Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Steak Pie with Cheese Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Steak Pie with Cheese Crust

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2002

      This Steak Pie With Cheese was SO, SO nice! Full of flavour and I added some kidneys to it. Most definately a 'keeper' for me!!!! The first and only Steak pie I'll ever make, I'm sure!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      I've made this now with both beef and elk, both very good (my preference is the elk). My family loves the crumbly cheese topping. A favorite all around (nothing like brown food for comfort)- I've now copied this to my family cookbook. Thanks Miller.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2002

      Another winner, Miller! I followed the ingredients to the letter with one exception, I used olive oil in the place of meat drippings. At first it seemed that there would be too much liquid, but after taking it out of the oven the first time, it had reduced. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2011

      Wonderful!!!! Can't wait to make this again.
      The cheese in the crumble really makes it, all the family loved it.

      I came back to add to this review.... I made the pie yesterday and last night I dreamed about the leftovers for breakfast. Really, really good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      I made this mainly for the crust and I did that to the letter. It was horrible. The crust didn't come together in any cohesive manner. The cheese didn't melt at all and after 30 minutes it looked and felt almost exactly like it did whenI put it in .What I couldn't scrape off tasted like beef flavored paste not crust. I don't know what I did wrong as others seemed to have enjoyed it. I'll not be trying this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2007

      This is excellent. I made it again, and tripled the recipe to make meal kits for the freezer. For the seasonings, as Miller suggests, I use sage and rosemary. This is becoming a favorite comfort food. I think that I will try using this as the filling for Cornish Pasties, as well, but will eliminate the beef stock for that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2006

      I loved the topping for this pie, it was so quick to put together. I cooked the meat in the slow cooker, doing everything up to point 9, it took 4 hours in total. Put it together and baked in the oven for 30 mins when i got in from work. Delicous!!! The next time i cook it i will leave the salt out of the whole dish as it was quite salty, what with the cheese & stock. Thanks for a keeper Miller

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      I made this recipe for an ethnic pot luck at church this Sunday. It was enjoyed by all. I loved the flavors in it. I used bacon grease for the meat drippings and some fresh rosemary and basil from my plants for most of the herbs. I will look forward to making a smaller version (1/2 recipe) of this for my husband, son and self.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      I'm going to start off this review by saying I couldn't wait! I had leftover pork roast and knew this was the way to top it off! Next time I will do the recipes filling, but I have to sing the praises of the pastry! Uncomplicated and flavorful! It took less than 5 minutes to put together and you can have a new life for your roast leftovers. Try it, you'll be amazed!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2004

      I recently made this recipe for a Robert Burns dinner given by the St. Andrews Society of the Adirondacks. Every bit was eaten and my family loved it. I followed the recipe exactly, except I doubled it, used 1 and 1/2 cans of beef broth for the liquid, and added 1/4 teaspoon of thyme along with 1/2 teaspoon of sage and about 1 teaspoon of rosemary. It tasted quite herby and smelled divine while cooking. The gravy cooked up over the crust quite a lot, but the crust was still delicious. Many thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Steak Pie with Cheese Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (229 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 425.3
     
    Calories from Fat 218
    51%
    Total Fat 24.3 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 12.1 g
    60%
    Cholesterol 113.1 mg
    37%
    Sodium 513.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    meat drippings

    mixed herbs

    cloves

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes