Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Really Awesome Macaroni and Cheese Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Really Awesome Macaroni and Cheese

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2009

      This is the BEST mac and cheese recipe EVER. I have been making this for years. I usually cut back on the amount of worcestershire - that's actually what it gives a bit of a horseradish bite. But I love this, my family always raves, and it is always requested at holidays. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      if you see in the photos, i've actually added some mushrooms, crispy luncheon meat and some chicken meat in there too just because my bf loves his mac n cheese with meat hahah everything else in the recipes remained the same and it was really awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      A very good recipe that I have used for several years now. I have been told by the family that I MUST bring the Macaroni and Cheese. I vary the cayenne by the amount of heat I want in it, I have also used Mexican Cheese Mix in place of the 1 1/4 cup of extra sharp cheddar to vary the taste. It handles it very well and is always in demand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2007

      I think this rating has to do more with my personal tastes than the actual recipe. The sauce was a little chunky (not with cheese) and I'm not sure why (I probably did something wrong). Also, the sauce didn't really taste all that cheesy, which I had expected based on reading the other comments about the richness of the sauce. It IS rich, but not cheesy. I liked the amount of sauce that the recipe made, but I guess I was expecting something different. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to make the sauce itself cheesier?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      This has been the best mac & cheese I've made to date. I deviated a little bit from the recipe just based on what I had onhand but the end product was perfect. I didn't have any extra sharp cheddar to cube, so I subbed a piece of Velveeta I had leftover from making some potato soup. It melted very nicely in the hot pasta. The other change was I used 8 oz of sharp cheddar and 8 oz of white cheddar shredded for the other cheese. Very creamy, great flavor. I had no problems reheating in the microwave. It still retained the soft and creamy texture for me. I think maybe the substitution of the Velveeta had something to do with that. I can't justify the rich dairy calories very often but definitely a must for special occasions. Awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      This was great, Dh has mentioned it several times since i made it. The calories per serving amount is a little scary to me, would like to know any way to cut that a bit. I found the cooking time to be a bit longer for me, around 40 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2006

      I had a craving for mac and cheese. I halved the recipe, and left out the cayenne. This satisfied me and I really enjoyed it! Thank you Ellie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2004

      I will make this again, but next time I will use med cheddar and leave out the eggs and the nutmeg. It wasn't as creamy as I thought it would be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2004

      Although extremely easy to make this dish was just a little to rich for our taste. It might benefit by adding more pasta, thus reducing the proportion of sauce to macaroni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2004

      Amazing! I didn't think you could make Macaroni Cheese without going through the hassle of grating a ton of cheese and making a white sauce. This has been a true revelation and got the thumbs up from my DH and two little daughters. Thanks Normaone - this is now a definite favourite in the family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      "AWESOME"!! I did not measure the cheddar cheese, so I probably added some more (we like it extra cheesy!). I don't think I'll ever eat boxed macaroni and cheese again!! :) Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      absolutely delicious! this recipe has made me a 'macaroni and cheese' fan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Really Awesome Macaroni and Cheese

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.7
     
    Calories from Fat 263
    67%
    Total Fat 29.2 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 130.4 mg
    43%
    Sodium 582.3 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 12.9 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites