12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW - great fritters! Easy to make and gluten free, too, and VERY tasty. I omitted the cheese because I can't eat it, but I don't think it made a huge difference. They are very flavourful anyway, and I'll make them again often! Thanks for posting this keeper!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany August 08, 2011

Delicious! I did press out water from the zucchini before mixing it in with everything else and added a 1 tbs extra cornmeal to remove excess moisture. While I liked the olive oil/butter it was fried in, for simplicities sake the second time I made these I used regular vegetable oil for frying and they turned out just fine.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueyedwineaux January 15, 2010

I made sure to read all the reviews before starting the process. I decided to squeeze out liquid from the potato & zucchini with a cloth before mixing all the ingredients based on the comments. I had a hard time cooking them though. The parmesan cheese just ran through the whole pan and made an awful mess over the entire pan. I got some help from my friend after the 1st batch got ruined. The fritters tasted great, but the cooking process I found was hard, next time I think I will omit the cheese.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat and be Merry November 29, 2007

I loved these. I liked the texture of the cornmeal. I did end up straining it quickly before I fried the fritters; I think I'll salt the zucchini and let it sit in a colander for a few minutes first and then I don't think it will need the straining later. (I didn't like watching all my yummy ingredients going down the drain.) But these were easy to put together and delicious. I made a whole meal out of them, dipping in sour cream. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin September 01, 2007

These weren't bad. I'll tell you why I only gave a 3 star. Before I mixed the potato and zucchini, I squished the grated veggies in paper towel to remove excess liquid. Apparently that wasn't enough. I had soooooo much liquid at the bottom of my bowl that most of the seasonings were lost in it. Next time I will sprinkle the salt on the zucchini and let sit in a colander for about 10 minutes before squeezing and mixing. I also dredged the individual fritters in cornmeal as well as what was in the mix. Made them crispier. I'm sure the next time I make these - and there will be a next time - they will be much tastier because all the seasonings will stay put and not get lost in the water that went down the drain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeDee July 31, 2014

These are amazing! I was looking for just a zucchini fritter recipe and I'm so glad I found this one! The taters really added a nice texture and flavor - I forgot to skin the taters but it didn't seem to matter. I had to add onion powder since I was out of fresh onion and I was out of corn meal so I substituted glutern-free Bisquick. The batter wasn't too runny since I followed other reviewers suggestions about draining the vegies. I also added dill which kicked up the flavor. This recipe is a keeper!! Thanks, Uncle Bill!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kristan June 14, 2012

way more liquid then i expected, i had to drain it over night n then again before i cooked it. the cornmeal gave it a texture/grit i was not expecting. needed a lot more seasoning. i did like the hash brown similarities.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beeboppah August 13, 2006

I somehow missed adding the onion, but I think the fritters forgave me. Aside from that, I made them exactly as directed and served them plain and they were absolutely delicious. I think next time they'll be a breakfast food as they remind me so much of hash brown patties, but the zucchini really does make them something special. And the butter and olive oil mixture they're cooked in really brings out the flavors. Thanks so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 20, 2006

Yummy! I just love fritters and these have become a very welcome addition to my collection. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alesha November 22, 2005
Potato Zucchini Fritters