12 Reviews

This is the BEST mac and cheese recipe EVER. I have been making this for years. I usually cut back on the amount of worcestershire - that's actually what it gives a bit of a horseradish bite. But I love this, my family always raves, and it is always requested at holidays. Thanks for posting!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SouthernSusie December 23, 2009

if you see in the photos, i've actually added some mushrooms, crispy luncheon meat and some chicken meat in there too just because my bf loves his mac n cheese with meat hahah everything else in the recipes remained the same and it was really awesome!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
naadddssss December 31, 2011

A very good recipe that I have used for several years now. I have been told by the family that I MUST bring the Macaroni and Cheese. I vary the cayenne by the amount of heat I want in it, I have also used Mexican Cheese Mix in place of the 1 1/4 cup of extra sharp cheddar to vary the taste. It handles it very well and is always in demand.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drhousespcatcher October 19, 2006

I think this rating has to do more with my personal tastes than the actual recipe. The sauce was a little chunky (not with cheese) and I'm not sure why (I probably did something wrong). Also, the sauce didn't really taste all that cheesy, which I had expected based on reading the other comments about the richness of the sauce. It IS rich, but not cheesy. I liked the amount of sauce that the recipe made, but I guess I was expecting something different. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make the sauce itself cheesier?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyLaura December 05, 2007

This has been the best mac & cheese I've made to date. I deviated a little bit from the recipe just based on what I had onhand but the end product was perfect. I didn't have any extra sharp cheddar to cube, so I subbed a piece of Velveeta I had leftover from making some potato soup. It melted very nicely in the hot pasta. The other change was I used 8 oz of sharp cheddar and 8 oz of white cheddar shredded for the other cheese. Very creamy, great flavor. I had no problems reheating in the microwave. It still retained the soft and creamy texture for me. I think maybe the substitution of the Velveeta had something to do with that. I can't justify the rich dairy calories very often but definitely a must for special occasions. Awesome recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 May 20, 2007

This was great, Dh has mentioned it several times since i made it. The calories per serving amount is a little scary to me, would like to know any way to cut that a bit. I found the cooking time to be a bit longer for me, around 40 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sakeenah October 03, 2006

I had a craving for mac and cheese. I halved the recipe, and left out the cayenne. This satisfied me and I really enjoyed it! Thank you Ellie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 September 15, 2006

I will make this again, but next time I will use med cheddar and leave out the eggs and the nutmeg. It wasn't as creamy as I thought it would be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisy Adams September 07, 2004

Although extremely easy to make this dish was just a little to rich for our taste. It might benefit by adding more pasta, thus reducing the proportion of sauce to macaroni.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms Emma July 14, 2004

Amazing! I didn't think you could make Macaroni Cheese without going through the hassle of grating a ton of cheese and making a white sauce. This has been a true revelation and got the thumbs up from my DH and two little daughters. Thanks Normaone - this is now a definite favourite in the family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HappyBunny May 03, 2004
Really Awesome Macaroni and Cheese