I had a hard time getting anyone to try this because of the appearance! It wasn't very pretty. The taste was okay, but there were a lot of leftovers and there was nothing exceptional about the dish. So sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      This was a pleaser. I made it for Mother's Day dinner and the adults really liked it. The kids were so-so on their reviews. I took it to work today for lunch, and it was just as tasty cold as it was hot. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      OUTSTANDING RECIPE!! My husband asked I make it once/month or more.I used 1 T brown sugar,used healthier margarine opposed to butter.I also added sauted fresh mushrooms and garlic along with couple dashes of cayenne pepper.I also used penne that is protein and fiber enriched.Wheat would be healthier as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2007

      I really liked it but my husband and son thought it was to vinegary. I might make it again for friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      This dish was perfect! My husband and kids loved it. The balance between balsamic vinagar and brown sugar is perfect. It was easy to make I had all of the ingredients on hand so it quick too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2005

    • on July 19, 2005

      Nice recipe, very easy to make. I used a bit less butter and substituted some olive oil in the sauce. I didn't have any asparagus, so I roasted some broccoli (same technique) which was lovely. Next time, I will try using a bit of chicken broth in the sauce to cut down on some more of the butter. Great flavour, I will definately try this one again and re-review. thanks, dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2005

      Great recipe!!! I used olive oil on the pasta instead butter, also add 3 garlic cloves while cooking the chicken. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      Absolutely wonderful! I made this dish for company and recieved rave reviews. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Penne With Chicken and Roasted Asparagus

    Serving Size: 1 (373 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 834.0
     
    Calories from Fat 324
    38%
    Total Fat 36.0 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 18.3 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 109.9 mg
    36%
    Sodium 1311.8 mg
    54%
    Total Carbohydrate 102.9 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 14.8 g
    59%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 27.4 g
    54%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rosemary

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes