Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Spinach Sauce for Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Spinach Sauce for Pasta

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2003

      If you like green food, this is for you! I made this together with my two youngest Dornettes last night, and in spite of their "but it's green!" comment, supper was a success! I used a huge bunch of fresh spinach and chiffonaded it with my mezzaluna before cooking it in the butter. I added just a dash of Hungarian paprika. We had these with tri-color fusilli and a tall glass of chocolate milk to wash it down. Comfort food all the way! Thanks Jude!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      This is wonderful. I was looking for a recipe to use both leftover pasta and spinach for a simple lunch, but didn't want a heavy alfredo. This was light and mild, but good. For the onion-lovers, I sauteed onions to add. I also threw in a few sundried tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This recipe was good, I didn't have any nutmeg, so I instead I used garlic, pepper, basil and a little sugar. The original sauce was a bit bland, however lacking the nutmeg it was most likely the problem. It was very easy and quick and the other half really liked it, will definitely make again, next time I will try it as written. Thanks for a quick weeknight meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      Easy, tasty and easy to adjust to own preferences! Added garlic, red bell pepper and some sausage and subbed the ricotta for cottage cheese and creme fraiche (some other reviewer wrote that too, great idea!) and the frozen spinach for fresh. Great fast meal and healthy kidspleaser :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Recipe was good and different from the rest. A little rich and a tad bland for me but I know others will love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      My daughter has a reflux issue, so traditional spaghetti sauce doesn't work for her. This was so yummy, my 5 year old twins asked for seconds! I added sauteed onion, mushrooms and garlic. I also subbed fat free half and half for the milk and skipped the nutmeg. Thanks for the awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2009

      I wanted a spinach pasta sauce to go with a feta-and-spinach stuffed chicken breast. I made this as directed, but with the extra feta (about 1/2 cup) instead of ricotta. It was wonderful, the nutmeg is the perfect accent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      This was great fun to try out! I used fresh spinach, olive oil spray & lots of minced garlic! I used the cottage cheese/sour cream substitute from another genius reviewer (I never have ricotta on hand!). I don't think the milk is necessary if using cottage cheese since my sauce was a bit runny. I didn't use any nutmeg & served it over julienned zucchini instead of pasta. Thank you for sharing; was a great experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I was looking for a non-tomato recipe to use up some ricotta, and this was great! I only used maybe 1 Tablespoon of oil and I added in some sun-dried tomatoes and a few red pepper flakes. I only used maybe 6 ounces of pasta and the 2 of us ate the whole thing. Quick, easy and delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I tasted this as I went along, and added quite a few cloves of garlic, half-and-half, and about 1/4 tsp of cinnamon. I liked it a lot! It's great to have some alternatives to acidic tomato pasta, and this was great and made for good leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2007

      Delicious! I was craving greens tonight and this definately hit the spot. I used a bag of fresh baby spinach instead of the frozen and I added mushrooms and tomato for an absolutely fantastic flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      When a 3 year old and 6 year old gobble it up, and the 6 year old asks you if she can have some COLD to school the next day [!] you know you are onto a winner. When it takes very little time to cook, its even better! We all enjoyed this recipe. The only change I made was that I used fresh spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      I cooked this last night for dinner. I used low fat riccotta and low fat milk.I also ommitted the butter and just cooked in a little water. The whole family loved it. I will be cooking this again. Bella

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2006

      Surprisingly delicious! I subbed 3/4 cottage cheese plus 1/4 sour cream for the ricotta, and I used pre-grated parmesan instead of fresh. We're not big on nutmeg so I reduced it to a pinch and it accented the sauce perfectly. We like our pasta saucy, so I only made a half pound of mini penne and it was just the right amount. My husband didn't even mind that it was meatless, so we'll definitely be having this on a regular basis.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2004

      I have been looking for a recipe for the spinach sauce I always order at a local restaurant (they serve it with penne pasta) and this is it! I was pleased to find it so simple. Thanks for sharing- I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Spinach Sauce for Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (112 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 189.3
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    76%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 525.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites