Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Spaghetti-and-Spinach Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spaghetti-and-Spinach Casserole

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 08, 2005

      I LOVED the sound of this recipe as soon as I found it - love spinach; love pasta - and I was certainly not disappointed. Great blend of flavours! I served it at a family dinner and everyone – from an often difficult-to-please thirteen year old to a frequently even more difficult-to-please 84 year old – loved it. Well, judging by the way they came back for more! The pasta was fabulously creamy and flavoursome. And the quantities stated in the recipe made ample quantities to provide generous servings for eight, which included three ever-ravenous teenagers who cleaned up the lot, coming back for second then third helpings, until there wasn’t any left. Several other non-Zaar dishes (which I was NOT responsible for) were completely ignored while everyone got their fill – and more – of this one. Thanks NurseDi for such a fabulous recipe. I used a pork/veal mince -personal preference - and 4 cloves of garlic -again my preference. I also added to the meat mixture 2 chopped onions and about 500g field mushrooms - they looked SO beautiful the day I was shopping for the ingredients that I just couldn't resist them. I used medium-sized shells because that's what was in the cupboard. I’ve always liked the look of shells in a pasta dish: that's WHY they were in the cupboard! The cheese sauce was absolutely scrumptious: deserved way more than five stars. I’ll be making this again both when feeding hungry hoards and when wanting to stash some away in the freezer. The only change I’ll make next time is to use TWO packets of spinach in the cheese sauce, to make it even more spinachy! If you haven’t made this recipe, and you like the sound of the ingredients, I urge you to make it – soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      My daughters, sils and grandkids were all here for the weekend. I needed a big casserole and this was a life-saver. I made it the night before and let it set in the refrigerator overnight. Put it in the oven and dinner was ready with no problem. Had a good rich comforting flavor. Served with salad and bread. Bravo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      Very good, hearty dish. Makes a large casserole, at least 12 servings for us. Next time I'll freeze half. Made as directed and wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

    • on June 03, 2009

      This is 5 star!! My husband loved it and wants it again. I may make it for my Bunco Party group. I used fresh spinach from my garden and it was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      This was really good and came out well considering I made it mostly from memory when my internet died at home. The ground beef mixture had the perfect flavor. I used spaghetti noodles and colby cheese. It made a ton and I can't wait to see how the leftovers taste!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      This was great! I used fresh spinach, whole wheat spaghetti noodles, added mushrooms and topped it with cheese. The kids didn't even know they were eating spinach! Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      This was yummy. I substituted colby jack cheese because I simply didn't have any plain monterey jack. I also used 3 cloves of garlic (we love garlic), but it still seemed like it was missing something. Next time I may try just a little more italian seasoning or some mushrooms. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      I took this to a church function and we liked it for the most part. It did seem to be "missing" something - I think next time I'll try adding in some ricotta or cottage cheese with the noodle mixture. I will say that this was the yummiest way to eat spinach that I've tried in a long time! LOL!! Thanks again for a great recipe, NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2005

      everyone loved this...great way to get them to eat spinach! I made the full recipe and placed in two 7x11 dishes and had one tonight and froze the other for another time. Our family of 4 LOVED it! Very yummy :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      This was an excellent, hearty, robust casserole that my family enjoyed. It makes a lot so I put the left-overs in the freezer. Look forward to eating this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      This was very good. It had too much italian seasoning for us but that is a easy fix for next time. I didn't have monetery jack cheese so I used mozzarella and it was fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      I'm still working on this recipe, but it's already a winner in our house. My husband doesn't like casseroles, but he likes this one. To reduce the fat & calories, I replace the ground beef with a 12 oz bag of veggie crumbles and 8 oz of sliced brown (baby bella) mushrooms. I use light sour cream and reduced fat shredded cheese (cheddar if I can't find monterey jack). I love that I can make this ahead of time. I'm still trying to figure out baking time after it's been refrigerated, but it's hard to overbake this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      This was fantastic! It will be made in our home often. Thanks for a great one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2004

      This was a real winner! I've made this twice and it was fabulous both times. My husband loves it and said it's better than his Mom's lasagna. Now that's saying something!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2004

      This was very good . I really love spinach and could not wait to try this !! Very much like lasagne , but not , if that makes sense :). I added some fresh grated nutmeg to the spinach before mixing in the noodles . Very Good !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2004

      As usual this was a big hit at our house. I used my homemade spaghetti sauce, and instead of hamburger I sauteed 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms with the garlic and it worked out very well. I used whole wheat noodles, but all the rest was according to the recipe. This is a keeper. Thanks, for another Nurse Di winner. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2003

      This was very good and easy. Makes a nice large casserole.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      Im always looking for new ways to cook mince and this one is a definite keeper. The spaghetti sauce I used was roasted onion and garlic and the noodles were fettucine noodles. I put it in a large oval clear casserole dish, and served with garlic bread. Di my family love your recipes, thanks for sharing them all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spaghetti-and-Spinach Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (237 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 531.3
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    54%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 16.1 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 135.0 mg
    45%
    Sodium 821.7 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 31.5 g
    63%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites