10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm salivating looking at that picture. This recipe means Christmas and Thanksgiving to me. It's definitely one of our family's favorites that my mom and grandma have been making for years. (We skip the pimentos) **update: I made it for Christmas dinner, and I didn't have mushroom soup. I had to substitute cream of chicken, and it was still really yummy.**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jusme December 27, 2009

Three cheers for recipes written on bar napkins. Ross Moss, you get 10 stars for this. Potsie, you only get five because that's all Zaar allows. I made two changes -- used cheddar cheese and cream of asparagus soup because I had them on hand. By the way, the fried onions turned out much more tender than I expected. Made and reviewed for Pick a Chef.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy May 05, 2007

This was great! I used 98% fat free soup, Fage non-fat yogurt instead of sour cream and reduced fat swiss b/c DH's & my metabolism have ground to a halt & we're getting porky :( But it was still a wonderful, creamy casserole - even with all the substitutions! My hat's off to Mr. Moss - it sounds like he was a truly special person and a wonderful cook, to boot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtine May 04, 2007

I have also been making this recipe for about 18 years. My late husband fixed this for me the very first meal he cooked for us..he always said that was why I married him..and my son who loves it always agreed! LOL It is always requested by my family and friends at every gathering! I have used this recipe exactly without changes and have always been pleased but my husband always added a can of sliced water chestnuts and my family request it with the water chestnutsand people who have had it fixed with and without them enjoy and prefer it with, if given a choice...depends on what I have on hand ...in fact tomorrow is Christmas Eve and today I will be mixing it up ahead of time to bake tomorrow. We prefer it baked the same day we are going to eat it, and it is great to make up the day/night before and slip it in the oven while I am getting dressed for work...ummm good. There are never any leftovers! TRY IT...YOU'LL LIKE IT!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cinda37379 December 23, 2006

Thank you for sharing Ross's recipe...it's terrific! At first, I wasn't sure about those pimientos, but I loved them in this casserole. I used reduced-fat sour cream and soup, and it was still creamy and delicious. I'm sure that I used some extra Swiss cheese, since I tend to overmeasure that stuff. ;) I'm sure that I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* December 22, 2006

This was delicious! I took it over to my neighbors house and everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Gina Calina June 06, 2006

This is one of my favorite recipes from my mom. I always make this "as is" and I am never disappointed. It is a great side dish when entertaining--simple, attractive, and tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
death_by_parsnip May 08, 2006

have been making this for years.Big hit with get togethers. a must try

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annette collins April 26, 2006

I love the combination of broccoli, cailflower and carrots baked. I didnt have frozen veggies I used fresh, par boiled the carrots 5 minutes broccoli and cailflower for one minute. I did add 3/4 tsp garlic powder. The swiss cheese gave it a wonderful taste, and the crunchy fried onions were awesome! This is by far the best way to eat your VEGGIES!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee April 25, 2006

My entire family loves this one. It is a nice change of pace from the usual green bean casserole.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mysterygirl April 08, 2002
Swiss Vegetable Medley