Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Rumbledthumps Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Rumbledthumps

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2002

      WOW something so simple. The guys just loved it. I didn't beat the potatoes at the end; I used my masher real good though, topped with sharp chedder yummy. We had Roast Pork, Sliced tomatoes with basil dressing with these and for dessert we had apple crisp.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2002

      I think I took the rumbled out of the thump... I sauteed the onion, added the cabbage to the pan after microwaving for 3 minutes, and put the mix on the bottom of the casserole dish. Then I topped this with the mashed potatoes and cheese, a la a veggie shepherd's pie. And it turned out very well! A nice combo of flavors.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2002

      I really liked this recipe. The cabbage adds a nice sweetness to the mashed potatoes. Really tasty.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

    • on March 11, 2010

      This is delicious on its own or as a side dish, when i lived in Scotland, this was a staple that we ate often,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2009

      Made this for St. Paddy's day, I think I put too much cabbage in it. We liked it but were a little unsure as to weather we'll make it again. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This was extremely easy and on the healthy side. I ended up using Chedder/Horseradish cheese. And I have to say the flavor in the cheese was the highlight. It can use some pick me up on flavor, but easily remedied. This is an Awesome side dish. Though lacked as a main course. No matter what I'm keeping this one, Thanks Mille

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      This is a wonderful easy recipe,I made it a little while earlier having come back home from classes and too tired to prepare a full meal. This was so easy and hit the spot , everyone loved it, I personally liked mine with a dab of my favorite chilli sauce, This is just lovely

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      Kale is a lot tastier with butter, potatoes, and cheese! I used less than the recommended amount of butter and I still thought this was a bit greasy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2005

      This made a wonderful light, tasty and easy casual meal. I blush to admit I used instant mashed potatoes (made up with 1/2 milk, 1/2 water)as I'd run out of potatoes and couldn't wait to try it! Otherwise, I made the recipe exactly as stated, using 1/2 a sugarloaf cabbage and a couple of good sloshes of cream. Can't recommend this recipe highly enough! Edited to add that the next day, I wrapped individual servings of this in aluminium foil (sprayed well with cooking oil) and reheated on the barbecue. Turned out great and was a wonderful addition to our barbecued meal - I just used a spatula to lift it from the foil onto the plates.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      A great and easy dish! It would go great with any meat, but I have to admit I was having a "just me" night and since I was alone for supper just pigged out on this. Such comfort food for a chilly winter evening. I made it with leeks and added 3-4 tbsp cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2002

      This was great I added a little more cheese though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2002

      I showed this recipe to an English friend. Who commented that most people would interpret "British" as "English". However she pointed out that this recipe is from Scotland not England.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Rumbledthumps

    Serving Size: 1 (194 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.7
     
    Calories from Fat 199
    59%
    Total Fat 22.2 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.9 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 60.6 mg
    20%
    Sodium 238.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites