Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Cheese / Very Tasty Cheesy Cheddar and Oat Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Very Tasty Cheesy Cheddar and Oat Scones

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2010

      Wonderful flavour and texture! I used my heart shaped cutter cus Valentine's Day is next week and I am baking ahead for a tea party inspired by FT's Tea Time and Light Suppers Event thread. Put some in the freezer and used some to top a casserole we had for supper tonight instead of biscuits. Delicious and very flavourful!! I'd like to try them with regular flour and baking powder, they didn't raise as high as I thought they should and wonder if it might be the use of self raising flour, I say this cus I have never had a lot of luck with self raising flour in other recipes. Thanks for posting, I sure will be making these again, so easy to do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Very tasty scones, indeed!!! Karen, these are fabulous little bites of cheese and oat! They have a lovely scones texture (fluffy on the inside with a crisp interior) and the taste is just plain yummy! The oats go great together with the cheddar! Id luv to try these with some fresh or dried herbs added to the batter... I used whole grain flour to make these, so that my scones were a little denser and darker, but they were still fantastic! THANKS SO VERY MUCH for sharing this gem of a recipe with us! I cant wait to make it again! Made and reviewed for Ed'n8-Make My Recipe August 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      lovely and indeed very tasty :) I swapped out some ingredients to accommodate what was at hand and my diet style...was low on white flour so did a all-purpose /whole wheat mix (and this threw off the converting a bit more I'm sure)- used a soy block of cheese and soy margarine and rice milk so all of this probably messed with the chemistry of the original recipe but I think that it stayed true to the intention of the flavors...Love my results...did not rise as nicely as the photos of the other reviewers (so I just didn't show anyone the other pics and no one knew it {{lol}} :) ) bushed the tops with a mix of honey, S&P, and a bit of mix...and a sprinkle of nutritional yeast to play a parm. flavor... got a perfect "bakers dozen" so I ate one straight away (!!! YUM!!!)and served them for supper with a hearty chili...we loved the results!! _Thanks French Tart :) made for the "I Recommend Tag Game" and I do highly recommend this to others...(froze about 6 for next week- hope to pull them out individually when wanted)- I have not made a savory scone in a while and this is a great one...love the oats!!! _Thanks again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Made for Recipe Swap #22 Aus/NZ. We really enjoyed these and they went well with the beef stew we had for dinner. Thanks for posting this recipe French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Great scones! The children used butter and honey but I liked them with a bit of cream cheese. I'll take your suggestion and use an herbed cream cheese next time.. mmmmmmmm .... Thanks French Tart!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      These were fantastic. They rose well and were nice and flakey. I love cooking with oats. Not only does it provide more fiber they help to provide a beautiful texture to baked products. Made for ZWTIII.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2007

      made these at the weekend, and cut them out with my NEW scone cutters!!!! Straightforward instructions meant easy to make, they turned out just as they should and half of them were eaten almost as they came out of the oven!! I managed to salvage two for lunch! I love oats, definitely gives a satisfying robust texture. I might sprinkle them with paprika or try adding a LITTLE chilli ... coz DH likes it....but not when Im making them for the children as well!! thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      I like these. The dough was easy to work with , the directions clearly written, and the scones were well risen and golden brown from the cheese. I served them with butter along with stew. I think a pinch of salt is needed to help bring out the aged cheddar flavor, as they didn't have enough flavor for our taste. I think the suggestions listed in step 11 and 12 would be good to add more flavorful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Very Tasty Cheesy Cheddar and Oat Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (45 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 146.5
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    38%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 17.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 82.0 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites