8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

WOW, wow, wow! This is super duper yummy! Made this for the family and everyone loved it! The filling is so tasty and so easy to make, too. I used this crust Eating Well's Pumpkin Pie Crust and made a free form rustic pie, which worked out beautifully.
My only change was to use hokkaido squash and to reduce oil, sugar and vinegar a tad.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a real keeper with us, Daydream! Ill surely make this again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 11, 2011

Easy to cook, filling and very tasty. As a vegetarian of 25 years, this was one of the nicest pies I have eaten. I used chopped, fresh thyme and sage in the pie, but also added sticks of fresh rosemary to the pan when roasting the pumpkin.
I added toasted pine nuts to the pie mix to add a bit of texture and slightly increased the amount of roast garlic and feta. To make the pie, I rolled out a square of pastry, folding the corners into the centre to make a parcel. (Pie that looks like a Xmas present in the photos). Served it with roast potatoes and purple sprouting broccoli. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nice_n_tidy November 13, 2010

This pie was absolutely delicious! I used Kabocha squash and dried thyme but otherwise followed exactly. I used the same lovely pie crust as Lalaloula and found it was a bit too small to hold all the filling, but just served the rest on the side. Will be making this one often. Thank you, Daydream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird December 30, 2012

This was brilliant - I've made it twice now and both times it tasted really good. I omit the herbs but it still remains full of flavour. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger Rose December 28, 2009

I made this for the first time as a veggie dish to go with Christmas lunch and it received rave reviews. A few people have already asked me for the recipe! I found the caramelized onions a bit sweet, but that is probably because I used treacle sugar (it was all I had). Definitely a delicious dish - went superbly with the turkey and gammon. I will be making this one again very soon - thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Slain's Girl December 26, 2007

This is great. I had no fresh herbs so I used a za'atar mix of dried herbs which went well. Even the kids like it. I'd use a little more feta next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat October 13, 2006

I tried this recipe as a side dish for grilled chicken and it was fabulous. I'm one of those people who can't stick to a recipe to save her life, so here are the little changes I made. I used both fresh rosemary AND frash pineapple sage, and I also at least doubled the Feta. Delicious. If you've never tried Split Creek Farms Feta (or any cheese), you should--it's the very best. Splitcreek.com I think! Thanks again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DomesticDionysian October 01, 2006

Lovely combination of flavours. I used Thyme and it worked very well. My only problem was that the top of the pastry browned before the bottom was quite cooked through, but other than that, really enjoyed and will definately make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UK Kiwi June 20, 2006
Roasted Butternut Squash and Feta Pie