12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is absolutely wonderful! I also added a Mexican cheese blend of shredded cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusty.campbell January 03, 2012

*6* stars....easily! (I've never wanted to rate something higher than 5 before, but this turned out to be a *spectacularly good* soup. Had my butcher halve an excellent smoked ham shank, added a diced carrot, used 2 chipotle chiles (seeded - NO sauce. Browned flour in with veggies, and didn't bother to blend - like the texture. Most importantly, used 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 *smoked* gruyere cheese. Oh my....! UNreal. THANKS!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pellerin February 10, 2007

Wonderful soup. This one is a keeper.It smelt great and I was so hungry that I forgot to add the cheese. The next time I had it with a tex mex cheese with jalopenos and I think it was actually better without it. There is enough flavour already and adding the cheese made it too salty and of course added fat and calories. If it doesn't really add anything to the taste, why add the cheese?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ellen E April 05, 2013

Wow, this is tasty and has great depth of flavour! I had trouble getting the meat off the bone to add in so I supplemented with leftover ham chunks near the end of the cooking. I used a whole dried chili because I didn't have the chilis in adobo sauce but it didn't give it any heat so I added chipotle hot sauce (President's Choice) until it had the warmth we were looking for (had to add much more than a tablespoon to have any impact). Adding this to my favourite recipes - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffystew October 24, 2010

This soup is delicious! I just used freezer leftover ham chunks and roasted garlic that I keep in my freezer, I used canned adobo and increased the cheese slightly, my DH will enjoy this for lunch! thanks Rita...Kitten:)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 24, 2006

Really enjoyed this!!!! Has a nice mild heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 January 15, 2012

This was really good, the flavor reminded me a lot of scalloped potatoes. I used half gruyere and half cheddar and added a diced carrot as another reviewer had. I had to substitute chipotle hot sauce for the pepper and adobo since my grocery store didn't carry it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lindsay E October 18, 2009

Yum! This was great. I used cream in place of the milk - just about a cup because it was already the texture we liked. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 February 21, 2009

Not a gourmet meal, but great tasting! I had to leave out the celery and bell pepper since we didn't have any. I also used some diced cooked ham in place of the ham bone and added it in the end with the cheese. I'm sure it would be that much better with the ham bone! I made half a recipe which I thought made about 3-4 servings. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 January 05, 2009

This soup was great! I had a large ham bone so made 6 c broth and added 1/4 cup heavy cream then increased the recipe by 50%. Used only 2 chipotle chilis and no adobo sauce--any more and it would have been too spicy. Definitely on the repeat list...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahdesilva November 26, 2006
Potato, Ham, Onion, & Chipotle Soup