Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Potato, Ham, Onion, & Chipotle Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Potato, Ham, Onion, & Chipotle Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on January 03, 2012

      This is absolutely wonderful! I also added a Mexican cheese blend of shredded cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      *6* stars....easily! (I've never wanted to rate something higher than 5 before, but this turned out to be a *spectacularly good* soup. Had my butcher halve an excellent smoked ham shank, added a diced carrot, used 2 chipotle chiles (seeded - NO sauce. Browned flour in with veggies, and didn't bother to blend - like the texture. Most importantly, used 1/2 sharp cheddar and 1/2 *smoked* gruyere cheese. Oh my....! UNreal. THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2013

      Wonderful soup. This one is a keeper.It smelt great and I was so hungry that I forgot to add the cheese. The next time I had it with a tex mex cheese with jalopenos and I think it was actually better without it. There is enough flavour already and adding the cheese made it too salty and of course added fat and calories. If it doesn't really add anything to the taste, why add the cheese?

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Wow, this is tasty and has great depth of flavour! I had trouble getting the meat off the bone to add in so I supplemented with leftover ham chunks near the end of the cooking. I used a whole dried chili because I didn't have the chilis in adobo sauce but it didn't give it any heat so I added chipotle hot sauce (President's Choice) until it had the warmth we were looking for (had to add much more than a tablespoon to have any impact). Adding this to my favourite recipes - thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      This soup is delicious! I just used freezer leftover ham chunks and roasted garlic that I keep in my freezer, I used canned adobo and increased the cheese slightly, my DH will enjoy this for lunch! thanks Rita...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2012

      Really enjoyed this!!!! Has a nice mild heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This was really good, the flavor reminded me a lot of scalloped potatoes. I used half gruyere and half cheddar and added a diced carrot as another reviewer had. I had to substitute chipotle hot sauce for the pepper and adobo since my grocery store didn't carry it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Yum! This was great. I used cream in place of the milk - just about a cup because it was already the texture we liked. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      Not a gourmet meal, but great tasting! I had to leave out the celery and bell pepper since we didn't have any. I also used some diced cooked ham in place of the ham bone and added it in the end with the cheese. I'm sure it would be that much better with the ham bone! I made half a recipe which I thought made about 3-4 servings. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      This soup was great! I had a large ham bone so made 6 c broth and added 1/4 cup heavy cream then increased the recipe by 50%. Used only 2 chipotle chilis and no adobo sauce--any more and it would have been too spicy. Definitely on the repeat list...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      I fixed this creamy soup on the first chilly day this fall...brr! Hot,thick, creamy, cheesy, it was perfect to warm me and my DH right up. I did not have a ham bone, so I just added chopped ham at the very end. I also added 1tbs taco seasoning and salt to taste, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      We really enjoyed this today. I did add additional milk and cooked the ham in with the soup instead of garnishing it on top. The addition of the Chipotle peppers and adobo sauce really added a nice kick to the flavors. I halved the recipe except added the whole chipotle and sauce. I let this simmer for about 2 or so hours and we really enjoyed. Thanks Rita for another great one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Potato, Ham, Onion, & Chipotle Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.3
     
    Calories from Fat 76
    41%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 26.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 172.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    adobo sauce

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes