Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Scalloped Potatoes and Butternut Squash With Leeks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scalloped Potatoes and Butternut Squash With Leeks

    Average Rating:

    7 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-7 of 7

    Sort by:

    • on December 16, 2009

      My, my, my! This is so delicious! Another winning recipe from LIG!!! I loved scalloped potates and butternut squash so I knew this would be wonderful!! I sent DH to the grocery store to pick up a butternut squash and he came home with a buttercup squash! Well, no time to go back to the store so decided to make do with what I had! Otherwise made this recipe as is. What a wondeful and beautiful potato dish! I will be making this again very soon! Thank you GF!! Made for KK Chef's Pick

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      OMG this is surprisingly great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      Like LifeIsGood, I love, love, love this recipe! I made some modifications (and I'll do them again so as not to risk a different result — it was that good!) First, like another reviewer suggested, I used vegetable broth in place of the whole milk. Very happy with the creamy sauce that resulted. I also used Earth Balance margarine in place of butter. (I did use Gruyere cheese, but I can imagine leaving it out or using vegan cheese to make this a great dish for vegans.) I also didn't have quite enough leeks, so I added a half of an onion. I thought I had enough potatoes, but didn't so I used sweet potatoes. I know it sounds like a lot of changes, but the spirit of the recipe was still there and I absolutely LOVED it. Also, it took about 20 extra minutes to cook. But it's easy to test with a fork to make sure it's really tender. I think my version is a little lower calorie, and because it will serve more than the 6 indicated on the nutrition info, I don't even feel guilty about enjoying this wonderful dish. I'm putting this in my "good enough for company" book right now. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      Quite the process to put together but it tasted great. The only changes was I used salted butter & brick cheese instead. We are starting to enjoy scalloped potatoes with a chicken broth base (vs milk) so I'd like to try this one with that variation. Really enjoyed the leeks & squash in the recipe, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      I concur wholeheartedly with the previous 5-star reviews! I love leeks (which go great with potatoes) but I really was indifferent to butternut squash. Well, not anymore! These three ingredients marry so well! I will be serving this on my Easter dinner table this year. It is a great holiday presentation and is truly delicious! Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      My first review has been zapped into the fourth dimension! So here goes again. I love all the key ingredients in this recipe so my expectations of loving it were indeed high. I felt, however, that (to meet our taste preferences) it would benefit from a couple of additions which would add further variation to the flavour and texture. I added 3 Granny Smith apples (peeled and sliced to the same thickness as the potatoes), 1/2 a cup of chopped pecans, a flat teaspoon of brown sugar (just the teeniest amount) and sprinklings of cinnamon. I added some of each of these between each layer. As I'm usually one who who considerably reduces or omits sugar in recipes, it was with some ambivalence that I added it here, but it seemed such a natural pairing with the apple and cinnamon. The end result: absolutely fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed this dish and would happily eat it as a vegetarian main course dish so I will certainly be making it again - often. And next time, for variation, I'm going to use walnuts. I'm also going to sneak in a liitle wine, perhaps by adding 1/2 a tablespoon to the leeks while they're cooking. For the moment, however, I'm happy that we have several additional serves in the freezer! Thank you so much for sharing this truly wonderful recipe, LifeIsGood!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      Review My Recipe 2008 ~ This was de-lish!! I halved the recipe as there is only the two of us. I was going to have the leftover for lunch today, but the Midnight Fridge Raider (aka DH) ate what was left! I'll just have to make some more! Thanks LisG. UPDATE 3/8/08 ~ made again but subbed sweet potatoes for the squash and cheddar for the gruyere. Slight change in taste but was still great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scalloped Potatoes and Butternut Squash With Leeks

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 508.5
     
    Calories from Fat 261
    51%
    Total Fat 29.0 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 17.5 g
    87%
    Cholesterol 84.6 mg
    28%
    Sodium 168.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 17.2 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes