Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Scalloped Turnips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scalloped Turnips

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2009

      I have never had a turnip before in my life, so I was looking for something that would be an easy introduction. This was delicious and easy to make. I used 4 smaller turnips rather than 3 and I could have used more had I had them in the house. For anyone wondering, you make a white sauce by heating the butter over medium/med high heat, then whisk in the flour and whisk constantly for a minute or two to cook the flour a bit, then pour in your milk (slowly, so it doesn't splash) whisking quickly to break up any lumps. You then cook, stirring frequently, over medium heat until the mixture bubbles and thickens to the consistency you like, then add seasoning to taste. I added a bit of colby/jack to the sauce, then put the rest on top. I really loved this, as did my 18 mo, but the 5 yo and my husband did not care for it. I will make it again, just giving them a backup dish. I thought turnips would have a "rootier" flavor, but these were really mild. I did peel them before slicing. Thanks for sharing the great recipe, and sorry for the super long review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      This tastes delicious....a whole new way to eat turnips for me! My turnips must have been really small...I had 2 and used 2/3 the sauce and cheese, and it was too much sauce for the turnips. I made traditional white sauce, melting the butter, adding the flour and stirring for 1 minute, adding in the salt and pepper, then adding the milk until thickened. Poured this over the sliced turnips and sprinkled the cheese on. Next time I think I will add some cheese to the white sauce as well before pouring over the turnips. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      Delicious. I used whole wheat flour and 2 cups of milk; 4 turnips were boiled only 5 minutes. I plan to try rutabagas next time. The whole wheat flour imparted a suttle "nutty" flavor to the sauce. Also, I mixed Parmesan cheese to the sauce and broiled a couple of minutes at the end of the baking time. Will certainly make it again. Thanks for a delicious recipe that can be served as every-day dinner and also at a dinner party. (PS: added a dash of red pepper to sauce.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      This was incredible! We never had turnips before, and I was concerned my husband would turn his nose at the notion of them. Not knowing turnips, I didn't peel them, just scrubbed them well. Then I put some leftover American cheese slices after half of the turnips, then finished with the turnips, white sauce and about 3/4 cup cheddar cheese. We loved it!! During dinner, my husband must have commented at least 7 or 8 times how great the dish was! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Very good dish for the fall.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Just lovely! I added a bit of the cheese to the white sauce as well as sprinkling some on top of the dish. A keeper for sure - thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      My husband raved about scalloped turnips, but I had no idea how to make them. So after a quick search here, I found your recipe and thought I would give it a try. He was so happy and LOVED them. I also peeled my turnips because I wasn't sure if you were supposed to or not. You may want to explain how to make a white sauce (I had a pretty good idea, but had to ask my husband for a second opinion). I left off the cheese because he said it wouldn't need it and I definitely agree. They were perfectly good without it. We will be making this every week we can get turnips from the farmer's market.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • Excellent recipe. DH and DS had 3 helpings each. I used cheddar cheese and mixed 1/2 the cheese with the sauce and sprinkled the remainder on top. Instead of flour, I used starch - as though I were making macaroni and cheese. I didn't know how to make a white sauce. Very easy and quick. Peeled the turnips and used a mandolin to slice them. We will definitely have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      i thought this recipe was goig to help me like turnips. the whole time i was eating them i was thinking this would be great with potatoes. other than that the recipe was ok. if i was a newer cook i wouldn't know how to make a white sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      What a delcious way to prepare turnips!!!! These were hard to share, you want the whole pan to yourself!!!! I peeled my turnips to keep the bitterness away and I used 1/2 cup evaporated milk with the rest 2%. I used whole wheat flour and I let the sauce get good and thick. I had a mixture of cheeses to use up so mine was a mixture of havarti, swiss, and mild cheddar on top. Soooooooo good!!!!! Thank you for this great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2008

      wow!! ii must say as a turnip lover, who hates cooked turnips, and rather would eat them rawthis recipe was delectable! also i used grated cheddar, romano and asiago cheeses.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scalloped Turnips

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.2
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    58%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 37.1 mg
    12%
    Sodium 874.7 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites