17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made it gluten free by using popcorn instead of pretzels, and used half vegetable oil and half olive oil. Tastes more like parmesan bread sticks than pizza, but still tastes very good! Very easy and makes a nice gift for those who eat a gluten free diet!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffin-maker December 15, 2012

pretty good! nice to have a different flavor on a cereal snack. and plus its all stuff i have on hand anyways! will add some pepper and basil for a lil flavor change. thanks for the recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes December 27, 2011

I did a "pantry cleanout" for this one. I used pretzels, half a box of wheat thins (that no one was ever going to finish), half a box of cheeze its (that was going to go stale), and didn't have any cereal on hand to go with this. anyhow mixed all of that together, and have a new favorite. what a money saver to use what I already had on hand, and now the neglected snacks have become something new and yummy. I also added garlic salt, basil thyme and oregano, since my mix was bland. I also doubled everything, and glad I did.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mummabear7 September 24, 2010

My family wasn't bowled over by these, but there was nothing wrong with them....thus the 3 stars. They were ok, but my family just did care for them. I'm glad I tried, and have to say I'm disappointed they didn't like this, I thought it would be a great addition to our snack mix collection. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour June 29, 2010

This sure is a kid pleaser! My kids like this a lot. I wasn't that impressed with it, but that's okay, since the snack mix is for my kids anyway. I will plan on making this often so I have some on hand for the kids to eat at ballgames this summer. It seems like we are never home to eat during the summer, so this will be a good snack for that. I did use the entire box of Corn Chex and the entire package of spaghetti sauce. I used half a bag of pretzel sticks since I couldn't find the nuggets, and I doubled the oil (used canola). I think I will double the parmesan cheese next time and see what that does. I know you don't need to bake it, but I did; 250 degrees for 20 minutes. I thought this helped with the flavor. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids March 29, 2010

Turned out GREAT! I also added Pizza flavor Goldfish, and White Cheddar Cheez-its. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma November 21, 2009

Delish! Instead of purchasing spaghetti sauce mix, I used Spaghetti Sauce Mix. I omitted the parmesan cheese, and used the equivalent of an entire envelope of spaghetti sauce mix (1/4 c.), as well as added 2 tsp. extra of each basil and oregano, based on Luvin' Texas's review. I couldn't find pretzel nuggets so used tiny twists, which turned out well. I think the addition of Goldfish or Cheese-It crackers would be good in here too. I love that it doesn't have to bake and that the oil amount is on the low end. All in all, it's a great snack - thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama July 26, 2009

This is a delicious snack mix. My son, who is a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles fanatic, has renamed it Ninja Turtle Snacks (lol, because of the pizza flavor!). The changes I made were that I halved the recipe, added goldfish crackers, used about 2 T. of the spaghetti seasoning, about the same amount of cheese, and no additional garlic powder (my mix had garlic in it). I also baked it for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally, to get it nice and crisp.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BlueRidgeMama February 23, 2009

I found the same recipe on another website with the following exceptions, 2 tsp. oregano, 2 tsp basil and 3 Tbl. of the spaghetti sauce mix, everything else is the same. I followed it and when ahead and added the whole package of the mix, there was very little left. Could not find any of the little pretzel squares so I used the tiny loops. This is so good. I made it for my Dad's birthday, they love this type of snack. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
True Texas February 07, 2009

Delicious. The only bad thing about it is that I couldn't stop eating it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jillcomeau June 27, 2008
Pizza Flavored Snack Mix